Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Monrovia Middle School

Public | 6-9 | 1092 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

My child attended MMS for 7th and 8th grade and it was a horrible experience. There are some teachers (Math, in particular) that simply don't belong in the classroom. The principal was not at all supportive when we approached him with our concerns and basically sent us back to the teacher. My child is in a different school environment now and simply flourishing. The entire school team - principal, guidance counselors, teachers - are so much more supportive. Avoid MMS if you can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

Our son is attending the 8th grade at MMS. This is his first year at the school, and the transition was quite easy. We were warmly welcomed by councelors and the pricipal. We liked the offerring of many pre-AP classes. But even with taking three pre-AP classes in science, math and English, our son has hardly any homework that he is doing at home (most of it is done in school). Overall we are pleased with the school, but would have loved to see a more challenging curriculum. Also, no foreign languages are offerred at this school, but I think this is very common for Alabama.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

This is my 8th grade year at MMS and this school in my opinion is one of the best. The teachers are great especially one of the 8th grade history teachers. the amount of work is increased from elementary school but thats normal. Also the dress code is strict not to terrible. there are many activity you can do and the band is great. plus you are aloud to be in as many clubs as you want.I'm in scholars bowl, band, and football. all in all i think MMs is a really good school and I'll be proud to graduate from it.


Posted August 18, 2013

Monrovia middle is the best school any student can have yes they are strict but its for your child's best intrest the care so much about the students that you would have to do nothing my sixth grade year was amazing and I can't wait for the next so please send your children here they will love it


Posted July 20, 2013

6th grades ok there the teachers can be way to tough or strict at times. Once you go upstairs and meet all the great teachers in 7th grade you just may have the best time of middle school with friends. it just seems brighter and happier upstairs the teachers treat us nicer.


Posted June 10, 2013

This School is is more like Monrovia mental school, the school pushes for there students to success but the teachers lack the material and knowledge to teach the students (You Just end up watching movies). The administration focus on intimidation to scare students. Also the teachers insult the students (Or from what I've experienced.). I must say my best year was 8th grade where teachers left you alone and all you did is watch movies. If you do chose this school, Good Luck to you.


Posted March 31, 2013

The year is almost up and I'll have to say MMS was a pleasant surprise. My child is in 6th grade, and I found the school to be well balanced between discipline and education. The principal genuinely cares about the kids and does and excellent job ensuring they are prepared for the next level. I also find the faculty to be nurturing as well. I can see how some parents would find the rules a bit strict. For example, if assignments are not turned in on time, points are deducted until they're completed. What a great idea as kids are there to learn and not play. I believe my child will be as (or better) prepared for high school when compared to kids from other middle schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

With all the tools available, most teachers show a lack in being creative in teaching students. Furthermore, there's a huge focus on discipline (more punitive than corrective). My child is currently in 8th grade. If I had it to do over again, I would have pulled my child out after 6th grade and sent him to a private school. My child's interest in education dropped after the 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

My child is now starting her 7th grade year at MMS. I can say that she absolutely loved her 6th grade year. They wisely keep the 6th graders isolated from the older kids, something that us parents who went to 7th & 8th grade "Middle Schools" can appreciate. She really liked most of her teachers and really enjoyed band. The Band director is a shinning example of what we wish all our educators aspired to be. 7th grade has just started for her and so far she has no problems. So, educationally I give this school pretty high marks. I also give it high marks "discipline" wise. They have a zero tolerance policy that has made some parents bristle ... but then again, most bullies have parents who think their little angles are always just misunderstood victims. My child follows the rules, gets good grades and so far, I feel safe about her there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

I have a child at MMS now, she is in the 7th grade and so far loves it. I will say while reading the packet, rules and regulations I was questioning the focus ratio of education to conduct. While my child attended a middle school last year about 7 miles from MMS and I was very much displease with it. I look forward to seeing how this school year may go. One thing I seen that was great is that all the students looked like the belong to a middle school not a night club. They did not have huge earrings or 4" heels on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2010

I have one child going to 7th grade. I am considering removing him from the school and placing in private school. There are a number of post already here as to why: too focused on discipline (perfect children) Subar teaching esp in PE, Social studies & Science. My childs SAT scores fell dramatically after testing this year. STI is a joke. 2 out of 7 teachers would submit info timely. So when you notice something missing it was already 3wks late and they wouldnt allow to make up. EAET is a joke (notice for missing HW). Teacher told me they dont use it because the more they do the more they have to also work the Saturday make-up day. I wish more of their energy was used to acutually teach and care about the outcome. Principal defends poor teaching habits. Needs new leadership to hold staff more accountable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I think that monrovia middle school is so focused on discipline that the kids dont learn anything
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2009

I'm was a sixth grader at monrovia middle school and am very happy that they did not let the sixth graders join anything because I wouldn't be able to manage everything when i was just starting a harder grade with more responsibiltes . And I am in the band which has got to be the highlight of my day . Mr.Dowdy is the best and really loves the music.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2009

The education at Monrovia is 1 Dimensional. Too much focus on discipline and consequences and not enough on developing a well-educated, well-rounded student. Principal has been there way too long and needs to be replaced with new leadership with fresh ideas to develop high caliber students and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

Monrovia Middle School just started a program called 'Every Assignment, Every Time'. What this program essentially does is if a child forgets their homework, they fill out an EAET form and can bring their homework in the next day for 75% credit. If they fail to bring in the completed assignment the next day, they will attend Saturday School(school on saturday from 8:00-12:00) and complete the assignment for 60% credit. If they do not attend they will complete two days of Saturday School instead of just one. Mr. Brown approved this plan because over 90% of the failing students would not be failing if they had completed their homework. Students can also be given Saturday School for discipline reasons.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2008

It's safe, enjoyable and has nice teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2008

As a proud graduate of mms, i can honestly say this is the best school i've been to. The teachers at monrovia are all very involved and well educated. The administration are always out in the halls helping students, and to me, that is one of the most assuring things i can see when i'm at school. Safety is mr. Brown's number one concern, which he reminds us of constantly, and i always felt safe at school! many people are complaining that sixth graders cannot play school sports, but i have to side with the administration on this one. The first year of middle school is the hardest! when you come from only having one or three classes a day to having seven, the workload is shocking! sports for only seventh and eighth graders is for their own good :) go hawks! mms is a great school overall!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2008

I am a 8th grader at MMS and I love this school. Some parnets are mad about the extracurriculars here at MMS. Parnets at MMS why 6th graders only can be in the band the first year of school is because the teachers and Mr.Brown think the first year of middle school is one of the hardest. This is when the students are getting use to the seven classes and the seven new teachers which they only have one hour a day. In the year of 07-08 MMS let 6th graders tryout for the golf class, for tryouts you were to write a letter to Mr.Brown saying why the student should be in the program. This year 21 students in total from 6th-8th grade were allowed in the program. With the letter the grades of the students were put first, then the students teachers would have to agree that the student
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2008

We are parents of a 6th grader in Monrovia Middle and are very disturbed that as involved Parents we try to stay on top of his progress via the STI web site.Only to have some Teachers that will not post grades for weeks,or even months at a time.Our Emails with some Teachers go unanswered for weeks or sometimes not at all.We get very frustrated!We hear that Parents are not involved enough with there Childs Education only for it to be difficult to have some teachers not doing there part so we can be involved.Come on teachers keep those grades posted current to-date.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

I am in the seventh grade and I love my school so much. We have some of the best teachers in teh country. They could do some more explaining but beyond that they are perfect for me. The teachers are so diverse and always help the students no matter who they are. They have great extra-cirricular activities for students like me. It is a safe enviornmanet for your kids. So parents if you live or are moving here, I suggest that you come because the kids can have fun with their friends and learn a lot too!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female88%
Male89%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible71%
Special education41%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty75%
Not poverty92%

Reading

All Students96%
Female99%
Male94%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islander0%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education72%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty92%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education36%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty78%
Not poverty91%

Reading

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education59%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty94%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female94%
Male86%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Special education48%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Poverty79%
Not poverty92%

Reading

All Students92%
Female96%
Male87%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible94%
Special education52%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Poverty81%
Not poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education36%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Poverty89%
Not poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 58%
Black 27% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1216 Jeff Rd
Huntsville, AL 35806
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 430-4499

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Providence School
Huntsville, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT