Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Homewood, AL
Students enrolled: 540

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shades Cahaba Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a community member
My school is awesome! The students are really welcoming. Kids with special needs are treated really nicely by everyone else. However, if you are just plain mean and unwelcoming, people will stay away from you. Kids at my school tend to be popular if they are rich or live in the neighborhood by the school. People still respect you, even if you aren't popular and that's why I love my school. I'm about to leave for middle school, though. Don't expect to be respected or have any friends if you aren't nice or talk to people nicely. It's all the way you present your with your personality.

Shades Cahaba Elementary School 3

Posted February 14, 2010
- a parent
Good school but surrounded with stuck up and snobby parents. You better be part of the 'in crowd' or you will be looked down upon. Its all about what street you live on and what kind of house you have.


Shades Cahaba Elementary School 5

Posted December 30, 2009
- a parent
Absolutely the best school a child can ever attend. Sadly my daughter is graduating and going to Homewood Middle School. We certainly adore this school. My daughter has been at Shades Cahaba since kindergarten and she has not ever had a problem. The school is fabulous!!

Shades Cahaba Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school. Great teachers and staff. Great installations. We moved out of state and now we can feel the difference.

Shades Cahaba Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2009
- a parent
We moved to the area halfway through the school year and didn't know anyone in the school. My kids loved it! The teachers and administrators are top quality. The diversity and tolerance in the school for differences among the students and parents helps the kids learn and live the Shades Cahaba Way. We are moving again and can only hope to find a school of equal caliber.


Shades Cahaba Elementary School 3

Posted December 01, 2007
- a parent
This is a great school! I was impressed with how fast my kindergarten son learned new things. However, if you are not from Homewood and not part of the 'in crowd' with the techers/administrators it's hard to get involved. I often felt left out of 'the loop'.

Shades Cahaba Elementary School 3

Posted December 01, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shades Cahaba Elementary School 4

Posted September 25, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Shades Cahaba Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shades Cahaba Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2007
- a parent
I am new to the school and school system.However I am very impressed.My child has been in private school for five years. I am glad that I made the change. I only wished it could have been sooner.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shades Cahaba Elementary School
3001 Independence Dr, Homewood, AL  35209
(205) 871-1113
Last modified Shades Cahaba Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shades Cahaba Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top