Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-9
Public district
Hoover, AL
Students enrolled: 865
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ira F Simmons Middle School 1

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
Simmons bullying is out of control, with very little action to control. You can guarantee that your child will be bullied several times a week. Principal is great. 50 % ratio on good/bad teachers. Most teachers and staff, I feel, are just there to do "a job" and get a check. The thought process of most teachers and staff is never considerate for the students. I would not recommend this school.

Ira F Simmons Middle School 3

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
I have to agree that some of the teachers at this school are very inconsiderate. My child's 6th grade year was horrible. He a teacher that was really down right mean and another that was just plain rude and always seemed to have an attitude. It was pretty bad, looking back over my older kids school year, there was nothing nearly as bad as how my child felt because of the way a teacher treated him, not other students. Just sad that teachers like that exist. The principle seems to really care for the students and seems to do a very good job. I would just say if your child has issues with the teachers, talk to the principle and not the teacher, I wish I would have!


Ira F Simmons Middle School
no rating

Posted August 12, 2009
- a parent
Simmons is a wonderful school. Principal Brian Cain is very concerned about the students and ensure his staff provide the best possible education for his students

Ira F Simmons Middle School 5

Posted July 02, 2009
- a parent
My children love Simmons as well do I. The talk and contact us very well. Everone there is wonderful.This school is great!

Ira F Simmons Middle School
no rating

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
the greatest. Teachers and others are so helpfull to my daughter with adha


Ira F Simmons Middle School 5

Posted October 08, 2008
- a student
Simmons is a wonderful school! I went there for one year, but recently moved and my new school is not even close to being as great as Simmons! Simmons has great teachers, good discipline (not too harsh, not too lenient), a good curriculum, and great programs.

Ira F Simmons Middle School
no rating

Posted January 23, 2008
- a parent
Simmons is a greater than great school. Both of my children have done great in academics and sports. Teacher-student ratio is low and both of my children's teachers have always been willing to assist where needed in their academic progress.

Ira F Simmons Middle School 5

Posted June 04, 2007
- a parent
Simmons is a great school. The principal cares about the students. She really extends herself to help with any concerns a parent may have. Most of the teachers go out of their way to help the students. A few a so-so and a bit too strict.


Ira F Simmons Middle School 4

Posted October 02, 2006
- a parent
The teachers and other faculty at this school are the strong point. The principal is the finest administrator I've ever worked with as a parent. She has built a strong academic team of teachers and has garnered the respect of most of her students (no small feat for this age group). The Fine Arts program offers wonderful opportunities for students. Their only weakness is engaging their diverse parent population in the mission of the school. They're working on it, but change is coming slowly. Some of us would prefer more challenging material academically for our children, but that, too, is difficult to change quickly. Having said that, it is apparent that the Principal recognizes these weaknesses and is always working to make Simmons stronger as a school.

Ira F Simmons Middle School 5

Posted April 22, 2004
- a parent
Simmons is a great school with caring teachers and staff. Parent involvement is encouraged through extra-curricular activities you can attend with your child. Teachers are very helpful and concerned about your child's as an individual and encourages parental feedback. Overall, I would rate this a very good school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ira F Simmons Middle School
1575 Patton Chapel Rd, Hoover, AL  35226
(205) 439-2100
Last modified Ira F Simmons Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ira F Simmons Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top