Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chambers Academy

Private | PK-12 | 130 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Lafayette

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $79,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2011

I firmly believe my child is getting a quality education at Chambers. The teachers are dedicated, hard working and really care about the children. The classes are small enough that they don't get lost in the system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2011

I have two sons who graduated from Chambers Academy. Both received scholorships to four year universities and each received their degree in four years. They were well prepared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

I am a graduate of Chambers Academy who went straight to a 4 year university, graduated and did well in my life. When I returned to the LaFayette area I enrolled my kids at Chambers Academy. I have been very pleased with my children's education, and believe that they would not have received a better education anywhere in central Alabama. The teachers are good, the classes are small, there is a family feel, and a very safe environment. Chambers Academy has been a wonderful experience as a student and as a parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

One of my children attended Chambers for 2 yrs, pre-K and K. I was not impressed, their education consists of mostly work book type, no real instruction, too many small children. The other children seemed unruly. It's not clean, rather filthy. For what you pay it's really not worth it, you can get a much better education at the public school IF you are an involved parent and work with your child, insist on good grades and assist with nightly homework. I've know many people who have attended Chambers and to be honest it will not guarantee a better education or distinguishment of any sort unless your primary concern is attending a primarly 'white' school. I for one prefer a more divers enviorment for my children, who accept, learn from, respect and appreciate all people regardless of color. More diversity is needed at Chambers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

Chambers Academy is a less than ideal school to send your child to. I agree with the other poster in that it has potential, but the leadership is awful. I walked in one day between classes and there was such chaos in the halls with the students and not a teacher to be found. This is why I pay tuition? One student was yelling profanity because the halls were in such chaos. Some serious, consistent guidance and discipline is in order at this school. And teachers who are actually motivated and happy to be teaching would be nice as well. Thank goodness my child graduates soon. Would send her to another school, but the public school is not good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

This school is actually very good. I have read these other reviews and they are no where even close to how it really is. Chambers is a small school that allows all of the students to become a close knit family. Everybody knows everybody and are normally close friends. I graduated from Chambers after being there my entire life. I had the best bunch of friends anybody could ask for. Also the teachers are very qualified. The other review said they didn't care about the students but I know from experience that they do. Chambers does not have a problem with drugs or violence. When I was a student there I may have seen 5 fights over 12 years and never had an encounter with any illegal drugs. Chambers is a great school that really prepares you for life and helps you grow into a very distinguished person.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

My child attended this school for 2 years. And i'm sorry to say did not receive much of an education. Very poor leadership, a couple of teachers actually taught, but most were not concerned at all. The guidance counselor is very lazy and does not motivate these kids for college. It is ridiculous to pay tuition and get a much better education at public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

This school has potential but is lacking in direction. Has some great teachers who care about their students as well as some teachers who seem very unhappy. To pay private tuition for this school, work really needs to be done in the area of guidance, discipline and motivation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 58%
Black 1% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • John Mehaffey
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (334) 864-9691

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15048 US Highway 431
Lafayette, AL 36862
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 864-9852

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lafayette High School
Lafayette, AL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT