Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jones Valley Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2012

Our family loves Jones Valley Elementary. Our son is in his second year and we have been blessed to have two teachers that are outstanding. He is now in first grade and is reading at about a 4th grade level consistently. This is a great tribute to the academic focus of the teachers. Our principal and staff are great as well. Wonderful neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

I am both parent & teacher new to this school. I feel that I can be objective. First, the principal deserves 5 out of 5 stars! She shows terrific leadership skills and is kind-fair to all. She is a breath of fresh air compared to many of the other principals who rule like Hitler. When morale in a school is elevated, it shows in EVERYTHING - state test results, happy-healthy teachers/students/parents, and overall performance from teachers/kids. My child is being challenged, but he's having fun in the process. Plus, they offer TONS of extracurricular activities. There's no perfect school, but this one comes close! My son and I are blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

Please note that the later comments that are critical of the principal are directed at the current principal and not Dr. Brusick, who retired 3 years ago. I agree that the leadership has suffered greatly since her departure. The new principal is overly officious and does not command respect or offer leadership. If asked several years ago, I would have given the school a higher rating. Not now however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

As a parent of a 5th and 3rd grader, I am pleased with the education my children are receiving. The atmosphere of JVE is one of a private school where the children respect the teachers and in turn the teachers are able to teach. The parental involvement is high which further makes this an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I am a first year parent at this school. The principal does not provide strong educational leadership nor does she present herself as an authoritative figure demanding and expecting respect. This should be role modeled for the children and the standard. Consequently, disrespectful behavior is tolerated, bullying is not addressed, and discipline is lacking. Office staff are also rude. While test scores may be high, the overall learning environment could be greatly improved. Stronger leadership is necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

This year has been my first experience with Jones Valley Elementary and I must say I am not impressed. Home/School communication is poor! Room mothers seem to be the 'middle men' who have the majority of the information and decide what gets to the other parents. Very little information comes from my child's classroom teacher. Kindergarten students seem to do a lot of busy work (worksheets). Concerns have not been addressed in a reasonable amount of time from the classroom teacher or principal. Behavior expectations and discipline certainly aren't a priority. Certain teachers end up with 'stacked' classes while others get all the behavior problems. I had heard so many wonderful things about Jones Valley. I have been very disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

This is a fantastic school. The faculty and curriculum are above average. My daughter attended this school K-5 and tested well above average for the local middle school curriculum. Her math skills in the 'normal' math classes are above those in the gifted programs of others school based on conversations with other school parents, children and faculty. I highly recommend this school. The principal, Dr. Brusick, is attentive, respectful and very involved with the day to day events at the school. We could have gone to another elementary school, which is closer to our home, but based on Dr.B and this school, we chose to attend Jones Valley Elementary and we have been thrilled with our decision. The facilities are also impressive with their wonderful updated computer labs! Keep up the great work JVE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

My daughter attends Jones Valley Elementary and is about to enter 2nd grade. We could not be happier with our choice of schools. Our principal, Dr. Brusick, is so wonderful to the children. When my daughter was having trouble in reading she took time out to help her and other first graders one on one to make sure they were getting the help they needed. How many principals do you know who do that? The teachers are very sensitive to the needs of the individual students as well and understand that every child learns differently. The PTA and parent involvement in the day to day funtioning of the school are amazing! There are always activities, both academic and social, that are beneficial to everyone! If we ever move we will not leave the Jones Valley School district. I don't see how any other school could ever measure up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2004

Our son was in the 1st grade and we were very impressed with the course work. They consistantly challenged the students with content above the normal grade level, but allowed each student to progress at their own pace. Our teacher (Mrs. Roberts) gave each student individual attention and really tried to get the kids to exceed the normal expectations of 1st graders. The Principal (Dr. Brusick), was always very attentive to our needs and obviously took great interest in all the kids. We especially liked the consistent attitude towards good manners and proper respect...hard to find these days. Overall, I would be hard pressed to find a better school...in our opinion this school even exceeds any of the local private institutions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

The principal at this school called kids 'dumb' and 'stupid' if they don't do something right after a couple of tries. The teachers are allowed to 'give' grades on the report cards. I have two children at this school and both test below grade level in reading. We spend our summers in tutoring and the tutors always say it is what they are not being taught that is hurting them along with their self confidence. In 1st grade they were not allowed to ask questions if they did not understand something-the teacher admitted this to the principal and her response was that the teacher was just an 'air head'. We don't need that in 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty82%
Not poverty97%

Reading

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty100%
Not poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty91%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Poverty91%
Not poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White4%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty92%
Not poverty2%

Reading

All Students96%
Female100%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty75%
Not poverty4%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty67%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 58%
Black 12% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4908 Garth Rd
Huntsville, AL 35802
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 428-7220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Spirit School
Huntsville, AL




Randolph School
Huntsville, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT