Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Providence Elementary School

Public | K-5

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2014

We have 2 daughters that go to this school and we have had nothing but problems from this school the past 2 years. Most of the teachers don't seem to care about the children. Last year our oldest daughter got body slammed by a little boy for no reason and the teacher didn't do anything about it, we had to go to the school to finally get something done. That went on all last year with her 4th grade teacher. This year we could tell from the beginning that our youngest daughter's teacher didn't care for her at all. She told us that our daughter would be a better student if she was medicated. She will send out a weekly letter for homework but never send the kids home with any of it. The grades for our oldest never get turned in on time so the progress report is always wrong, she is a straight A student and will come home showing C's. The students have computers and are NOT monitored on them, they call look up pretty much ANYTHING they want. There are so many other things wrong with this school, I think the only positive thing about it is the office staff and a select few teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Kindergarten are moving in a fast past.My son is in kindergarten and the homework is to difficulty counting by tens, and reading some of his homework sentence and draw an illustration is too much.he has 5 pages of homework to do, read a book. Not to mention fund rasier. Remembering his alphabet , colors shapes, address etc. and numbers on top the other assignments its to much for my son premenstrual born at 6 month 1 pound 3 oz he has slow developmentally skills keeping up with the class. His memory is delayed His teacher recommended for him to return to kindergarten. I am a Single working mom of two and see his slow learning disabilities and I get frustrated with helping him with the basic.I think its too many kids in his class about 24 how could the teacher get him the level where be needs to be when there is so much going on with kindergartens and one teacher, and one mom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

Watch out! The city school system forgot to tell you that there is not enough room in the school for the 6-8 grades so they get on a bus and go about 20 miles to Williams elementary in Triana. The bus is usually back to our neighborhood around 4:45 to 5:00 pm. I was hoping they would rezone the area. The zoning for this school is ridiculous, as we pass 3 schools to get to this one. We are moving this summer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

My daughter's kindergarten year was awesome. Her teacher is one of the best and she spoiled us!!! 1st grade was very difficult due to so much sickness and a bully issue that was never resolved despite several attempts and communications on my part. My daughter is very sensitive and is very much a people pleaser, so if she ever "pulled a card" she got upset. Her teacher called me more than once to calm my child down. I honestly think a teacher should be able to handle that situation. So far this year, like her kindergarten year, the teacher is awesome and so far so good!!! I'm not sure i agree with so much use of technology. I still believe in actual WORK rather than computers, iPads and the like. But I guess nothin can be done about it; it's just progress. Overall we're happy with the school, although it definitely could use some changes in staff and policies. The office volunteers are very rude and unprofessional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

My child has really enjoyed his time at this school so far. The parents and faculty are really nice and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

I almost sent our daughters to a private school. I am glad I did not! The administration and teachers at providence are the most professional and organized organization. If they are organized and professional, I knew the children had to be. The entire campus is new, clean, and technology is all as it should be, being in a high advanced technology city such as Huntsville Alabama.Beyond my expectations...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Providence Elementary....Great School, Challenging, Brand New!!! I would highly recommend any parent take their child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

What a beautiful large brand new school! Three administrators were there to welcome us. One barely glanced up, but I guess she was super busy? Anyway, one bad apple never turned me sour toward a while organization. The other two ladies were very gracious with their time, eased my apprehension with the distance from my house and the quality of care they intend on taking with my youngest sons education. I'm giving this school a thumbs way up on presentation, courtesy towards parents and cleanliness. I believe parents of the students that have no issues are too busy or are trying to keep this place a secret. Transfer your kids sight unseen if you want, but I plan to take my son all the way - great start!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

Just moved to the area and registered my 2nd grader. Based on the registration process, I'm now very concerned. 1) completed the required forms on the website only to find out three were not needed even though they explicitly said "required for all new students" in the header 2) asked to fill out 3 additional forms when I got to the school that were not on the website 3) I was asked to fill these forms out on wooden bench in the entryway 4) I was also asked to sign a form stating that my son understood the rules/penalities for the use of electronic devices, but the administrator could not provide anything explicitly stating what the rules were. The bottom line is that although the administrator was polite throughout, I felt very unwelcome and felt the process was very inefficient. I will provide an update on my perception of teacher quality and parent involvement later.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

When we initially moved to Huntsville 4 years ago, we had heard negative things above Providence; however, we found almost none of that to be true. Since Principal Bonner came in from North Carolina, there has been an unbelievable change in the pride and attitude of the parents, teachers, and students. There has been more affluence in this school over the past 2 years as nicer subdivisions have popped up north of Hwy 72, and I honestly think that has helped some too. Test scores have risen under his leadership as well. We're really happy and pleased with the changes and we have a few years left with our youngest at Providence. Hope this is helpful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

The administration had a bumpy start while the new principal settled in and made a few changes for the better. He is extremely professional and honestly cares that the children meet their educational needs. For the most part, the teaching staff is caring and concerned about the children in their classroom and test scores (for the most part) are demonstrating their success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

Still going strong. In spite of a slow start and some growing pains due to a major technology shift in Huntsville City Schools, Providence Elementary School and Middle School teachers deliver. Providence has an outstanding staff and our completely new administration is making changes for the better, particularly in their response to parent concerns and fostering a positive environment for student achievement. Academically our students are thriving. While we still need to grow our school community, I believe Providence is on its way to be a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

I have a son that has attended Providence Elementary for the past 3 years. Both my wife and I have been extremely satisfied with the quality of the teachers, staff, and facilities. I personally grew up in an outstanding education system, and will rate the quality of education my son is receiving to be at or above what I personally received. Every teacher I have had the pleasure of meeting has genuinely cared for his/her students. If I had to offer any criticisms, it would be that the school needs more parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

I am the parent of a incoming second grader at Providence. My son has attended Providence since Kindergarten. Kindergarten was such a wonderful experience for him and us! I thought it couldn't be topped, but First Grade proved me wrong! First Grade was just as great! Our teachers at Providence are dedicated, friendly, and love their students. The support staff is just as caring and dedicated! We are all super excited to start a new year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

I have 2 children at Providence Elementary, attending for the past 3 years. As a working dad, I am involved in their education without hovering. I do review my children's homework and tests to evaluate the effectiveness of the curriculum, and I have engaged each of my children's teachers from K-3rd. This is a 4-star school for several reasons. First, the school's facilities are excellent: new, spacious and well-kept, with an excellent library, art / music program, and a good PE facilities / program. It is a healthy, orderly environment that supports learning. Second, the teachers we've had are outstanding: caring, dedicated, and committed to their students. Third, while past school administration was lackluster, the new Principal (cherry-picked from North Carolina) and Vice Principal are driving a NEW ENERGY at this school. With smart boards in most classrooms and iPads or laptops for EVERY student, I am pleased with the school's progress. A controversial districting decision zoned-in many low-income students and chased away some affluent families. Budget issues continue. My children have thrived, however. Don't believe the negative rumors. Go see - you might be surprised.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female86%
Male70%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%
Poverty74%
Not poverty80%

Reading

All Students87%
Female89%
Male86%
Black87%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Poverty82%
Not poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female75%
Male69%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education47%
General population75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%
Poverty67%
Not poverty82%

Reading

All Students86%
Female93%
Male81%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education60%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty84%
Not poverty91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female85%
Male87%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education54%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty84%
Not poverty89%

Reading

All Students88%
Female90%
Male85%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education38%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Poverty85%
Not poverty91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students68%
Female65%
Male71%
Black56%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education46%
General population71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%
Poverty60%
Not poverty80%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 Chalkstone St
Huntsville, AL 35806
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 428-7137

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT