Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Hoover, AL
Students enrolled: 590
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

14 reviews of this school


Gwin Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2015
- a parent
I adore Gwin! My daughter is absolutely thriving there. The teachers are top notch and truly experts in their age group. It's small enough that I feel like everyone really knows her even if they aren't her main teacher. This school is awesome!

Gwin Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
My child has been at Gwin for 3 years and we have had nothing but good experiences. The teachers are positive and engaging but have high expectations for the students. The PTO has welcomed us in as new parents to the school, and helped us find out more about how we can become involved in the community.


Gwin Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My son is in 4th grade. I am very pleased with the school and the faculty.

Gwin Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2012
- a community member
My granddaughter moved from another well liked elementary school in the Hoover School System to Gwin. I can truly say that the teachers she has had the last two years at Gwin are excellent and she has been challenged and motivated to think on her own and do well. The leadership instills in the children how much they care about each other and this is very unusual and refreshing.

Gwin Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2011
- a parent
My children, 1st and 3rd grader can't wait to get back to school at Gwin after summer break. They have both gone there since Kindergarten and have always been challenged academically. They are also encouraged by the staff to show good character in their school and community. The teachers at Gwin are very knowledgable about what each student needs. The administration is always open to listening to suggestions and are great leaders in the school. The school just has an all around friendly and fun academic atmosphere.


Gwin Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2011
- a parent
We relocated from Georgia and have been extremely pleased with the transition. My boys really like their teachers and the faculty as well. It is a "neighborhood school" where our boys have been challenged and enjoy learning. We will be there for a while being that we have four boys, 3 years apart and we know we made the right decision with Gwin!!!!

Gwin Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2011
- a parent
Our son has gone to Gwin since 1st grade, after a transfer from a private school . Boy, do we wish he'd gone to Gwin for kindergarten, as well! Gwin has exceeded our expectations. Our son gets extra help and the feeling I get is that he has a real 'support system' at Gwin. Caring, responsive, positive - all things that I love about the Gwin 'community.' The principal and assistant principal are lovely women who really care about the students. The teachers, in a word, wonderful. Gwin is an excellent school with a challenging curriculum. I can't recommend Gwin Elementary School enough!

Gwin Elementary School 2

Posted May 30, 2010
- a parent
The school is just OK. There are a few programs that shine -- like the fantastic enrichment program. But the administration leaves a lot to be desired. While a handful of the teachers we've experienced have been good at communicating with parents, many of our inquiries (which were not unreasonable, either in number or subject matter) were left unanswered. The curriculum has been less than challenging, and we have had to do significant amounts of additional work at home to supplement what is lacking at Gwin. Our work at home is then frequently "undone" at school, where creative problem solving and alternative learning methods are discouraged. We've been most disappointed, and will soon be moving our child to another school.


Gwin Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Teachers are wonderful and always helpful and informative. The principal and vice-principal are always willing to help and always have the best interest of your child in mind. A great school!

Gwin Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 14, 2008
- a parent
Gwin has been a wonderful school for two of my sons. Both of them have learning problems and the teachers have been remarkable. The support staff is more than qualified to help students and the administration has been impressive. I have a third son starting kindergarten this year and we are looking forward to every aspect of school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gwin Elementary School
1580 Patton Chapel Rd, Hoover, AL  35226
(205) 439-2600
Last modified Gwin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gwin Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top