Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Deer Valley Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

My middle son, now in 2nd gr., was tested in Hoover's system at 4 yrs, for ADD/ADHD.He tested pos+. for ADHD, which was in line w/our MD & psychiatrist's tests.However, he was considered a "functioning/learner ADHD child."Thus meaning, although constantly moved, he was retaining knowledge & ready for K. The system fw'd their findings, recommendations & scores to DVES. This cohesiveness re his needs allowed DVES to determine the best placement. DVES's admin., counselors, teachers & school RN kept us informed WEEKLY!They placed him in small counseling "fun" sessions to learn about controlling behavior, sharing, rules, etc. The admin. is exceptionally educated, attending non-required courses often, to thoroughly educate their staff w/ADD/ADHAD & other behavior issues.Thanks to Principal, Dr. Richardson, Asst..Prin. ,Amy Weems, the guidance staff, & RN, DVES is far superior by going over & beyond on behalf of the child! Their professionalism in handling issues w/parents, watching for patterns evolving within a child, & not letting one slip through the cracks! I couldn't be more pleased with the philosophies & the loving willingness to help our son & others blossom to be their best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

I love this school! I'm so happy I made the decision to send my sons to Deer Valley. The principal is very attentive and is always present around the school. The teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

We are so glad our son has had the opportunity to attend such an excellent school. I only wish I would have gotten to experience all the wonderful things that DVES offers their students. The teachers request volunteers for help each year. There are so many programs for parents to assist. This is our last year and it will be sad to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

We are grandparents whose grandchildren have attended Deer Valley Elementary. We are sad to say this is the last year, since our granddaughter will be leaving at the end of the school year. We cannot imagine anyone feeling Deer Valley is a sterile, "nonwelcoming school." We have found the exact opposite....all staff.....office, administrators and teachers....have welcomed us with smiles, always friendly. We have always felt welcome, in the school and in individual classrooms. We found the teachers enthusiastic educators, the halls filled with students interesting classroom projects, the walls displaying beatuiful art projects and learning going on everywhere. Spending time at Deer Valley has been a joy. Thanks to all who have provided us and our grandchildren with such a positive experience.


Posted August 13, 2012

I think Deer Valley is an excellent school. Students are learning and teachers are teaching. Teachers and administrators always go the extra mile for students. The parent support is outstanding. Once you have this kind of merger you can't help but have a successful school and that's what Deer Valley Elementary School is... successful!.


Posted July 21, 2011

I loved this school and was so sad to leave! I just wanted to do Deer Valley Dribblers 1 more year!


Posted July 18, 2011

We love Deer Valley - We have two children there. Every experience has been positive - the teachers and staff really care about the children and are very friendly. When we see them outside the school - they are friendly and talk openly. Teachers are terrific - they have great out of the box ideas that encourage learning. Mrs Weems is really terrific. Also Dr. Richardson is a jewel and we are blessed to have him. Mr. Mitchell was fantastic and I am excited that he will be at Brocks Gap when the kids get there. I really enjoy the classroom use of technology. We think Deer Valley is a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2010

I love DVES!! Yes, there are lots of students but it still has a small school feel except on program night. Dr. Richardson and Mr. Mitchell are some of the best in my opinion. While they are very different from each other it strikes a good balance for our school. There are times I wish things were a little more structured and a few more rules in general (I am a little "old" school) but, I wouldn't trade it for the love that my daughter feels there and the security that she has being there. We have had 4 fantastic teachers and the level of education she has received has been great! Once again, we LOVE DVES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

I think that the school is too big. I feel that the environment is very sterile and unfriendly. Parents are not welcome in the classroom unless they have an appointment. I feel that the office could be a little more friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Great school! FABULOUS teachers and principals!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

Deer Valley is an excellent school. Dr. Richardson and Mr. Mitchell are really an asset to the school. Teacher's involvement with the student is awesome! we are very proud to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

Deer Valley is a wonderful school. Dr. Richardson and Mr. Mitchell encourage each teacher and really love students. The faculty strives to help every student meet their highest potential. It's a wonderful place to work!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 2, 2007

We moved from So. Florida which suffers from overcrowded classrooms and the teacher student ratio at Deer Valley is so low that my son's grades have completely turned around! Not only is he doing well but he is happy and loves their lunches- no more brown bagging it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

Excellent school, excellent staff and faculty. Dr. Richardson is an outstanding principal. I have 2 children that are students and both love attending school at Deer Valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

Our family feels that DVES is an excellent school. Our children (grades K and 1) are thriving in the environment, both academically and socially. The quality of academic and extracurricular programs is wonderful. Parents are truly involved in the school; just look at the parking lot when family events are held.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

Deer Valley has the most welcoming atmosphere I think any school can have. The principal, Dr. Richardson is extremely approachable and will go out of his way for any parent. The faculty and employees know every child by name and also will try to do anything for them. The parent involvement is high and welcomed by the teachers. The facility is always clean and decorated with the talents of the children for everyone to enjoy. My children thrive in Deer Valley's environment and I wouldn't have it any other way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

Deer Valley School, unlike most schools I have seen in California and Alabama, brings a whiff of fresh air. Bright, cheerful and colorful unlike another local school I reviewed earlier, with big classrooms, labs and even the play areas, stands apart from most schools in this area (and other schools I have seen in CA!). What I love about this school is the amount of parental involvement, and the PTO activities that are surprisingly high for a supposedly blue collar neighborhood. I cannot vouch for the grading standards wrt other kids, but my son *thrived* in this environment. His first grade and second grade teachers were excellent. Not only has he been a reading freak now, he does Math way beyond his current third grade standard. I miss Deer Valley school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2004

Extraordinary facilities, faculty, and education. Atmosphere is warm and inviting.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

173 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

173 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

160 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

160 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male91%
Black76%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population93%
English language learners85%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty68%
Non-poverty94%

Reading

All Students91%
Female93%
Male90%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population93%
English language learners62%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty74%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty93%

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 58%
Black 22% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 1%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4990 Ross Bridge Parkway
Hoover, AL 35226
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 439-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT