Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whitesburg Middle School

Public | 6-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2013

I have a 7th grader at Whitesburg and have been really pleased with his experience there. We have a new principal who is a great leader. Construction has just begun on our new building and we are excited about that. The new building is expected to be completed in 2015. The teachers and staff are warm and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2012

My daughter is a 7th grader at Whitesburg this year and since Mr. Hicks has left the school has gone downhill. I am very disappointed with how disorganized everything is from academics and athletics. I pray the new principal gets it together before this year ends, because I am seriously considering enrolling my daughter elsewhere. I've talked with several other parents who are on the same page as I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

My son is having health issues that have yet to be diagnosed. You can imagine how scary as a parent that can be. He is absent alot, and leaves early and comes in late. WHitesburg has bent over backwards to work with me as the parent to deal with his school work. They have put his health before school attendance and school policy. Teachers are working with him and the Administration has been very patient and kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2011

My son attends this school and I am so very appreciative of how they have so much access to the activities, projects, and school work your kids are involved in, right at your finger tips. I am very grateful for my transfer and wouldn't have it any other way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I looove this school so much! Its safe, the kids and teachers are nice. Eveerone is very helpful. Even though its old on the outside, the inside is nice. A+!! GO LIONS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2010

I love Whitesburg Middle School because I was a student there, and some of the teachers I had were great.


Posted August 5, 2009

This school maybe old and run down but we are still great school. My son is on basketball and football and he loves it. I just wish there were more extracurricular activities. Maybe we could add more this year. I would really love to see a talent show at WMS because i know this school has many talented people. This school is also good academic wise. They do alot of hand on activities. A+ school. Go Lions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

WMS has been so great for our child. He is special needs and they have done an awesome job helping him succeed this year. We went from low d's in Tx to A's and B's. We (parents and child) loves this school. The faculty there is outstanding in the field.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

This school is the best. The teachers do care my child has been after school for extra help. This is the school to go to!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

The teachers do not care about the kids that have a hard time with there school work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2007

WMS is the best, seriously. (And we just our gym floors redone!) We have really good teachers and lots of options.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2007

This school is soo awesome. We are the lions and we are the best school in Huntsville as a public school!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2007

Whitesburg MIddle School is an excellent school with regular and advanced classes for children to take. Sports programs in Football, Volleyball, Basketball and Soccer, with Cheerleading and Mascots at the games: school spirit is high for the WMS Lions. Other programs include a choir that regular takes kids to ALL City and ALL State and has a top Show Choir. Academic and Math teams are here as well! A city recreational facility next door regularly used by the children that offers city gyms, fields as well as the schools gym & fields to utilize. I have two children there currently, Homework is not a problem with many kids simply because the school works on a period system and children have the option to have a study hall. The children here are well rounded academically & physically. A++ School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

as far as i am concerned whitesburg has a great athletic program. both boys and girls went to the finals in basketball this year. my daughter attends the school and she does bring home work to do each nite. i rate it as a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

This place isn't even any good athletic or academic-wise. The few sports that it offers are weak and the are only a couple academic clubs. With the little homework that is given out, almost all of it can be finished in class. It does not compete at anything with other schools around the state. Physically, it is also old and run-down. I stronly advise that this should be a last option for sending kids to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

My child is in the 6th grade and I feel like he is finally being challenged. He sailed thru Jones Valley Elem too easily - Mrs. Puliatti at WMS is the teacher to get if you want your child to learn to be responsible and successful in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

157 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

159 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

177 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

178 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

170 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

171 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female81%
Male76%
Black56%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education42%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Poverty61%
Non-poverty89%

Reading

All Students89%
Female93%
Male86%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education54%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female86%
Male87%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special education61%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty77%
Non-poverty93%

Reading

All Students90%
Female93%
Male89%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special education78%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female80%
Male83%
Black61%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special education59%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Poverty63%
Non-poverty93%

Reading

All Students83%
Female84%
Male82%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible62%
Reduced lunch eligible62%
Special education47%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Poverty62%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2012.

177 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students77%
Female79%
Male75%
Black58%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Special education61%
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Poverty64%
Non-poverty86%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 58%
Black 30% 34%
Hispanic 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Greg Hicks
Fax number
  • (256) 428-7781

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

107 Sanders Rd
Huntsville, AL 35802
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 428-7780

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Holy Spirit School
Huntsville, AL



Grace Lutheran School
Huntsville, AL



Randolph School
Huntsville, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT