Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-9
Public
Huntsville, AL
Students enrolled: 495

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Academy For Academics & Arts 1

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
I've applied to this school for three years consecutively, because it had been recommended by a former student, and have not yet been able to arrange an interview for my child. After emailing the Principle directly to inquire about the backlog of applicants, I never heard back from anyone... I can't speak to the quality of the program, only the difficulty in enrolling.

Academy For Academics & Arts 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
I'm not sure why this school has anything less than 5 stars. If anything, it should have 10 STARS!!! This public school is the best education money "can't" buy. The principal is fantastic, so hands-on with all of the parents, faculty, staff and students. The faculty is top-notch and the students are truly loved by everyone in this family. Yes, I said FAMILY because that is the feel you get the moment you step foot on this campus. The bad reviews are old, outdated and in no way reflect the current culture of this institution. This school is ALL inclusive and serves a diverse population across all zip codes in Huntsville. It is a beautiful melting pot. And if you've never caught a performance by the children at this school, well, you've missed the biggest treat. You've got to see the "Broadway-like" shows these children put on. AMAZING! If you have any doubt about this school, you need to come and see for yourself. You'll come in a visitor and leave like family.


Academy For Academics & Arts 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
I should point out that most of the negative reviews of the school are out of date and don't reflect the situation with the current principal. The current principal is fantastic, I'm constantly blown away by her knowlege and caring. The academics are outanding, the teachers are caring and fun, and the arts experience really gives the kids amazing confidence. When I visited the school for the first time, I was amazed to see how many of the kids would approach to find out if I needed help finding something, and looked me in the eye. My son started 6th grade there last year and has loved every minute.

Academy For Academics & Arts 5

Posted April 05, 2013
- a community member
AAA = Best Principal, Best Teachers, Best Students; hands down best school experince one could have!

Academy For Academics & Arts 1

Posted June 11, 2012
- a parent
This school is a big who's who popularity contest. It's already figured out whose kids are going to be the stars. No talent needed, just an old or big name and sucking up to the right people. Politics, politics. The principal is queen of this clique.


Academy For Academics & Arts 5

Posted December 19, 2011
- a parent
I don't know why this school is getting a 7 out of 10 rating. This is way too low. I have experience at a lot of different schools because of being military and having 6 children and this is by far the best elementary school I have had any experience with. It's a public school with a private school feel. The Principle and staff are wonderful, the academics are great, the arts program is fabulous, I mean you would not believe how amazing the performances are! Three of my children have attended here and loved it. I couldn't speak better of any school.

Academy For Academics & Arts 5

Posted November 07, 2011
- a parent
My daughter and I both LOVE AAA!!!!!! She did well at her previous school but has really grown since she started at AAA last year!!!! Children here have so many opportunites beyond what is offered in other public schools. The faculty and parent involovement is above and beyond anything I have ever seen!

Academy For Academics & Arts 5

Posted October 07, 2011
- a parent
This school has the best, most caring environment for students. The teachers and staff care about the students and actually take the time to get to know them so that they can ensure success. The school has a new principal this year who is very dynamic, intelligent, creative, and focused on what is best for the students. The parents are very active and supportive of the school. The magnet programs in the arts cannot be beat. The school celebrates diversity and the kids feel accepted and loved while they are at school.


Academy For Academics & Arts 2

Posted January 20, 2011
- a parent
Like another reviewer wrote, this school is about who's who within it's ranks. You have a principal who really just smiles and nods and doesn't make a move unless the select few feel that his actions are acceptable. This school has much potential, but when people are allowed to run it to their liking with nobody controlling their actions, a gluttonous, self-serving, arrogance overwhelms the enviroment and they forget to treat everyone fairly and politely and only serve the uppercrust that fits their needs. Again, they have excellent programs and plans, but without fair, logical leadership, only a few prosper and thrive.

Academy For Academics & Arts 2

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
This school is all about "old politics". Your child's position and roles are not based on their talents or abilities, it is dependant upon what your last name is, who you are and who you smooze with. You can lack talent and have the starring role of a huge production all based on who you know around there. Yes, there is alot of talent there and they offer wonderful programs, but it's old politics.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academy For Academics & Arts
2800 Poplar St NW, Huntsville, AL  35816
(256) 428-7600
Last modified Academy For Academics & Arts is a Public school that serves grades PK-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Academy For Academics & Arts Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top