Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Challenger Elementary School 3

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
This school is said to be one of the better elementary schools in the city. Academically the test scores are high. The atmosphere is large, crowded and busy. There is a fair amount of bullying also. My daughter was bullied to the point of her father and I having to contact the superintendent. It is easy for certain kids to get lost between the cracks because the class sizes are large and some of the teachers do not seem like they are really interested in helping out anymore. Some of those teachers definitely need to retire. My child has been there since Kindergarten and she is now in 3rd grade. Most days she doesn't even want to go to school. Her Kindergarten teacher was Ms. Newsom who is awful and that set the tone. She's really mean to the kids and you can tell she is just hanging in until retirement. I reported several concerns about her to the principal at the time but nothing was done. My daughter's teachers since then have been better than Newsom but not great by any means. Her current 3rd grade teacher is uninspiring and again you can tell she's just waiting on retirement. The Asst. Principal Ms. Henson is the best asset this school has but she can only do so much.

Challenger Elementary School 1

Posted November 17, 2013
- a parent
We just transfered to this school and I really dislike this school . It's forsure is not for my family. The Lord sit high and looks low.


Challenger Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2012
- a parent
I meant to write Challenger ELEMENTARY school directly below. I apologize for the error, though my eldest daughter did attend Challenger Middle School and I have good things to say for them too.

Challenger Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2011
- a parent
We debated choosing private school over public, but we are very pleased with our decision of going to Challenger. The principal is fantastic, and the teachers are wonderful. My son is constantly telling us how much he loves the school!

Challenger Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 10, 2009
- a community member
I am the Grandmother of a student at Challenger Middle School and my Granddaughter loves it there. she came from a school in PG County MD, so this was quite a change for her.


Challenger Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Challenger Elementary School 2

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Challenger Elementary School 4

Posted September 10, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Challenger Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2007
- a parent
One of the best schools my kids have attended. The principle cares and loves the kids and the school. I have never had a teacher or principle for that matter call home to congratulate the kids on an award or good work. I have had both here. Teachers are dedicated and very professional. I have 4 kids so, this is very important to us!

Challenger Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 02, 2007
- a parent
Awesome! Challenger is like a big family! I enjoy working with the teachers and the kids as a parent volunteer. The kids are having fun and learning lots!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Challenger Elementary School
13555 Chaney Thompson Rd, Huntsville, AL  35803
(256) 428-7060
Last modified Challenger Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Challenger Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top