Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lee High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
Maddie only had one teacher that couldn't get a handle on her classroom. But that teacher stuck it out and eventually most of the kids quieted down and let her teach. The rest of her teachers had some kind of gimic or maybe a loud voice to help them control their students so that they could teach.

Lee High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
Because she's in a magnet means that she has tons of extracurricular activities, but it doesn't mean that she doesn't have to do homework. Most of the time homework is writing and she loves to write. Or its math, and they do it all on the computer so it isn't too bad. Khan Academy is a lifesaver.


Lee High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
Yes! The musical that they put on in April had the kids running performances late into the night and then getting up and going to class the next morning. As a treat, however, the last day of the last weekday performance, the cast was allowed to sleep in. (But after all their work in the preceding 3 weeks... It was deserved.)

Lee High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
It's exemplified through the teachers and principals. Whether the kids pick it up... Well that's another story. One girl my kid goes to school with got in trouble with her dad and the school let him come up and sit in class with them. I find that level of respect amazing.

Lee High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
Once she had a bad day and went to a counselor and cried on the lady's shoulder. The counselor gave her chocolate, patted her back, and promised to pray for her. The next day, my kid had a dentist appointment and it was noticed she was absent. I got a call on my cell phone checking up on her to make sure she was okay. To me, that spoke volumes!


Lee High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
Her teachers always strive to be fair and lead by example. She trusts her teachers and advisors. They invested in her.

Lee High School 5

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
Last year my daughter went to Lee for the vocal magnet. Her teachers were fantastic. She had a connection with each of them, they all sought to help her learn. Sometimes it was tough-love, sometimes it was just plain old help. The magnet was supposed to be bigger last year than it actually was (incidentally, it is promising to be big again this year - so I guess we'll see), even so my daughter participated in All City choir, All State Choir, Trumbauer (she went to state), the yearly Lee Lyric Musical, Solo & Ensemble Assessment, and 3 school choir performances. In addition to that she auditioned for and got into the musical theater class. As a parent of a kid with talent, I couldn't be happier. The magnet program has provided her with the opportunities she needed, plus real, legitimate training for her voice and acting (a big shout out to Ms. Viv Atkins, she is going to miss you so much this coming year!).

Lee High School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
This school has great leadership and most teachers are wonderful. There needs more parent involvement


Lee High School 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
Best school ever , Best Teachers and I really feel safe at this school and all of the teachers are willing to take their time out their busy schedule to help the students to make up their grade or even boost your grade

Lee High School 5

Posted November 23, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school to improve students critical thinking skills and encourage creative thinking and problem solving in our increasingly diverse world. This creativity and diversity makes our graduates invaluable to future employers. The magnet programs in the creative and performing arts and engineering are award-winning and help create future leaders in Huntsville and beyond!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lee High School
606 Forest Circlene, Huntsville, AL  35811
(256) 428-8150
Last modified Lee High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lee High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top