Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jemison Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 907 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2010

My daughter has learned alot @ this school. We work w. her daily. I have had some issues w/ disrespect from a staff member or two and the code of ethics is not stricktly followed by all teachers; However considering it is a public school filled w. indevidual teachers and not all ppl have the best moral, I do feel that aslong as you stay vidgulent in your childs education process This school will benifit then,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The staff at this school is very knowledgeable and willing to do what it takes. However, administration puts too much emphasis on testing to the detriment of other required and worthy objectives. History and Science is NOT taught in a manner required by state courses of study
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 3, 2009

Jemison elem. Is a very good school. I believe that if the school continue to except all diverse groups of people, the school will continue to have positive growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

I am a parent of 4 children in the jemison school system in each school. We moved from a school that was horrible. Over all i love jes. Just wish the school would do a better job with reading it seems to focus more on speed than comprehension.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

I wish that the principal made it more welcoming for parents to be involved. We came from out of state and attended a school that was very welcoming. It makes a huge difference in the school. More parent involvement = happier staff and children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

This is a wonderful school for our son, who is Autistic. He has developed so much and loves to go to school..! The teachers and the prin
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

I agree that Art and Music ae so very important. I have sent many emails to the board of education on this issue. I don't know what other steps need to be taken at this point. It may be an issue for the State BOE. Other than that, this is a great school. It is sad that the children are having this taken from them, unless you enroll them in private lessons. My children have been here since K and I have never got to see them in a play. I hope that something is done before my children are out of elementary school. Being as you can't get this time back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

Please, please place some importance on art and music! the school that we came from wasn't as large as this one and it offered a great art and music program. We saw the grades go up and the children actually loved school much more. It makes a huge difference! other than that, I am pleased with jes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

Since my grandchildren moved from such a terrible school system, perhaps I am overwhelmed by the difference! Smaller classes, organized teachers, teachers who make themselves available to parents - Trust me when I say, if you've seen what must be among the worst school system in the state, you can appreciate being in a truly education-motivated environment such as this school!


Posted January 9, 2008

There reading program is excellent, my daughter is in 1st grade and she is on a 3rd grd reading level. Kuddles to all the 1st grade teachers, especially Mrs. Davis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

They focus more on reading.Doing it as fast as they can and not so much on what they are reading.I have taken my child out of this school. For some reason the priciple at this school would not even consider any extra help for my daughter who was falling more and more behind in 2nd grade due to a learning disability and ADHD. My daughter never did any art other than a few color sheets. She only used a computer for A.R. tests. No music was offered to her. I moved my child to a private school this year where she is catching up and exceeding our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

As a parent of three, I have been with this school for eight years. I have yet to understand why the students spend so much time testing on how well they speed read. My children call this test dibbling. This is where the student has to read a certain number of words per minute to reach their benchmark. I honestly do not understand how reading fast can benefit my child. Our school is supposedly third in the state, but what does that mean?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

I have been very impressed with the entire staff at this school. They all take my child's well being and education very seriously. They are wonderful and warm and provide academic challenge without intimidation. They also do not pick 'favorites' to groom and leave others behind. All students are encouraged equally. I feel very lucky to be in this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2005

JES has been a wonderful school for our children. The teachers and Mrs. Pitts did more for us than we could ever imagine. The parent/teacher relationships that we experienced was remarkable and we have developed close friendships with many of them. Their care and compansion for each child in that school goes beyond words, not to mention the quality of education our children received. Our children woke up every morning happy and eager to get to school because at JES learning was fun, exciting and unique. The teachers and other administrators go out of their way to prepare the students for the future. The advice and wisdom Mrs. Pitts has given us (on a personal level) through out the years will stay with us forever. JES is such a lucky school to have her as their principal. Our family will truly miss JES and all it's wonderful staff and students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2004

JES is a great place for kids. The teachers are knowledgeable and give kids insight to things they would never experience in real life! We love JES! Thanks to all teachers and Mrs. Pitts, the asst. principal! She is always willing to talk to us with any kind of problem. Our school is safe and I dont have to worry about anything happening inside the school. My 3rd grader did great things last year, tons of improvement in math! YEAH! Reading has always been awesome there. They stay on top of those things and make sure that if anything happens or starts sliding, that we know. JES has its problems like any other school but I am very satisified with it and the education my children are getting. I cant say thanks enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2004

The academics are extremely easy. There is little to provide challenging work for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

186 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

186 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

167 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

167 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female96%
Male99%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education91%
General population98%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education82%
General population94%
English language learners67%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students96%
Female99%
Male92%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty95%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 58%
Hispanic 21% 4%
Black 7% 35%
Two or more races 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Louise Bolton Pitts
Fax number
  • (205) 688-2812

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1495 County Rd 44
Jemison, AL 35085
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 280-4820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT