Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Shades Crest Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 676 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

SSC is a great school with awesome staff and loving teachers. The learning environment is praiseworthy. My SON loves the SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

I thinks this is a great school. My son has special needs and they accommodate him with everything. My son had a very small vocabulary when he first attended by the end of the year he knew all of his teachers names and classmates. This is a wonderful school that has helped my son tremendously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

Only the best teachers, great leadership and academic programs! If your child has the chance to go there, take it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

My son is now in his second year at South Shades Crest Elementary. Mrs. Knerr is the best teacher! All of the kindergarten teachers are. He is now in 1st grade and the teachers are just as wonderful. I feel very blessed to have my son at such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2010

South Shades Crest is an awesome educational institution. I have two children enrolled three currently and a third to attend next year. All I can say is wow both my sons enjoy it there the curriculum is acceptable for the area and the attention to detail is at times amazing. After transferring my oldest son from Greenwood Elementary (an utterly depressing place) to South Shades Crest my faith in the education system of the South was restored. They are happy there and I am more then happy to send my minions there to learn and grow every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

Ms. Pitts is a wonderful teacher for 4th grade! She will help your child with anything they need! sometimes she will allow the student to come in early for school and she will help them with any subject they need! The principal and assistant principal are great! When ever there is a fight or someone gets hurt Mr. Singer and Ms. Gurosky run to the rescue! For kids with special needs they have special teachers and the kids will go to the teachers at least 2-3 times a day depending on the special needs they need! this is an awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

SSC I love it! There is true 1 on 1 with time with my son's teacher . Ms Tomberlin is available if I have questions or concerns anything. She is a keeper! It is definitely family centered education & includes my younger children as well in most school events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

SSC is a wonderful school! The teachers truly care about the students. What is amazing to me is the one on one involvement between the pricipal and the students. She knows them by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

A lot of parental support, good school, excellent teachers, but curriculum, particularly math, leans to 'progressive' for the sake of being cutting edge, rather than for effectiveness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

If your child has an opportunity to go to South Shades Crest, grab it! We moved here from out of state and were amazed at the high quality of instruction our child received. The school has a friendly feel from the minute you walk in the door. My child loves going to school there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

Absolutely wonderful school! Had a child there with multiple learning disabilities and the love and empathy for this child was incredible. They actually got my child back to grade level in just one year. We moved to keep our second child in the same school for that child's last year there when the school was split to open another one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Our family is so pleased with South Shades Crest Elementary. We have a first grader and a fourth grader in this school and we couldn't be happier with the teachers, staff, and principal. This school is more than a building with books, it is a caring family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female85%
Male87%
Black68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education64%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty76%
Non-poverty89%

Reading

All Students91%
Female95%
Male87%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education73%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty76%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female84%
Male93%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty74%
Non-poverty95%

Reading

All Students88%
Female84%
Male92%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty73%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 58%
Black 28% 35%
Asian 9% 1%
Hispanic 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3770 So Shades Crest Rd
Hoover, AL 35244
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 439-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT