Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alma Bryant High School

Public | 8-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2012

Alma Bryant do not have teachers that care for the children. They tell the kids that they don't have time for them. I haven't met the principle. The office staff are jerks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

ZERO STARS! I have an issue with the school confusing my kids records with others, with us being threatened with legal action due to this, principals and teachers not responding to letters and emails and this is nothing. The best part is my child and her friend being sexually harrased and having a boy try dragging them unwillingly into boys bathroom.. and school does nothing.. not even contact the parents! This is something I should find out from the principal or other staff member.. not have my child tell me about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

I think this school offers so much to the students as far as extracurricular classes. This helps them become more well rounded and better prepared for college. The administration dept. is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

We could'nt be more pleased with how well our son is doing here. There are so many options for him opposed to the school we transferred from. The teachers are really great and seem to be very in-tune with their kids. They really seem to do a lot of preparation for college and getting the students ready for graduation. My son is really excited about it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

Great school. Great teachers and parent support system for our students. This school, it's staff and parents are what make this school so great. Time is put into the kids and it is reflected in the wonderful young men and women that have graduated from and continue to from Bryant High School. Our children are "our lives" here in this area ....... and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

I rate Alma Bryant below average because I believe the administators and teachers are somewhat rude. The food is most definatly gross and its pretty much test test test no room for being a teenager.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2009

I have been very pleased with the individual response the teachers and principal give to the students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

I like the variety of academic programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2007

excellent school and falculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2006

I'm Vy Phan. I went to Bryant HS during my 9th and 10th grades and I truly love this school. The campus's just so nice, the teachers are all friendly & great responsible for us. Mr Holmes (Science Department), Mrs Horn(Math), Mrs Mobley (Art)are all wonderful teachers!Although, their classes used to be a big challenge to me, But I definite learn so much from them! And there are many many more 'cool' teachers that I haven't had chance to know. Go to Bryant, you'll see. Anyway, Go Hurricane! I love Bryant!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 3, 2006

Well I have to say that I loved going to school there! I was in the first class to Graduate (99') And I have to say I think we were the best! Go Canes! my advice is, Yes they are strict on the uniforms but SO WHAT its school not a fashion show. They seemed to care about my grades and helped me when I needed extra help passing a class. Bryant is the best school in the world it rox my boxers! Jimmy
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 21, 2006

This school is in poor quality overall.. The quality of the academic programs is...acceptable at best. To be honest, when I was a student there, it was ridiculously easy. They made it easy for the lazy kids who would not study or do work to get A's. I actually dropped out to get my GED because I simply was not learning! The availability of extracurricular activities is admittedly...pretty good. It does not, however, make up for everything else that the school lacks. The level of parental involvement is ridiculously low. I can't tell you when I saw a parent in there unless they were picking up their child...and even that was a rare occurrence. I would not suggest enrolling your child in this school. In fact, most of the Mobile County Public Schools are pretty horrific.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 22, 2006

My name is Vinh Van Tran and I graduated in 2003. My grades were dropping because I didn't try. My teachers didn't give up on me and keptpushing me to be the best. I am now in the military, got my education, travel, and even learn different languages. I look at myself and wonder how I got here, it was from everything I learn from the teachers of Alma Bryant. Education, and about life!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 26, 2005

ok i go to bryant and yeah its a great school and all but they worry to much about uniforms than our education and just to put a good word in my favorite teachers are the following coach richardson, mr allen, mrs. dixon ,and of course coach higgins lol well g2g bye bye love ~n. paxson~
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2005

I think this is a great school. I think that the grading in the classes is a little harsh I try to keep my grades up but I worry my self so much that I end up with bad grades I failed p.e. because I dont like to dress out all the time and I dont think that a student has to dress in front of others I think there is some improvements that could be done about grades but it is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2005

Alma Bryant High School is a good school. Just look at the number of academic scholarships offered in this year's graduating class. Parent involvement with their student's studies are lacking. Athletics, in general, are weak (especially girl sports) which is puzzling for a 6A school but this is, and should be, secondary anyway. Bryant's arts program and aquaculture courses are excellent. Any student that works for a quality education can get one here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

The very best school i've ever been to. The greatest teachers and staff there. I hate to leave it next year. Class of 2006. -lisa jackson
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2005

The emphasis of sports over academics is ridiculous, especially since the only teams that consistently perform well are the Scholars Bowl and Hi-Q teams. The faculty that teach the Honors courses are pretty good over all and these teachers take a great interest in their students. The small amount of AP courses is dissapointing, however, and the few AP classes that are offered don't actually seem to be true Advanced Placement classes--most I have felt were jokes. Be careful in choosing the high school for your student. If they are academically inclined, consider the IB program at Murphy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2005

i think this school is okay.i go to this school and they think to much on other things then work.i just hope that it gets better.as it being my last year i hope others learn more then me.....thanks choley
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2005

I love this school it is great. I miss going to this school. This is a good school for children to go to. The principal is very good. I wish I would of never left it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

364 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

368 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

368 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

368 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

288 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

366 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

314 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

313 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

314 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

314 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

313 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

314 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female99%
Male96%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education87%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrant94%
Non-migrant98%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty99%

Language

All Students82%
Female89%
Male74%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible90%
Special education13%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrant78%
Non-migrant82%
Poverty78%
Non-poverty86%

Math

All Students89%
Female92%
Male87%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible84%
Special education50%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrant89%
Non-migrant89%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty92%

Reading

All Students84%
Female89%
Male79%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligible84%
Special education23%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrant89%
Non-migrant84%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty90%

Social Studies

All Students66%
Female58%
Male74%
Black46%
Asian/Pacific Islander48%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White71%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligible68%
Special education43%
General population68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrant56%
Non-migrant66%
Poverty62%
Non-poverty72%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students99%
Female99%
Male98%
Black98%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education89%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrant93%
Non-migrant99%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligible94%
Special education74%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrant93%
Non-migrant96%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty98%

Math

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligible94%
Special education81%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrant86%
Non-migrant98%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty99%

Reading

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Special education81%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrant86%
Non-migrant97%
Poverty95%
Non-poverty99%

Social Studies

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligible82%
Special education70%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrant79%
Non-migrant92%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 58%
Black 12% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 1%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Doug Jr Estle Jr
Fax number
  • (251) 824-3221

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14001 Hurricane Blvd
Irvington, AL 36544
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 824-3213

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Bridge Inc
Mobile, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT