Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jemison Elementary School 3

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
My son is in 3rd grade and only 2 of his past teachers were actually great. The teachers i didnt like have issues with children being kids and should find a new career. His kindergarten teacher was aweful to him and was mean and yelled at the kids and snatched his snack away from him and threw it across the room because he left it in his backpack. I do not like this school for the most part because of the teachers. I would recommend moving somewhere else instead of putting your child in this school. I am already seaching for somewhere else to live to take my kids out of this school. Its rated far better than it should be. I also went to this school and hated it back then and quit when i was of age because of fights and drama that went on there. Thankfully i was able to get my GED despite the lacking of learning from bad teachers. Only a few are exceptional and great at their jobs.

Jemison Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
The second grade teacher Mrs. Fondren was a honest and great teacher. My son loved her and i was so thankful he was in her class.


Jemison Elementary School 4

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has learned alot @ this school. We work w. her daily. I have had some issues w/ disrespect from a staff member or two and the code of ethics is not stricktly followed by all teachers; However considering it is a public school filled w. indevidual teachers and not all ppl have the best moral, I do feel that aslong as you stay vidgulent in your childs education process This school will benifit then,

Jemison Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a teacher
The staff at this school is very knowledgeable and willing to do what it takes. However, administration puts too much emphasis on testing to the detriment of other required and worthy objectives. History and Science is NOT taught in a manner required by state courses of study

Jemison Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 03, 2009
- a parent
Jemison elem. Is a very good school. I believe that if the school continue to except all diverse groups of people, the school will continue to have positive growth.


Jemison Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 18, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent of 4 children in the jemison school system in each school. We moved from a school that was horrible. Over all i love jes. Just wish the school would do a better job with reading it seems to focus more on speed than comprehension.

Jemison Elementary School 3

Posted March 12, 2009
- a parent
I wish that the principal made it more welcoming for parents to be involved. We came from out of state and attended a school that was very welcoming. It makes a huge difference in the school. More parent involvement = happier staff and children.

Jemison Elementary School 5

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
This is a wonderful school for our son, who is Autistic. He has developed so much and loves to go to school..! The teachers and the prin


Jemison Elementary School 3

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
I agree that Art and Music ae so very important. I have sent many emails to the board of education on this issue. I don't know what other steps need to be taken at this point. It may be an issue for the State BOE. Other than that, this is a great school. It is sad that the children are having this taken from them, unless you enroll them in private lessons. My children have been here since K and I have never got to see them in a play. I hope that something is done before my children are out of elementary school. Being as you can't get this time back.

Jemison Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 20, 2008
- a parent
Please, please place some importance on art and music! the school that we came from wasn't as large as this one and it offered a great art and music program. We saw the grades go up and the children actually loved school much more. It makes a huge difference! other than that, I am pleased with jes.

Nearby schools

Jemison Elementary School
1495 County Rd 44, Jemison, AL  35085
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (205) 280-4820
Last modified Jemison Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top