Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Leeds Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 729 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 14, 2013

Leeds Elementary has been a great experience for both of my children. Their programs like the school safety patrol and jump rope team have given the students something to strive for to be positive role models for others. The teachers are caring and understanding and work hard with their students everyday to make sure they are learning to the best of their ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

I have 3 kids in the Leeds School system, with one having used the Early Intervention program for speech improvement. We have loved every teacher that my kids have had so far. The teachers are caring and thorough. The teachers my kids have had have high expectations for all of their students and encourage the kids to meet their goals. Based on the testing scores my children are exceeding the national average in each subject matter tested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

Leeds Elem. We thought moving into this school zone would be good for our children but sadly it did not turn out that way. Bullying is not under control or in my opinion being address properly. Rosalind Wiseman could base an entire book series on this place. It s a jumbled mess of poor communication, parents not focusing on parenting, teachers just trying to make it to the end of the school year, and kids getting away with poor behavior because it is easier than dealing with defensive parents. Are there any caring teachers? Yes, there are. Are there any good kids? Yes, there are. However they are being out shined by the negative aspects of the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

Leeds Elementary School is a very laid back environment, My son came from a more aggressive teaching school, The teachers send out letters introducing themselves and their qualifications and I have learned that the teachers that they have also taught at the middle school, where they only have to teach one subject so with them transferring to a Elementary School where they have to teach "ALL" subjects its difficult for them to do, since they only specialize in one subject. I have noticed that the kids are behind at the school, which I feel is due to the teachers of having to teach subjects in which they don't specialize in. I feel like this is setting the kids up for failure. The teachers have a Degree in Elementary Education but don't want to be bothered by the students, and will send them home for little petty stuff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

We have had an excellent experience with Leeds Elementary so far. Our son will be starting second grade in the fall and he is truly looking forward to it! He has had great teachers there in the Kindergarten and First grades; patient and understanding, and willing to challenge and encourage him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

I have been very pleased with Leeds Elementary. My son started there last year for kindergarten where he finished the year already knowing 4th grade sight words for reading. He has enjoyed both years there so far. He looks forward to going and learning each day. My daughter receives pre-school services due to her special needs. The school system has been very accommodating. We have been impressed with all of the teachers and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I'm glad to see that my son, Bradley, in Mrs. Golden's 3rd grade class is having a great start at Leeds Elem this year. Thank all of you for your great teaching and leadership at LES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

Great school! Have friends in vestavia and mountain brook - lot's of problems comparing to us (was shocked to know). My daughter loves the school, learned a lot in less then a year. Teachers are great, superintendant is awsome - hope we'll grow into a great school district in the near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

I am so pleased with Leeds Elementary this year. The community is kept informed and involved on an on-going basis. I am so glad that art and music are integral parts of education at Leeds, as well as the highest focus on academics. My child loves attending!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

We have had ups and downs during the past five years. Everyone from the office to the classroom has been supportive and helpful. The improvement over the years has been drastic. There has been growth in parental involvment. I have witnessed a commitment to hiring great teachers when others retire, it shows investment in the children, community, and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

I am very happy with Leeds Elementary. The teachers and staff are wonderful. I have 2 children attending, and their teachers have truly cared for them and their learning. My children have excelled each year. Both my children love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2006

I am very proud of the teachers and students at Leeds Elementary School for the their hard work over the last several years. We are blessed to have devoted teachers that care about our children and their futures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2006

Leeds Elementary school has proven to be an excellent school. I have two children that attend and I am very pleased with all that the school offers. (I do wish they offered more for the
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

LES has many excellent qualities! Of these, none are more beneficial to our students than the exceptional level of quality teachers at this school. My son attends this school and has been blessed with caring, dedicated teachers year after year. Teachers like the ones at LES are blessings to parents and students way beyond the elementary years. They truly make a difference!!! Teresa Fendley Glass
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female87%
Male89%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education73%
General population89%
English language learners82%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Poverty84%
Not poverty94%

Reading

All Students86%
Female90%
Male82%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligible86%
Special education55%
General population89%
English language learners73%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Poverty81%
Not poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female82%
Male72%
Black59%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White82%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligible77%
Special education36%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Poverty70%
Not poverty90%

Reading

All Students81%
Female84%
Male78%
Black66%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education36%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Poverty74%
Not poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 58%
Black 22% 34%
Hispanic 11% 5%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Leeds Elementary School is proud to announce it has made Adequate Yearly Progress for the fourth year in a row!

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr Micheal Mckee
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (205) 699-4504

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • Leeds Elementary School is proud to announce it has made AYP for the fourth year in a row! AYP, also known as Adequate Yearly Progress, has become an important factor facing today's schools. Adequate Yearly Progress is a measure of a school's or school system's ability to meet required federal benchmarks with specific performance standards from year to year. For schools to make AYP they must meet the goals and standards set forth by the federal government under the No Child Left Behind Act. Summer Care will be provided at LES this year. Contact Sabrina Rose for additional details at 205-699-5437. As we embark upon the Phase IV Renovation of Leeds Elementary School, the school office will be open this summer in the Kindergarten section of the school to assist you in preparing for next year.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

950 Ashville Rd
Leeds, AL 35094
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 699-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT