Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Huntsville, AL
Students enrolled: 181

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Monte Sano Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
Monte Sano is a small public school that feels like a family. We have high quality, dedicated faculty and staff; committed and involved parents; and high achieving, respectful kids. We continually rank among the top three schools in the city. The kids all know each other and look out for each other. The teachers are dedicated to the students and set high expectations.

Monte Sano Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2011
- a parent
Monte Sano Elementary is a fantastic elementary school. A caring staff, an attentive principal and wonderful teachers all come together to create one of the most wonderful learning environments I have seen in a primary education facility. The sense of community here is like no other. The teachers know not just their own kids by name, but all of their family members as well. I have personally seen parents running the book fair dip into their own pockets time after time to fund a book for a child that might not otherwise be able to afford one. No child walks away without a book. Not one. And you can't miss the fall festival auction! The kids all create artwork that is auctioned off to raise money for the PTA. The school condition is wonderful. With a recently revamped playground complete with zip-lines, fun is maximized during recess. The grounds are beautiful; the campus is situated atop Monte Sano Mountain with a view like none other in the city. The entrance faces the often breathtaking sunsets. And in the winter, after evening school events, the city lights twinkle in the valley down below. Monte Sano Elementary is hands down one of the best schools in the state.


Monte Sano Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Monte Sano Elementary School 4

Posted April 23, 2009
- a parent
Mr. Scott is an excellent administrator, and he has a strong staff. Overall, the school is a gem. My only criticism is that the academic rigor is above average for Huntsville, but could improve.

Monte Sano Elementary School 3

Posted July 05, 2007
- a parent
the academic programs are great !the principal Mr.scott is truly a god send without him I personally would not feel safe sending my child to school everyday I truly feel he will handle any situation with my childs best interest at heart just as he would his own child. I give monte sano two thumbs up for there excellent leader.


Monte Sano Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 28, 2007
- a parent
i love this school. my son has really learned alot. the p.e. teacher mrs. stone is the best. he is now going in second grade an i have no worries. i know all the teachers at this school are great.

Monte Sano Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2007
- a parent
Monte Sano is a true Blessing! My son will graduate next year and my daughter will be in first grade. The administration, teachers, and parents strive for the best for the children. It is like an extended family. Ms. Stone, the PE teacher is excellent. She has brought activities into the gym class that most children never get the chance to learn. All while making it fun for the kids. The Principal is awesome! His first priority is the safety and education of our children! Wonderful School!

Monte Sano Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2007
- a parent
We love this school. The teachers are great, as is the principal. It is a small school with just over 200 students total, which is hard to find in a public school. Everyone knows you and your children know everyone which is comforting. Mrs. Stone the PE teacher is wonderful and the students love her. She really gets the kids interested in physical fitness. The kids leave Monte Sano, knowing how to jump rope and juggle and loving running. Parent involvement is superb!


Monte Sano Elementary School 4

Posted August 27, 2005
- a parent
The small school atmosphere today is rare but Monte Sano still provides it. With the new principal the new year should be exciting. This is my daughter's second year and she loves it. The teachers are committed and most of them have been in the school for over 5 years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monte Sano Elementary School
1107 Monte Sano Blvd, Huntsville, AL  35801
(256) 428-7300
Last modified Monte Sano Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Monte Sano Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top