Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Trace Crossings Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 681 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2013

This is our first experience with the public school system. So far it has been a good one. We have a first grader and a third grader and were surprised when they sent a nook home with our third grader and are working to incorporate technology in and out of the classroom. The new principal is highly visible and seems to be involved with redirecting the school at large. The overall communication is decent so far, not perfect but ok. The fact that all of the new hires seem to have Masters degrees is encouraging. A parent handbook or something for new families would be really helpful, we've already had to find out a few things the hard way. So far it seems a little less academically challenging than we were used to so we will be monitoring our children's progress closely. That said, our kids feel cared for and have adjusted quickly from private to public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

When we relocated to AL, we chose Hoover because of the schools. What a disappointment!!! We now are paying for private school for second grade! It is a shame that a beautiful community such as Trace Crossings has such a lousy school.. Poor social and educational environment. Big disappointment! This school needs complete restructuring!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

I am the mother of currently a 4th grader at TCES. This is her third year there. I have been very pleased. All of her teachers have taken an active role in ensuring my daughters success. I have been an active parent in school activities and field trips. I also participate in parent/teacher meetings. The teachers are very open to meeting with parents and assisting my daughter in extra math activities, which I have requested. I love TCES. My daughter also Loves TCES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2012

my daugther goes to trace crossin ilove it because she has really learn alot and im looking forward for more adventure for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

I absolutely LOVE Trace Crossing Elementary! My son started the Pre-K program there approximately two months ago. His speech is delayed so he requires special services. His speech therapist and teachers are WONDERFUL, and I can tell they genuinely love what they do! The care and attention they have shown my son has relieved my anxieties considerably! He is met with smiles and enthusiasm every morning! He cried for the first three days of school but now stretches and gets out of the car with no problem! I believe my son feels very confortable and accepted there as his performance has been very positive! He hasn't had a bad day yet! Whether your child/children require special services or not, Trace Crossing Elementary is a great place to condsider educating them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

I have 2 children currently attending Trace Crossings and are having a wonderful experience. My children enjoy learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

This is wonderful school with awesome teachers, principals and staff. The whole child is educated, parental input is valued, and children are taught respect for everyone. I can't say enough good things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

This school is a wonderful environment where you are continually surrounded by learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 15, 2008

Trace Crossings is a wonderful school with a great faculty and terrific parent involement. I would highly recommend the school to anyone interested in living in the Trace Crossings community. -Parent and Teacher in the district
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

Trace Crossings is an incredible school. The academics are outstanding as well as the teachers. There is lots of involvement from the parents and it is a joy to be involved at this school. The atmosphere is very warm and friendly and the standards are very high. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2004

My daughter went to Trace Crossings for just one year and in that year she grew personally and her grades were the best compared to any school that she has been to. Thank you Trace Crossings for providing a wonderful learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2004

This is a very nice and new school. My daugther is in Kindergaten, and everything in the school feel very child friendly. It is very colorful and friendly. I love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female70%
Male77%
Black61%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population75%
English language learners42%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Poverty54%
Non-poverty92%

Reading

All Students79%
Female80%
Male79%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population84%
English language learners47%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Poverty70%
Non-poverty88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female63%
Male46%
Black26%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Free lunch eligible19%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population57%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Poverty23%
Non-poverty76%

Reading

All Students86%
Female90%
Male82%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty71%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 58%
Black 31% 35%
Hispanic 12% 4%
Asian 9% 1%
Two or more races 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Robin Litaker
Fax number
  • (205) 439-2701

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5454 Learning Ln
Hoover, AL 35244
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 439-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT