Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bluff Pk Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2013

My grandson has been attending BPES for 5 years, this being his last year. I live in Bluff Park & have visited the school many times over the years & have always been impressed with everything about the school I have enjoyed having lunch there several times & have been very pleased with the quality of food & the school's healty menu! Also he has been fortunate to have had wonderful teachers! I can't imagine my grandson at any other school! He says he will miss the school but will always go back to visit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

We moved the this area of Hoover just to attend BPES and it is well worth paying the extra Hoover taxes. We love the small town feel of this school and the quality of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

We moved to this area specifically for the family-centered community and the school district. Everytime you visit BPES, you will see parents, grandparents and an abundance of aides at the school, working together to meet each individual child's needs. While we have been pleased with the teachers, it is truly the entire community that make this school a 5-star school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

Couldn't ask for a better school experience for my children. I can leave my children there in the morning, and know that they are safe and loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I love Bluff park because they have a wonderful caring staff and take pride in their school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Bluff Park encourages my daughter's love for learning and meets her needs for challenges beyond the classroom. I award an A+ to Bluff Park's enrichment program and outdoor classroom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Teachers that care about the environment and teaching our kids how to be good stewards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I love my children going to Bluff park. I feel like they are taught and taken care of by my family members. Great teachers, great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

This is our first year in Bluff Park and we could not ask for a better school system for our 1st grader. The school goes above and beyond my expectations. I have a brilliant 6 year old and I was worried that the class would be boring for him since he knows most of the material already. His teacher has done way more than I ever expected to challenge him on HIS level. We truly love this community and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

The teachers really care about the students. They have a great Principal who does an excellent job of managing the school and the activities. Being a parent of two students that attend Bluff Park is a challenge, due to the schools expectations. However, it would be even more difficult if you didn't support the school in which your kids were so involved. I am very glad my kids are attend such a fine organization. I honestly believe the teachers at Bluff Park care about the success of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

We are so blessed to be a part of this school. The staff and teachers are extraordinary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

My husband went to this school when he was a kid and naturally we wanted our children to attend as well. We moved to Bluff Park because of the school system and fantastic neighborhood! We love the small town community with big warm hearts at the school. With a small town feel, the school very is up to speed with the latest technology in our son s 1st grade class. There are so many good things to say about the school and community! We love the kindergarten & 1st grade teachers and can t wait to experience the other grades when we get there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

The teachers seem to care about the kids, plus they have a good bit of interaction with the parents. The neighborhood / area is stable which really helps everyone. Problems are usually addressed very quickly and privately in order to allow the student and teachers to focus on education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

Hands down the best school we could have asked for our two children. The teachers care about the students not just the grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

Bluff park is a wonderful school. The 4th grade teachers are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

I have a first grade student with Autism. The school has went above and beyond what I imagined to work with me, and my son,a nd other persons, in and out of the school, that work with my son. It has been a team effort. A very successful one! I am so pleased. I am so glad we moved here. The entire staff has made an effort to get to know my son and my family. They have worked hard to make sure all my son's needs were met. And they have made this journey of life easier. They have embraced us with open arms, open minds and hearts, and acceptance. I am thrilled my younger son will be attending kindergarten here next year!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2006

I have two children who attended all six years of elemetary school at Bluff Park and I could not have asked for a better experieince. Both are now honors students in high school and are doing very well. This is a great school. By far, Hoover's best elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female90%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty93%

Reading

All Students93%
Female98%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female73%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Poverty71%
Non-poverty89%

Reading

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students94%
Female95%
Male92%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students87%
Female86%
Male88%
Black70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty70%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 58%
Black 16% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

569 Park Ave
Hoover, AL 35226
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 439-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT