Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Holt High School

Public | 9-12 | 468 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2013

This is going to be my second year in high school and I am glad to be spending it at Holt high. This school year that just passed was amazing. Holt high is the perfect partner for a freshman. Teachers are amazing and the classes are the best, especially the auto tech class that is given at the school, i took it this year and ill try to take it every year. There is nothing I would change about this school, well maybe the building because it is the oldest school of the county, but besides that I love this school and I am proud to be a holt high school sophomore.


Posted September 15, 2009

Other than the new principal who only 'observed' the entire last year and made no action to make Holt a better place, the school is an overall 95%. The students have better attitudes than the city schools, and they actually try on tests and homework. That is something you don't see a lot of today.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 7, 2009

Holt is a great school it as very friendly people. This is so fun there is nothing but love and fun times away from the books.To many peolpe judge this school when they nothing about it at all. Other than the haters holt high is awesome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2005

Holt High School is the best school in my opinion. When I attended school there I had nothing but great times and made nothing short of wonderful memories. The teachers there aren't just hard working and highly skilled, they're friends. I felt as though I could talk to them about anything. And the extracurricular activities allowed you not only to make life time friendships and life choices or/and morals, but also allowed you to experience new and great things and places you have never been. I definitely wouldn't want my kids going to any other school. There's NOT another school out there that can't hold a candle to Holt. I'm proud to be apart of this school's history.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 14, 2005

Holt High School is the best school in my opinion. When I attended school there I had nothing but great times and made nothing short of wonderful memories. The teachers there aren't just hard working and highly skilled, they're friends. I felt as though I could talk to them about anything. And the extracurricular activities allowed you not only to make life time friendships and life choices or/and morals, but also allowed you to experience new and great things and places you have never been. I definitely wouldn't want my kids going to any other school. There's NOT another school out there that can't hold a candle to Holt. I'm proud to be apart of this school's history.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 12, 2005

Holt is a wonderful school. I graduated in the top of my class in 2005. I have learned so much that will help me for years to come. The student-teacher and parent relationships are at their best. Many students that have graduated still come back to ask the teachers for advice. The teachers go beyond their job descriptions to make sure that the students succeed in life. Holt has excellent activities to offer the students. The baseball, basketball, and football teams were the area camps and went to the playoffs. The fine arts programs are known for their high standards. Holt also has a great relationship with their alumni. The alumni are very much so involved in the affairs of the school. As the students mature and go through school they grow close to their fellow class mates and truly make bonds that last a life time.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

77 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
63%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

75 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students87%
Female89%
Male85%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education50%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty84%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students49%
Female53%
Male45%
Black38%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White68%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education8%
General population56%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Poverty48%
Non-poverty56%

Math

All Students76%
Female85%
Male64%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White76%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education27%
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Poverty75%
Non-poverty78%

Reading

All Students66%
Female68%
Male63%
Black60%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White76%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education17%
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Poverty62%
Non-poverty78%

Social Studies

All Students38%
Female26%
Male53%
Black24%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White54%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education8%
General population43%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Poverty30%
Non-poverty67%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students91%
Female89%
Male93%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education82%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty87%

Language

All Students74%
Female73%
Male74%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education36%
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Poverty71%
Non-poverty83%

Math

All Students88%
Female84%
Male91%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education64%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty87%

Reading

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education45%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty91%

Social Studies

All Students70%
Female58%
Male84%
Black63%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education55%
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Poverty65%
Non-poverty87%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 35%
White 44% 58%
Hispanic 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3801 Alabama Ave
Holt, AL 35404
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 342-2768

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Northridge High School
Tuscaloosa, AL



Tuscaloosa Academy
Tuscaloosa, AL




Oak Hill School
Tuscaloosa, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT