Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kinston School

Public | K-12 | 527 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 10, 2010

As a parent of a 8th grade student and a former student, I will say the school as a whole is nice.. It is nice that the school is on a smaller scale, however being a smaller school if you ever get into trouble or a rumor is started not only does most of the Faculty treat you in a different manner but the students. The teachers that my youngest son ( who has ADD) do not try to work with him. I have spoken to the High School counselor and even the Principal. Also unfortunately being a small school it does matter what your last name is, as far as sports and also on many other matters. I will say the Principal is a very good one, and the school is a very safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

If college is th e next step, keep in mind that KHS goes into little detail about evolution, including omitting Darwin's 'Origins of the Species'. 'Catcher in the Rye' is not issued, like most schools - was it sensored on purpose? I feel those kids missed out on this great book at the time they would enjoy it most.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2009

this school is so fun because there ard no fighting!!!!!!!!!!!!!11
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2009

Ok I graduated Valedictorian. I can spell and type correctly on a computer. So anyone who wants to say Kinston is not up to par with other Schools, just read this before you decide where you want your child to go. Kinston is the only School around itself presently that requires a 8 page college level research paper in the 10th grade. Most schools around don't require it until the 12th grade. English 101 in college normally requires 4 essays and 1 research paper. What school around Kinston can compare to that...? None. And as far as Math goes....I always had an A. Algebra I, II, III, Trig, Pre-Cal, Geo, and Statistics are the curriculum for grades 9-12. Not 4 of those....all of those. ACT scores and excellent enough for most students to get scholarships for college. Teachers are eager to help as long as students are willing to learn.


Posted October 11, 2008

My daughter started Kindergarten at Kinston this year. She loves it and I do too. She is already reading and doing basic math. I have friends that have children in kindergarten in other schools close by and they are just now starting to do the things my child was doing the second week of school. The teachers are very nice and easy to talk with. I could not imagine my child being anywhere else. This truly is a great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

I am a student and a cheerleader at KHS (: Despite ANY of the reviews on here that are old and make the school sound like we are just slow, country 'folk', I think Kinston is the best of the best. I am proud to say I go to Kinston. It excells in everything and is on the list as one of the best schools in the nation. I have attended KHS since kindergarten. I have never felt unsafe. It is a very loving environment. I think I'm rambling, but if anyone has taken the time to read this, I just want to say that KHS is the best. When I'm here I feel at home. If you have the chance to go to KHS I would recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2008

I am a parent of two (2) children that attend Kinston High School. My children have attended since they began school. My son is a senior this year and my daughter is in the 7th grade. I am from Montgomery, AL and would never consider taking them anywhere else!! My husband and mother-in-law graduated from Kinston. I can only say positive things about this school. I would recommend Kinston to anyone that wants a positive educational experience for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2007

At this school girls are encouraged to excel in all areas. The teachers are top notch, the administration responsive, and the atmosphere conducive to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2006

I am a proud graduate of KHS. I have 2 boys ages 9 and 10 that are also KES. I attended Andalusia High School for 2 years and was not doing well at all. The teachers in larger schools seem to be more focused on politics more so than the importance of the education itself. At KES and KHS your child will receive the best one on one education that you can possible imagine. The teachers care about the students and how they excel in curriculm and there is nothing that can compare to that. Here at KES and KHS you are given a fair and challenging start to further your education. Those who dont see it that way have not kept a good line of communication with the teachers. I hope this is helpful to someone. I know that we are proud of KES and KHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

If you notice, most of the parents who write negative things about Kinston can barely spell or put sentences together themselves. I am a proud graduate of Kinston High School, and am happy to say that I have done well in college. My teachers prepared me for life after high school, and I am in many honor programs in college. Also, if a student took the SAT and did not make a single error, I have a feeling we would have heard about it by now. :)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 13, 2006

I have two stepsons in kinston. One is in the first and the other's in the fifth, and I have a doughter in the first grade at Andalusia Elemetary and in comparison the boys can't keep up. She reads, writes, and spells at a higher success rate than the boys. She also took the sat's and didn't make one error. The child in first grade at Kinston struggles to spell, read, and write. As a student someone might view things differently. As a parent, I see the big difference in the academic requirements. The boys are extremely smart, just not worked well with at school. They have great potential, just no teacher to mold it. I've taught them more than their teacher. My 7 yr old reads better than my 11 yr old. Difference in parenting? Not hardly, just the requirements and academic settings that surround them each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

Although I only graduated with twenty-four other students from Kinston High School, there is no place I would be prouder to call home. Not only is Kinston a small, safe school, but the teachers there do a wonderful job of preparing students for life after high school, in the workforce or college. I am a freshman in college and had a 4.0 my first semester, so there is no doubt in my mind my teachers did a wonderful job of getting me ready for higher learning. In most of my classes I was already far ahead of the rest of the students, because we had covered everything at Kinston. I hope I am fortunate enough one day to send my students to KHS, because it is a truly wonderful place for an education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 16, 2006

I am a parent who's four childern have went too or are going to KHS. My son was part of the class of 2005. Him or my other three would not have had the chance to play sports in a big school.Also they would not have had the chance to learn one on one with the teacher and coaches. I also went to KHS and found that it cared about it students it was true then and it is still true to day.I went to a larger school and did not receive the one on one that you will receive a KHS. If your child has the chance to go to KHS you can be asured that they will be treated like family. That is what we are a Kinston High School family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I am a graduate Of KHS. ANd my daughter goes there now. But honestoy she has been to another School and it was better. I put her back in Kinston because it was so much smaller but the other school is so much more advanced than Kinston. I will be putting her back in the other school the next School year and yes she will be staying there. Kinston is a good school because it is small but that is all. They are behind most other schools when it comes to teaching.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2004

Being a graduate of Kinston High School, I can honestly attest to the fact that there is no other school in the area like Kinston. The quality of education is excellent and the and the atmosphere cannot be matched. Because of my education and experience at Kinston, I am now a successful college student in the classroom and in many forms of extracurricular activities. Parents, if you are interested in preparing your child for college-- this is the school they need to attend.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 31, 2003

Kinston is a wonderful and unique school. My husband and I moved away due to our jobs but the large city we live in has no school that can compare. We tried private schools here that cost over $1,000/month and yet they can't hold a candle to KHS. In addition to the comments made in earlier posts, I would like to add that Kinston has managed to hold on to the education environment that most people only recall when talking about the 'old days' or what is portrayed in movies from more idealic times when families and communities were more committed to each other. Families with access to Kinston are truly blessed!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2003

I have children attending this school and I would not want them enrolled anywhere else. I love the way the whole community in part pulls together, we all help out(as far as raising each others children). This is a wonderful place to educate your future leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2003

As a graduate of Kinston High, I give it all A'S. This school helped shape and form my future into todays world. Even though it's small, I recieved the help from the teachers i needed on an individual basis. This school is by far one of the cleanest I've ever been in. It's kept neat and tidy inside and out. The Coffee County Board of Education should give more to and back this school. Not all countys in Alabama, have a school in there system, that can touch the students the way this one does.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

33 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

33 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

33 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

33 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female88%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty89%

Reading

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female82%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White82%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Poverty78%
Non-poverty87%

Reading

All Students88%
Female95%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty87%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female92%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty87%

Reading

All Students87%
Female92%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty81%
Non-poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female62%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White71%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Poverty54%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty82%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female86%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White76%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Poverty68%
Non-poverty86%

Reading

All Students88%
Female95%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female79%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Poverty67%
Non-poverty91%

Reading

All Students76%
Female72%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White75%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Poverty63%
Non-poverty91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students81%
Female58%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty81%
Non-poverty80%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students58%
Female50%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White59%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Poverty59%
Non-poverty57%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

26 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

26 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

26 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

26 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

2009

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

26 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

34 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-povertyn/a

Language

All Students77%
Female100%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Poverty75%
Non-povertyn/a

Math

All Students92%
Female100%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty88%
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female93%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty81%
Non-povertyn/a

Social Studies

All Students77%
Female79%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Poverty75%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students95%
Female100%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty96%

Math

All Students95%
Female100%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty96%

Reading

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty100%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 58%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Asian 1% 1%
Black 1% 35%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Terry W Weeks
Fax number
  • (334) 565-3494

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 College St
Kinston, AL 36453
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 565-3016

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Pathway
New Brockton, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT