Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mt Gap Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2013

I went to Mt. Gap Elementary in grades 1-5. It was an outstanding five years for me. Great teachers, great kids, great principal, everything was wonderful. Academics are great and we also have many fun activities throughout the year such as Science Fun Day, Field Day, Space Week, etc. I often wish I was still a student there. Wonderful place and would strongly recommend it to any family moving to Huntsville with young children !


Posted February 17, 2012

We LOVE MGE! Parental involvement is wonderful, teaching staff is excellent. We bought our home in MG zone when our son was 4 because of this school! So happy that it isn't closing, but so so sad to see the retiring of so many veteran teachers this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

I went to Mt. Gap Elementary and Mt. Gap Middle School. My mother had a kid in elementary school, a kid in middle school, and a kid in high school. The convenience of having these schools within miles of each other really benefit a working mother! The teachers really care about their student's well being and it shows in the SAT scores. Aside from the school being one of the best, the surrounding neighborhoods are safe with affordable homes. Mt. Gap is located on a road that is never busy and it has a slow speed limit. Everything about Mt. Gap is great and I fully recommend it!


Posted April 29, 2009

This school has given us everything we could have ever asked for. A kind and friendly staff who are always there to help you if you ever have a problem. Great teachers and one of the nicest principals you will find anywhere. We were considering private school when our kids were younger, but we are now in 5th and 3rd grade and I don't think I could have given my children a better education anywhere. And....with the highest test scores in Huntsville City Schools, how can you go wrong?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

We absolutely love Mt. Gap School. I have so many people tell me how lucky I am to live in this school district. My husband went there as a child and now my children love it. I get as involved as I can, and feel very at home there. We have fabulous teachers and a very accomodating principal. I couldn't ask for more. Also, we have always had the highest test scores in the city, with the exception of the No Child Left Behind transfers that do tend to bring our scores down when they first transfer. However, we have won awards several years in a row for the amazing jump in academics that these kids make after just one year at Mt. Gap. We are so blessed to be at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

I love my school I've been going here since kindergarten. The teachers are amazing. I never want to leave at the end of the day! my teacher this year lets us express ourselves. She's also my neighbor so sometimes on the weekends I'll go visit her! Our principal is outstanding! She is the best of the best. I know our school bases on reading, but so wht it's something you use a lot! Our students are all so close we're like a big family!! TThat's why I love this school!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2007

We love our daughter's teacher this year, but I feel that some of the kids are not being challenged enough with the No Child Left Behind in place. Teachers are having to 'water down' the class work to accommodate these kids. There are children in my daughter's class that are just learning to read. It just reflects bad on our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2006

Our child is now in 2nd grade and prior to starting Kindergarden we seriously considered private school. I have to say that we couldn't be any happier than we are with Mt. Gap. The teachers have an open door policy, they have educational experience, they are caring, they make learning fun and the are just strict enough to be able to control the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2004

This is my son's first year at Mt. Gap Elementary. He really enjoys it. He really likes his teacher. All of the staff are great. They are really compassionate, caring, kind, & understanding. The only thing that I am disappointed about is that there should be more extra-curricular activities for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

While there are good teachers at Mt. Gap, I am disappointed that the grading system and discipline structure is a little lax. Both of my children are in SPACE, but I find that they are not challenged to think for themselves. One-third of the year is spent priming them for the SAT exam, and nothing new is learned from April through May. Building self-esteem seems to override building a work ethic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2004

Mountain Gap Elementary School is very good with discipline and they have some of the highest S.A.T scores. When your child gets through with Elementary School the there is a Mountain Gap Middle School for your kids that is attached to the Elementary side. It is a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Povertyn/a
Non-poverty92%

Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Povertyn/a
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female91%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty98%

Reading

All Students97%
Female94%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female96%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty94%

Reading

All Students92%
Female96%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students87%
Female85%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty78%
Non-poverty91%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 58%
Black 7% 34%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

821 Mt Gap Rd
Huntsville, AL 35803
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 428-7360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT