Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Helena Intermediate School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
They do so much during school hours and I am just use to the days of old when we had homework almost every single day.

Helena Intermediate School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
I have seen more displayed by my son this school term. I have seen my son show more determination to do his best work.


Helena Intermediate School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
They speak it often and if connects with our values at home that we reflect and speak about.

Helena Intermediate School 5

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
When faced with concerns the staff is quick to address matters and work towards a solution.

Helena Intermediate School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Elliott has been a very instrumental support for ours on who battles a critical illness. Due to the support and understanding that she shows to not only my son, but her students, it has helped our son to care very deeply about attending school even when he can't. Our son's writing was not the best and as of this school term due to the outstanding teaching that is done by Mrs. Elliott, my son caught the wave of wanting to learn. His handwriting is so much better. As a matter of fact, when our son was in the hospital and was getting really depressed, his teacher FaceTimed his class in and that was the most heart tug moment for us during his sickness. He was only able to smile a tiny bit, but it helped to give him a push to want to return to school and get out of the hospital. As parents, we have had more of a peace of mind with Mrs. Elliott due to her teaching style and the care, consideration, and willingness to help our son to succeed. Mrs Eliott is a Star Teacher for 2015-2016 school year in our opinion


Helena Intermediate School 4

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
This has bee a greater experience than in the past long ago. The principal is more down to earth and tries to be very helpful. The new system in place for entering the office and the school zone is helpful in regards to safety. Overall, we have been impressed. What I would like to see more of is when students are struggling for RTI to indeed be followed by the need for possible further intervention services. Reading words per min is still a strong focus as well as comprehension, but comprehension needs more attention due to how it affects matters once they reach the middle school level. Teachers have been receptive to communication and have been very receptive to offer help when needed or asked.

Helena Intermediate School 3

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
Helena Intermediate School is a nice school, although it has been our experience this year that they employ very few friendly faculty members. It is often hard to work with them and they almost always seem to be "put out" when helping parents even with simple tasks such as paperwork. Also, they are in a terrible location due to the unbelieveable traffic problem in Helena, which of course, is not their fault. However the person directing traffic in the mornings at the school is a fault and is almost always hateful. She also should worry more about the kids getting out of their cars safely, than what she wears and how she looks everyday. A bit too revealing on some days for sure. Lastly, the after school care folks are the best part of this school. They take good care of the kids, make sure that they play by the rules and behave; but most importantly make you feel welcomed when you come to pick your child up.

Helena Intermediate School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
Since moving to Helena from another school system, we have been so pleased with every aspect of the school. Everyone we have been in contact with so far has been wonderful. I also love how organized they are. They keep you informed of what is going on and make it easy for parents to be involved. I could not be happier with this school!


Helena Intermediate School 2

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
There are getting to be many students in one classroom. The teachers do not recognize that all students do not learn the same way. This public school system is too worried about appearances and keeping up with the "Joneses" so to speak. Every child has a gift and time should be taken for it to be discovered...this is where public school systems fail. ADD and ADHD is a problem because they take away recess as punishment...sometimes the whole class gets punished for just a few students acting up. Give these kids a full hour of PE...active play and recess and you will see less problems with ADD and ADHD. I think teachers should be retested every year in order to keep their jobs. I see areas where money is wasted in the school that can be put put to use in other areas. Each classroom should have an aide to assist with the students due to the high teacher student ratio. Give more positive reinforcement instead of negative reinforcement. Do not take recess away from kids...they need the break. How could this school improve? Quit trying to impress the wanna be yuppies and treat everyone equally, if you see a child struggling, don't punish the child...take a moment and help.

Helena Intermediate School 5

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
I love this school for my children and the teachers are very nice and they try to do their best every day

Nearby schools

Helena Intermediate School
3500 Hwy 52, Helena, AL  35080
(205) 682-5520
Last modified Helena Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top