Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori School of Huntsville

Private | PK-6 | 110 students

We are best known for Montessori background.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Huntsville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $152,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

We started at the Montessori School of Huntsville during summer camp two years ago. It only took a two week summer camp to realize what a wonderful place this is. My son who was 3 at the time did not want us to pick him up at the end of the day! What a change this was from our previous attempts at daycare, when he would cry during drop off. In his two years at the school we have definitely noticed improvements in all aspects of his development. This school leans heavily on the Montessori Method and it has produced fabulous results for us. We intend on keeping him at this school as long as possible. He truly enjoys being dropped off everyday and spending time with the students, teachers, and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

My son has been at the Montessori School of Huntsville for over six years now. We started there because it was a school, not a day care. It was a safe place, with caring teachers and he learned an incredible amount, even at that young age. Before kindergarten he was reading, working math problems and knew more geography than most adults. We are now in the third grade and couldn't be happier. The learning has never stopped, so many families there are close friends and the teachers are fantastic. Visit a classroom and observe the children as they go about their work and the difference is clear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

Since attending MSH, my son has learned so many life skills. It's very comforting to be able to leave him with such caring teachers, who guide him with work of his choosing. He looks forward to going to school every day because he feels comfortably challenged, and he's formed much stronger friendships than he ever did attending a daycare. I highly recommend MSH!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

We started at MSH two years ago and are well into our third school year. Every year, my son has grown by leaps and bounds. Due to the three year cycle espoused by Montessori, he had the same teachers his first two years and has moved into a new class this year with a range of ages. The transition went beautifully and he loves his new teachers and friends. He likes how the big boys and girls help him complete tasks and learning to do things on his own! The administration and staff of the school love and respect the children and it shows in the quality of the education. As parents, we have found a home here as well with the tight-knit community and they myriad of opportunities available to all family members to get involved and help out at the school. We love Montessori School of Huntsville!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2013

The Montessori School of Huntsville is a great school with dedicated teachers utilizing a method that is scientifically proven to enhance the love of learning in children and I have seen it first hand with my child. The Montessori method becomes a way of life, and the community at MSH has become our extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

We have been absolutely pleased with every aspect of this school. The teachers are wonderful and work with us (the parents) to encourage growth, appropriate development and the best all around experiences for our child. The buildings are always spotless and the grounds are beautiful. I recommend our school to everyone and will be sending our 12 month old there with his big brother this fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

My daughter has had a wonderful experience at The Montessori School of Huntsville. She has attended for three and a half years, from age 4 to age 7. Children are respected by teachers and each child is taught to respect others, as well. There are so many benefits to a Montessori education, and we have been so fortunate to be able to send our daughter to a such a wonderful example of a true Montessori school. I highly recommend this school to anyone considering a private school in the Huntsville area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2007

Our daughter attended Montessori since she was three and a half. At Kindergarten age she was reading at a 2nd grade level. Costly, but worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

My daughter has attended MSH for a year and a half. We have been very pleased with her progress. She loves the school, too. We feel that the teachers are the best around and recommend the school to all of our friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • SAIS/SACS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Garden
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • The Montessori School of Huntsville is an independent, nonprofit, parent-governed school for children ages 18 months through the fifth grade. We use the methods developed over a century ago by Dr. Maria Montessori. This begins with a deep respect for children as individuals and a genuine concern for their social and emotional development. Our rich curriculum integrates cooking, gardening, music, art, and Spanish with math, reading, writing, history, botany, zoology, physical science, and geography. We seek to ensure educational quality through small class sizes, low teacher/child ratios, and close communication with parents. We have two campuses—a cozy, homelike atmosphere with a shaded playground on Blevins Gap Road, and a “green” school on Chaney Thompson Road with a day-lit design, allergen-fighting HEPA filtration, and an access-controlled entry. Our staff and students come from all over the world and speak a wide variety of languages. This cultural, religious, and racial diversity is one of our most prized strengths. * * * “Whoever touches the life of the child touches the most sensitive point of a whole which has roots in the most distant past and climbs toward the infinite future.” - Maria Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15975 Chaney Thompson Road Southeast
Huntsville, AL 35803
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 881-3790

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT