Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Providence Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2016
- a community member
No gusta muchismo el nivel academico de esta escuela. Las profesoras , la verdad estamos contentos Por esto.

Providence Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
My granddaughter attends Providence and she is being challenged in her education. She is given adequate work to improve her learning and skills. The teachers ar GREAT!


Providence Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
My daughter’s kindergarten teacher was very effective in making sure my daughter progressed throughout the year. She updated me on a daily basis on how my daughter was performing and behaving in class. The at home activities that were given to me and my child at least once a week were a plus, because not only did they give us the opportunity to spend time and interact together but they also made my daughter open to learning more. My daughter started off the year only knowing a few letter sounds, and by the end of the year she was able to read and entire book (an easy-reader book).

Providence Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
My daughter was in kindergarten and she didn't have homework per say but she did bring home activities to do with a parent such as create a poster, or practice reading the weekly book. I think it was appropriate work for the age level. Towards the end of the year, she did bring home practice math worksheets which I think were good because they were preparing her for first grade work.

Providence Elementary School 5

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
The school is very good at providing updates or notifications on what events are taking place at the school. My daughter's teacher was also great at communicating with me about everything, whether it was my daughter's progress, behavior, or to even making sure her health was maintained while she was at school. (My daughter has allergies) The nurse was also very effective in making sure my daughter was taken care of properly.


Providence Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
The staff is too busy trying to cut them down and abuse their authority. Simply unbelievable the things I've seen with this school this year.

Providence Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
Child never received homework. I question whether or not she's actually regressed since attending Providence.

Providence Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
My child was at Providence for 6 months. Only came home twice with homework. When I asked the teacher about it, I was told "oh they work so hard here, I figure I'll let them rest at home." --blank stare---


Providence Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
Again, the teachers don't model it. How can they teach it? Staff has serious lack of concern for children.

Providence Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
It's hard to teach what you yourself don't practice. Very crooked staff! A lot of issues overlooked or swept under rug.

Nearby schools

Providence Elementary School
10 Chalkstone St, Huntsville, AL  35806
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (256) 428-7125
Last modified Providence Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top