Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Whitesburg Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
Whitesburg is undergoing great changes this year, and next year will have a new school building with wonderful opportunities and state of the art facilities for the kids. There are a lot of new staff, including the principal and vice principals, and the PTA works hard to include parents and volunteers in every aspect of their child's education. This is a school with so much to offer, and if you contact them for a tour or just to chat about information, they will accommodate you.

Whitesburg Elementary School 4

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
I see significant improvements in the school organization and parent involvement this year. The principal, Mrs. Little is on a mission of making the school best in the region :). There is much improved parent-teacher and principal- parent communication. Teachers are working very hard to help children grow academically while introducing modern technology in their classrooms. Way to go!


Whitesburg Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
I love Whitesburg pre-k so far the teacher Mrs.Bolton and Ms.Bias are awesome and so caring....i also love that its a pretty good mix of races and that makes a difference

Whitesburg Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
We love Whitesburg school! The staff is amazing and their is great support by Whitesburg PTA and families. I feel like my kids are getting a very good education and seem to love what they are learning. We couldn't be more pleased.

Whitesburg Elementary School 3

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
Currently, the new principal Mrs. Little is running the school like a prison ward. Some of the teachers are nice and do their job. While others, don't inform you of anything until your child's report comes out. By that time it's too late to try and rectify any issues. The kids have a pass now in order to use the restroom. However, there are only 5 lines on this pass. Once those lines are filled the kids are NOT allowed to use the restroom. The only way they can is if they PURCHASE a new pass or have to wait until the next quarter to get a new one. I dont know about you but i find this to be foolish and unacceptable. Using the restroom isn't a special treat, it's a right. It seems to me that this principal is more worried about numbers. Several parents are disgruntled by her "rules and regulations". She is a dictator. I as well as other parents will pull their child out this coming year. Which is unfortunate because Whitesburg is a nice school overall.


Whitesburg Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
I love the way the school has a buzzer to get in the teachers and mrs. Van Allen are all sweet and concerned about their students my daughters love the school

Whitesburg Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2011
- a parent
I am very happy with Whitesburg Elementary School. My daughter has done well academically and I feel comfortable at WES. The teachers are great and the entire staff treats her with kindness and respect. WES has a great principal - who shows strength and compassion despite the drastic financial cuts the school has faced. I am a very proud parent of a Whitesburg Elementary student.

Whitesburg Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
We couldn't be happier with our experience at WES! The teachers are wonderful, supportive, friendly, and caring. The PTA is amazing! WES has a warm and welcoming environment. I feel that both of my children have had an excellent experience academically and socially and would recommend this school to anyone!


Whitesburg Elementary School 4

Posted December 18, 2008
- a parent
This has been our first child's first year at Whitesburg Elementary school. Though the school is a bit dated (built in 1958), the administration and staff have been great, they have a very active and supportive PTA, and the other parents have helped us navigate through our first year in public school. I feel our child has gotten a well-rounded education during her first year at Whitesburg both academically and socially.

Whitesburg Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2008
- a parent
My child is more than a test score. She's a budding artist, a curious chemist, a talkative hugger who adores learning about different species of insects more than practicing for state wide tests. WES caters to my child. With it's music program, PTA funded science lab, with a principal who stops every morning to give my daughter a hug or high five. With it's kindergarten teachers who create magic on a minuscule budget for children to learn through creativity. This is more than a school I'm proud to say I belong to, it's a community I'm honored to allow to help raise my well rounded daughter.

Nearby schools

Whitesburg Elementary School
6810 Whitesburg Dr, Huntsville, AL  35802
(256) 428-7520
Last modified Whitesburg Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5
Top