Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Huntsville, AL
Students enrolled: 597

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Sr Butler High School 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a student
Butler High School is an amazing school. I am currently a senior and SGA President. The golden eggs in our school are kept a secret. I know this because I am one of them. Come by some time and check out The Butler Theatre Project. That's where you can find all of the golden eggs in one basket. Go Rebels!!

Sr Butler High School 3

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Butler is a good school. This school has been put down by others, because of the area of town. Money don't make students want to learn, but a school with some caring teachers, makes a different. And Butler has always had that heart. It is low income familys, that try hard to make sure their kids get that education. Don't have to worry to much about drugs in the school. With a little paint and cleaning on the school, it would look good. Seems also that Butler does't get the nicer things as other schools. This year I see that they got some, much needed new football uniforms.The news reports any little fight that happens at Butler, but you don't hear of the good. The teachers have really worked well with my son in the past and he made A/B honor roll last year, when he was a freshman. In middle school, he was making some C's and D's. At Butler, if he asked for help, the teachers always helped, even giving out their personal phone numbers, for students to call them if they needed help. I really liked that one on one help that the teacher give the students. Great school. Go REBELS

Sr Butler High School 5

Posted July 10, 2013
- a student
The school is great .. It's the society that puts this school down because its an "all black" school. Sure we have some bad kids and teachers but what school doesn't? It's just that everything Butler does it gets put on the news and society puts it down, they never show the positive school. Whats a school without support?

Sr Butler High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
I loved BHS. I miss it dearly. We had sooo much fun in high school & wish I could go back! The drama dept. was the best!

Sr Butler High School 4

Posted December 28, 2008
- a community member
I was actually impressed with Butler. My first time there was when I served as a substitute teacher. I had heard all types of terrible things about Butler, but you can't judge until you have your own personal experience. Every school has it's rotten eggs, and every school has its golden eggs. Butler's golden eggs are a well kept secret from society, and their advanced diploma curriculum is just a good as any other school, public or private... if not better. The small classrooms allow students to have a better relationship with their teachers, and helps is in easy access.

Sr Butler High School 5

Posted February 08, 2008
- a student
The school has great teachers and many great opportunities. The students here are all different yet very accepting so you don't really see many cliques. Everyone generally gets along very well. Overall I think that Butler is a great school to attend.

Sr Butler High School 4

Posted August 23, 2005
- a parent
I feel that Butler is a good school with a faculty that really cares about their students. I think that their should be more parent involvement within the school in regards to their childs academic goals and achievement. My child is now able to attend columbia high school but I am happy with the caring atmosphere of the faculty at S.R. Butler High School

Sr Butler High School 4

Posted May 24, 2005
- a teacher
Butler is an excellent school. At Butler, you are not judged by the color of your skin, but by the content of your character. You can be anything you want to be. The teachers and administrators are always willing to help students accomplish their goals.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sr Butler High School
3401 Holmes Ave, Huntsville, AL  35816
(256) 428-7950
Last modified Sr Butler High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sr Butler High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top