Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Challenger Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
I wish my kindergartner had more practice for home. It is hard to require kindergarteners to do homework and I'm ok with it, I just wish more practice would've been sent home. It's hard to align home with school when you're not totally sure what exactly they're doing, even with regularly updated newsletters.

Challenger Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
Students are regularly given opportunities to push further and achieve success. They're encouraged to do the science fair, attend the 5th grade space camp trip, green car, various academic teams, etc


Challenger Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
I haven't seen much in the form of academic honesty, but my child is too young to understand the term. He is held responsible for being honest about daily behavior.

Challenger Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
Being a teacher in this system, I tend to be critical. I have no real issues with this school as of now. My child is in kindergarten and I've been happy. He's been encouraged to participate in various activities (academic) that he's probably too young for. I also encouraged these activities because they were something to "work towards". By no means we're these things unachievable (science fair) but they were a little advanced for him. The school does a great job at including the little ones and rewarding their efforts. The PTA does a great job reaching out to the school community and I appreciate all of the partnerships that support the school. I get REALLY tired of the number of times something comes home for money. At the start of the year we were told "5we only have one fundraiser" but there is always something coming home asking for money. That is very frustrating because it usually involves $1 entry fee into something. It isn't much but it's often and I can't punish the kid by saying no. I do appreciate that they always mention what it's for.

Challenger Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
My grandkids started here last year. They love it here.lm impressed with all the staff I have met and talk to. They really care about the students. I wish my kids had the opportunity to be involved in such a Great school when they were young.


Challenger Elementary School 3

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
This school is said to be one of the better elementary schools in the city. Academically the test scores are high. The atmosphere is large, crowded and busy. There is a fair amount of bullying also. My daughter was bullied to the point of her father and I having to contact the superintendent. It is easy for certain kids to get lost between the cracks because the class sizes are large and some of the teachers do not seem like they are really interested in helping out anymore. Some of those teachers definitely need to retire. My child has been there since Kindergarten and she is now in 3rd grade. Most days she doesn't even want to go to school. Her Kindergarten teacher was Ms. Newsom who is awful and that set the tone. She's really mean to the kids and you can tell she is just hanging in until retirement. I reported several concerns about her to the principal at the time but nothing was done. My daughter's teachers since then have been better than Newsom but not great by any means. Her current 3rd grade teacher is uninspiring and again you can tell she's just waiting on retirement. The Asst. Principal Ms. Henson is the best asset this school has but she can only do so much.

Challenger Elementary School 1

Posted November 17, 2013
- a parent
We just transfered to this school and I really dislike this school . It's forsure is not for my family. The Lord sit high and looks low.

Challenger Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2012
- a parent
I meant to write Challenger ELEMENTARY school directly below. I apologize for the error, though my eldest daughter did attend Challenger Middle School and I have good things to say for them too.


Challenger Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2011
- a parent
We debated choosing private school over public, but we are very pleased with our decision of going to Challenger. The principal is fantastic, and the teachers are wonderful. My son is constantly telling us how much he loves the school!

Challenger Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 10, 2009
- a community member
I am the Grandmother of a student at Challenger Middle School and my Granddaughter loves it there. she came from a school in PG County MD, so this was quite a change for her.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Challenger Elementary School
13555 Chaney Thompson Rd, Huntsville, AL  35803
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (256) 428-7060
Last modified Challenger Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top