Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Berry Middle School 4

Posted July 24, 2014
- a community member
I currently go to berry, and I absolutely love it! At the assemblies award after award from all over the country are being announced , plus we are one big family! Yes there are people of all types that go to berry but does that really matter? I think it challenges students and really pushes us to do great things. All the teachers are understanding and caring and I feel like its my home away from home. My family moved to this district just for the schools, that's got to mean something!

Berry Middle School 2

Posted May 15, 2013
- a teacher
Currently I go to Berry and to be honest I cant wait for it to end. I'm a smart student but you would think everyone is because the teachers see who the weakest student academically is and then focus on teaching at a level they will understand. I have never gotten anything less than a 90 because some teachers give so many hints its not a test. the bullying is terrible the teachers really have no control over the kids they send them to in school suspension and the kids come back worse! The teachers also dont help you with your future like I really love writing but my Language Arts teacher has yet to say anything about furthering writing skills the only team that really cares is 6-3 they tell you about competitions and send in stuff. I dislike most of the teachers because they dont help. The only good thing is the electives and Dr.Wheaton the principal. If you like slowpaced schools then this would be an amazing school. But if you want your child to be academically challenged and gain skills they will actually use then pick another school.Here they are mainly worried about sports and clubs that win. if you arent in either of those then you arent important to Berry thats the truth.


Berry Middle School 2

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
This school is far from what people from the outside may think it is. Please don't think just because it's located in Hoover it's the best of the best, no it's not. This school is highly over-rated!! My child attend's this school now and they don't stand by what they believe and preach to parents on the 1st day. I've heard sooo many things that go on there it's crazy. Like the reader before said the school is run by preppies, don't forget hoodrat's also, and the bullying is awful. I feel sorry for some of the stories I hear from my child about other students. It's not all what's it cracked up to be, and we most certainly will not be returning. It's not worth the headache!

Berry Middle School 1

Posted July 15, 2012
- a community member
The academics here are not well. The teachers only pay attention to the class clowns creating rupture and havoc. They don't teach even half of the time, they enjoy playing around with the preps that could care less about education and gave up their life to sports. Yes, this school might seem parent - friendly and nice, but it's a whole different life to the students that try and learn for the better. For the extra curricular activities, basically the only well done part.

Berry Middle School 1

Posted November 05, 2011
- a community member
OK guys, I used to go to Berry. I got to a fine arts school now, though, and I have to say; Berry is awful. Like two of the people on here said, THE SCHOOL IS INFESTED AND RUN BY PREPPIES!!! I despise preppies. When I went there, there was bullying, I think three or four fights (in one semester, I think) and oh my GOD is there SO MUCH CUSSING! I took advanced math last year and I could hardly learn the material because my teacher went too fast and didn't help me AT. ALL. Berry does have a secret life, I assure you. -A former student of Berry


Berry Middle School 5

Posted March 24, 2011
- a community member
I am a student here at Berry, and I have to say that when I read the comment about berry's "secret life" I nearly hit the button to report inaccuracy. I have had a great 6th grade year at Berry, and the teachers truly care about each individual's future. Dr. Wheaton is the best principal ever. Mrs. Kneisley, the 6th grade principal, is very nice as well. The counselors, especially Mrs. Sizemore, are the best around. The PE coaches are fun to be around (except for Coach Maner and Coach Heffner, but that doesn't have anything to do with how good the school is.) Mr. Baggett, Mr. Neugent and Mrs. Johnson, the band and choir directors, are amazing musicians and teachers. Everything about BMS is great, and I love being here.

Berry Middle School 4

Posted August 17, 2010
- a community member
im a new student here from a diffrent district and so far i enjoy the comfort and help here but i guest since it my first year i havent heard any teasing or anything (yet).so ill come to tell u the rest as i get futher in.

Berry Middle School 5

Posted June 05, 2010
- a parent
My daughter just finished 6th grade at Berry. The curriculum challenged her and received assistance from all of her teachers when needed. She finished the year with all A's and 1 B (she missed it by 1 point!!). Special recognition to Mrs. Pollini on the 6-2 team. She is exceptional!


Berry Middle School 5

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
This school is awesome!!! they really care about your childs education!!! find the greatness

Berry Middle School 2

Posted April 05, 2009
- a student
The school seems like a great place to most parents. But there is a whole secret life at Berry that any student can tell you about, but won't dare to for fear of it ending. The students that actually care about academics are harassed and made fun of daily. The teachers refuse to teach even to the most basic materials and mostly yell at the students. The parents don't know what is going on here and are better off not knowing. Their zero tolerance policy would be a great thing if teachers actually started paying attention. The extracurriculars are nothing special, and very few academic clubs exist. The school was overrun by preps, as Augustus says. I still attend here, and I can't wait until I can be free.

Nearby schools

Berry Middle School
4500 Jaguar Dr, Hoover, AL  35242
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (205) 439-2000
Last modified Berry Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9, 12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top