Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Huntsville, AL
Students enrolled: 718
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Columbia High School 4

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
Columbia is a great school that gives students the tools for the future. Attendance is optional as we drive by another high school everyday. With the core subjects as honors, the IB Program as an option and the JROTC program along with sports, good kids can be well prepared for the next step. The negatives are there is minimal parent involvement and the drive to the school.

Columbia High School 5

Posted November 01, 2014
- a teacher
As a teacher at Columbia High School who has been involved in teaching classes through the International Baccalaureate Middle Years Program and Diploma Program, I have been very impressed with the results we have had so far. Students in the DP program have been accepted to schools like Vanderbilt, MIT, Georgia Tech, Berkeley, Georgetown, Alabama, and Auburn and many receive full scholarships to the schools they attend. Last year 100% of our DP students received scholarships to their respective schools. The curriculum of the IB program encourages critical thinking and problem solving rather than rote learning and prepares students for success in college and beyond. Most of our former DP students say that college is easy because of what they learned in IB. I am very excited about what the IB program is doing at Columbia High School.


Columbia High School 1

Posted June 28, 2014
- a parent
It's an okay school that has limited resources and planning abilities. It would be great if the school books returned and the laptops were used as a resource tool in the classroom. Being totally dependent on electronics is a recipe for disaster when technology is unavailable. Please improve with communication and planning of activities / events at the school.

Columbia High School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
Columbia High School's IB Program is consistently turning out quality college graduates. If you want your child to not only get accepted into college, but to be prepared to more than pass courses, then this school is for your family. I know first hand because three of my four children have graduated or will graduate from this program. One achieved her IB Diploma. Quality leadership is demonstrated at the administrative level and a high degree of caring and competence is illustrated every day through teacher/student interaction throughout the school. The environment is state of the art, secure and well maintained. The PTSA is coming on strong and is implementing summer reading programs and a beautification strategy to grow school spirit. Parent involvement is growing as well, which should address communication issues that I feel exist at other schools within this system. Overall, your child can have great academic, athletic and social experiences that will prepare them for their future.

Columbia High School 3

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
This school has no sense of community, inside or outside. It's located in the middle of a research park- which is full of businesses. It's location is also vulnerable as it is surrounded by woods on three sides. I find that the school leadership is more focused on sports than education. It has somehow managed to acheive approval to be an IB school- how I will never know- yet they cannot get their act together and communicate deadlines and requirements to the students who are trying to achieve this. This school is fine if you are African American- if you are not, then be prepared to be subject to reverse discrimination. The only bright spot in this school is the arts department- which struggles with no budget. The sports teams never go without, of course. If you cannot tell by my review, I am not a fan of Columbia Highschool.
1 person found this helpful


Columbia High School 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
Great Staff,Students are disciplined, and Teachers are always doing their best to help.Overall a great school!

Columbia High School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a student
Our school has an IB program which is great, and Columbia offers a lot of different sports and clubs to join. Our Principal Mr.Hicks is really great. Most of the teaches on staff are also great! GO EAGLES!!!
1 person found this helpful

Columbia High School 5

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
I'm not sure why the school rating is so low on this school. Millions of dollars were received in 2013 for scholarships including 3 Gates Millennium Scholarships! It's a beautiful school with great potential, especially being only 8 years old! The administration and especially my daughters guidance counselor are amazing. The enthusiasm she has for my daughter's future brought a tear to my eye as they were going over her schedule for next year. I think this school gets a bum rap and makes me pause to wonder if its because its a majority Black school. I hope I'm wrong, but will be paying close attention in the years to come. I'd be very surprised if this schools rating doesn't sky rocket over the next 4 years. Go Eagles!


Columbia High School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
Columbia is where smart kids go. If you want to go to Harvard or any other ttop notch school go to columbia and take the IB curriculm. It is very very hard lots of homework.. Freshmen year. i was up till 3am doing homework. 12 page research paper first year! 30 page one this year! so be prepared tto work your butt of if you come here! CLASS OF 2011

Columbia High School 5

Posted August 06, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbia High School
300 Explorer Blvd, Huntsville, AL  35806
(256) 428-7576
Last modified Columbia High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Columbia High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top