Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jacksonville High School

Public | 7-12 | 788 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, November 23, 2014

Great school, caring teachers, excellent academic offerings. Students are well prepared for college or the work force upon graduation.


Posted September 29, 2014

Great Academic school. Athletic program is mediocre and very, very political. Does not matter how good you are in athletics, more important is who you and your parents are. There is no off season sports program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2014

This school has started depending too much upon technology to teach the students. The teachers are rude and lazy. Have had them tell me there is no such thing as a "504 plan" (which is state law). Tends to have their favorite students, and if you are not a favorite then too bad for you. Terrible school system. And their online system is a joke. They (without permission) created my underage child an email account. Some teachers are so lazy now they do not issue books and require all assignments to be completed online (and do not check for plagiarism). Bullying is not taken seriously. My son actually "paid" for other children to "protect" him. When brought to the schools attention, they did not do anything to help. He was physically attacked by another student and had books smashed over his head and all the attacker received was "ISS" and Alternative School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

I'm a former student and moved away because of this school. The administration only cares about good test scores and has let students to free after getting caught with drugs so not to make the school look bad. One of the students and one of my friends committed suicide. There where serval students participating in self mutilation. I am include in this because of rampant bullying. The drug problem at this school is horrible and for alittle while I succumbed to the pressure and did drugs. I moved to a Georgia because of these problems


Posted August 15, 2012

JHS offered my child opportunities both academically and socially in a variety of venues. The teachers genuinely care about the students. The atmosphere is one of high standards, high expectations and high achievement. At this school, a student can "get out of it what they put into it". Slackers tend to fade away from this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2011

I simply cannot see how this faculty could be less interested in the welfare of most of the children. There is a definite class system in place where some receive better attention and assistance. There is also a lot of fights and a growing drug problem. Don't they realize why a bunch of kids leave school whenever the drug dogs arrive? The punishment for being AWOL isn't as bad as getting caught with drugs. New leadership is necessary. Clean house and create an environment that fosters learning, accountability and responsibility for all parties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

Great parent, teacher school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

The teachers and the school do not care about the students and will not work with the parents. The STI Home website is worthless because sometimes it takes 2 and 3 weeks for the teachers to post grades. Also, most do not use the homework assignment page. If you are trying to keep track of your child's homework and grades, it is hopeless. They do nothing to motivate the students and help them advance. In fact, it is just the opposite. Their uncaring attitude lowers the student's self esteem. How is it that a 10th grader can be told that there is no way for him to graduate. There are several alternatives that I found on my own but was offered no alternative by the school. They only care about their 'high academic grades'. If you don't play sports and aren't in that category, you are not wanted. Stay away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

I moved to Jacksonville because of all the great things I heard about Jville High. I'm very disappointed. The way it work s at Jacksonville is you are on your own. The teachers do nothing out of their way to help the kids that are struggling with their grades. There is no official tutoring service offered. About the only good thing I can see is that there isn't a problem violence or drugs. If I wasn't stuck with the mortgage on my house, I would definitely be in a different school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My kids are thriving at Jacksonville. I have three teenagers, and all three of them receive the help they need to reach their goals. I have a special needs child and I am completely satisfied with the way his needs are met and the way that I am kept apprised of anything specialsasatisfied with the
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I dont' know what the others are talking about when they say JHS doesn't have a competive edge for college admissions. Last year the Senior class got close to 2 million in student aid and 80 percent went on to some sort of further education. Great School. Great Teachers, pretty good administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

Very good school; administrators are, however, currently changing a LOT of things. If you are looking for a new school in the next year or so, Jacksonville isn't recommended, as the order is somewhat lacking here, and new rules are being enforced daily. Good teachers, poor administrators, and not quite enough fine arts to give students enough options.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2006

I believe Jacksonville is an acceptable school, but to really stand out and have an advantage in the competitive world of college admissions, I think you need things that Jacksonville doesn't offer, such as more AP courses and honors classes. As a one year student, I loved the sense of community in the school, but more opportunities need to be made available so we may be able to succeed further away from the community. From living in other states, I see what is expected and how students begin taking foreign languages and advanced math at an earlier age. I don't know if it is supposed to be the standard for Alabama in general, but I see no problem with setting the standard higher for greater achievement.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 29, 2005

I am not a parent, but a Senior at Jacksonville High School and I feel that my school is the best public school in any of the nearest counties. My school provides the best possible cirriculum for college-bound students. The teachers treat us as college students because they give us all of the responsiblity in maintaining our grades. They also give students the the ability to exceed at his or her own level and they let each student become his or her individual best. I would not want to graduate from another school in Alabama.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2004

I am a student at Jacksonville High and my mom thinks that the school is one of the best schools in the state of Alabama. That's pretty good because we've been to a lot of schools here in Al. By the way .. I am an 8th grader(just in case you wanted to know.)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2004

I'm not a parent but a student at this school... I think jacksonville has to be the best public school in the area... This school has alot of school spirit it is alot of fun... Also i think it has a very nice environment compared to the other schools in this area...
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female85%
Male78%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligible73%
Special education17%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Poverty70%
Not poverty92%

Reading

All Students91%
Female93%
Male90%
Black76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible82%
Special education54%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Poverty87%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female76%
Male76%
Black61%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%
Poverty66%
Not poverty89%

Reading

All Students87%
Female91%
Male78%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Poverty83%
Not poverty91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students80%
Female85%
Male76%
Black68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligible64%
Special education31%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Poverty69%
Not poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students95%
Female93%
Male98%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty89%
Not poverty99%

Language

All Students85%
Female89%
Male81%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant85%
Poverty76%
Not poverty90%

Math

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant88%
Poverty79%
Not poverty93%

Reading

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant90%
Poverty81%
Not poverty94%

Social Studies

All Students83%
Female78%
Male89%
Black70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant83%
Poverty74%
Not poverty89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Not migrant98%
Poverty97%
Not poverty99%

Language

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%
Poverty83%
Not poverty94%

Math

All Students96%
Female98%
Male93%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant96%
Poverty90%
Not poverty99%

Reading

All Students96%
Female98%
Male93%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant96%
Poverty90%
Not poverty99%

Social Studies

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White0%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant92%
Poverty86%
Not poverty94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 58%
Black 29% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 George Douthit Dr SW
Jacksonville, AL 36265
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 435-4177

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Sacred Heart Catholic School
Fort Mcclellan, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT