Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Roger B Chaffee Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
My sons have autism spectrum disorder, and there are students at Chaffee who can tell that they are different, but they treat them with kindness and respect anyway. It is such a safe, sweet environment for my special needs boys.

Roger B Chaffee Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
Chaffee is a comfortable, friendly, warm, inviting environment for my entire family. My husband and I have 4 sons. Our oldest attended Chaffee from 1st to 5th grade. Our middle boys attend currently, and our youngest is still in private PreK, but the office staff, and many of the Chaffee teachers know him by name, anyway because they know our family. It is a tight knit community. Many of the staff have been at Chaffee for years and years. As new teachers / administrators come on board they quickly adopt the wonderful. positive atmosphere and it trickles all the way from the top down. I love our little school and feel so blessed to have ended up within its boundaries!


Roger B Chaffee Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
Kay Crook, Special Education teacher is a total anchor at Chaffee! She is a complete ROCK STAR! We love her dearly!

Roger B Chaffee Elementary School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
I went to Chaffee as a kid, and now my child goes there. This is the second school in HSV that my daughter has attended, and we are so much happier here! She is only in K, but she had already decided that she didn't like school and was determined that she couldn't learn to read (to the point of crying after only 2 words). After only 2 days at Chaffee, she was excited to go to school again and started breezing through her reading and feeling proud of herself again. She's happy to be at school and doing much better on her learning - is there anything more that can be asked of a school?

Roger B Chaffee Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
so far a great school i am very happy and proud off chaffe. we arrived from out of state and they were very open and good to us.


Roger B Chaffee Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
You hear a lot of negative stories about schools these days, but Chaffee is really lucky to have Principal Scott. My son and another boy had to get something from another building during class. On the way back they stopped and were looking at their fellow students' art, talking about how good the drawings were. They froze when Principal Scott said "Boys come over here" thinking they were in trouble. Instead of being in trouble for talking in the hallways between class, they were rewarded for praising their fellow students. We need more school leaders like him. Also, every teacher we have come in contact with at Chaffee has been top notch. Chaffee has made a huge difference with my son.

Roger B Chaffee Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2013
- a teacher
Chaffee is a great school that gives parents, students, teachers, administrators and all community stakeholders the opportunity to work together to make sure that every child is college and career ready. Everyone takes pride and is willing to go that extra mile and do whatever it takes to make sure that all students are engaged and learning. What a great place to be!

Roger B Chaffee Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2013
- a parent
Chaffee is an excellent elementary school that is surrounded by a vary caring community. The teachers are excellent and parents are very involved. Our new principal is taking our school in a great direction. Class sizes are just right for teachers to help students one on one.


Roger B Chaffee Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
I am so appreciative that my children have the opportunity to attend Chaffee Elementary! We have a new principal Mr. Scott that is outstanding! We have been blessed to have the most top notch teachers within the school system. I have never seen such loving and caring teachers that truly want each and everyone of their students to succeed. My daughter just graduated from Chaffee last year and my younger daughter is in the third grade so I have really had the opportunity to get to know the teachers and the staff there. We love Chaffee due to the leadership and the wonderful teachers. Would not want my children to go to any other school! Thank you to all the teachers that have been there for my children. We so appreciate you all!

Roger B Chaffee Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
Our son/ grandson is in kindergarden at Chaffee and we are so pleased his teacher is so wonderful. She has 29yrs teaching experience and is the most loving and caring teacher. If you have a child going into Kindergarden in this school district please go to Chaffee and go meet the teacher & principal he is a God send too.We were seriously considering Whitesburg Christian Academy and or so glad we choose Chaffee Elementary -sometimes our public schools can be better.

Nearby schools

Roger B Chaffee Elementary School
7900 Whittier Rd, Huntsville, AL  35802
(256) 428-7040
Last modified Roger B Chaffee Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top