Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Helena Middle School

Public | 6-9

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2012

Helena Middle has been a great experience for my daughter. It has a high level of gifted students which creates competition for high level academics. Coach Knight is one of the most involved principals I have known. My only complaint is that they are much more supportive of athletics than the arts, but that is a complaint of most Alabama schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

Neither of my children liked it there. My son was picked on to the point that he was suicidal. When I took him out near the end of the year and home schooled him he was much more relaxed. There are way too many kids in the schools in the US and because of that it's hard to make friends since every year there aren't the same kids in your class (like in Ontario). We are moving out of Helena because I refuse to send my kids back there. The teachers are trying their best. my daughter's science class had 36 kids in it. how can a teacher manage that many kids?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

The most important thing is the teachers there are very dedicated and my daughter is very happy there. The level of education there is excellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Helena Middle School is a great school!! The administration and teachers really care about our kids and truly want them to get the best education possible. We love HMS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

It is a wonderful school, with great teachers anda principal. It has been a place to say that I am proud that my children goes to school there. I am so thankful for this Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

When you have a great leader at a school such as Ms. Goolsby, it can't help but trickle down and create a great environment educationally, emotionally and socially! Best school around! My child has thrived from day one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

I believe that children get a great education at Helena Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

This school is cutting edge with the curriculum and the staff and teachers are the best I have ever interacted with.


Posted April 29, 2010

I love Helena Middle School because they care for the children and the teachers are excellent. The small town feel of our community goes hand in hand with our new Middle School and my son is having a great experience there. I choose to live in Helena because of the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My daughter receives special ed services, and she never comes home complaining about school. She enjoys her class, and her teacher, and Mrs. G. is the absolute perfect example of an educator that is effective and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

HMS is definitely the best... students, teachers, and most of all the administration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

HMS is focused on the kids. Great school to be at!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2010

Helena Middle is an amazing school with a great staff; from the administration on down. I LOVE to volunteer at this school. So thankful that we have a new middle school in our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Helena Middle School is a beautiful school filled with great students who thrive to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Great school, great teachers and staff. Fun place to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Parental involvement shows by the way the students interact with the administration. The children, parents and teachers all have a great relationship with each other and there is tremendous community support for all Helena Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

We are finishing up my son's 3rd year at HES. It has been a great school with an even greater Principal/Leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Helena Middle school is working hard towards excellence in education, activities, morale of student's. My children actually say they want to go to school. That speaks for itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Wonderful School with an outstanding teaching staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

My child has had a wonderful experience in Middle School at HMS. She has been challenged in her academics. She is involved in the band. i would recommend Helena to anyone looking for a great place to live.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

299 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

300 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

275 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

276 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

252 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

252 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education47%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty94%

Reading

All Students96%
Female99%
Male94%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education65%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty91%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female93%
Male89%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Special education69%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty93%

Reading

All Students95%
Female99%
Male92%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Special education75%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students92%
Female95%
Male89%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special educationn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2012.

275 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students87%
Female93%
Male81%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligible73%
Special education56%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty72%
Non-poverty90%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 58%
Black 12% 34%
Hispanic 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1299 Hillsboro Parkway
Helena, AL 35080
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 682-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT