Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Leeds High School

Public | 8-12 | 366 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2014

I currently go to LHS and it is the best school all around in the Birmingham area if you ask me. The education is really valued and lack of discipline is not tolerated whatsoever. The teachers really try to push each student to excell in their best subject and work hardto improve their worst. We get lots of ACT training and you can tell the facility is here for you. I love it. I have been in the school system my whole life and since the newer schools and change of teachers oyou could ask for a better place to raise your.child. I especially love the diversity of people


Posted April 12, 2010

I love this school! The staff is so wonderful and helpful! Much better than my child's old school, and I love the new facility!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

This school turned my child's life around!! He attended Birmingham City Schools and had numerous discipline problems, even at home. When we moved, he was put in Leeds schools, and he transformed! He says he likes the sports program. That's all the info I can get. I love Leeds!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

My kids really liked this school when they transferred in from Shades Valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

The new school is awesome!!! I was so impressed when I went to my kid's concert in the BRAND NEW AUDITORIUM in the colossal new school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

As a recient graduate of Leeds and have gone to Leeds my whole life I love Leeds. Though a few teachers here and our Principal need to go. They do not handle sticky situations very well and a few teachers are there because they have to. A few of these teachers really need to go, and hopefully since we have a new super. things will start to look up. Love Leeds, just not all the faculty
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2009

This school is the bomb. I just dont like the teachers or the principal, but the students are awesome. So yea overall the school is good. I cant wait until we get the new school. This building is kinda trashy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2008

Leeds is a great place to attend for high school. Leeds has prepared me with leadership skills, pride in what i do and to always do the best i can! these skills will be something that will stay with me forever. At leeds high school i am surrounded with other students that want to make a diiference. The teachers princpals and other students encourage and motivate you to strive to be the best. I do not believe i would be the same strong, educated, and friendly person without attending leeds high school. I love leeds so much and i can't wait to see what the new schools are going to do for the school system. I am so devoted to leeds schools, i plan to go and get a elementary education and come back and teach at leeds elementary school and hopefully become princpal one day. I love leeds!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2008

No challenge for a bright child. No encouragement for parental involvement. Very little communication from staff to parent. If you want your final report card of the year you better supply a stamp. In my opinion there is a serious lack of leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

I have grown up in Leeds, I went to Leeds High and since I have left in 2007 there have been numerous changes. The teachers there are great. The administration is very helpful and have the best attitude and outlook a student and parent could ask for, I believe. I had Coach Turner as a teacher and he was then named Assistant Principal and has helped turn Leeds high around along with Mr. Brisky whom I was not attending school when he was hired. Great strides are being reached by the faculty and staff there. As for the atmoshpere it is very home-grown. I loved it and I am sure others did and will.


Posted May 7, 2008

I love Leeds, it is really a home to me. It doesn't have the most expensive new technology, and it doesn't have the richest people you will ever meet, but it has quality and character, and it teaches it's students the same. The majority of the teachers are great and willing to help anytime, and the rest of the faculty are just bundles of joy. They have so many things that are becoming possible now for my school, and that gives us as students something to look forward to, whch personally makes me try alot harder. So please don't discourage us, or put the school down you should come feel the love too!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

I currently go to Leeds High School and i wouldn't change it fo the world. I have been to other high schools and there is no other place like Leeds. The school may be run down and no, we don't have billions of dollars to spend on it but as a student i haver never felt more safe and wanted at a school. Going to Leeds has shown me everything i know and i love it here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2007

There are many changes taking place at LHS this year. There is a new principal who is on top of everything and doing all that he can to make major improvements. Discipline, Pride and Respect are being enforced like never before in the years that my children have attended. More focus is being placed on educating and preparing the students for college. The PTA is working to get the Drama Club started again as well as other Art related programs. Support from the community, parents and City of Leeds continues to grow. New schools are being planned for the High School and Middle school. The future of this young City school system looks very bright!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2006

This school has taught me nothing. I entered college this year and was unprepared. If you have a chance to go somewhere eles do it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 17, 2006

This school is making strides to improve quality and quantity of programs offered. As more parents get involved with making it better, the quicker it will take place. Don't just point out problems, offer solutions to the principal, administration and teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 15, 2005

We are very disappointed in the quality of instruction and leadership provided by this school. Since the formation of the Leeds School District, this school has lost many programs including it's drama and school t.v. broadcast; some of the only activities that were previously available to the students. What a shame!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

66 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

94 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students96%
Female100%
Male93%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education91%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students69%
Female83%
Male57%
Black53%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education9%
General population78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Poverty61%
Non-poverty79%

Math

All Students75%
Female80%
Male70%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education36%
General population81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Poverty76%
Non-poverty74%

Reading

All Students80%
Female85%
Male75%
Black69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education55%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Poverty70%
Non-poverty92%

Social Studies

All Students58%
Female49%
Male66%
Black41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White72%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education27%
General population62%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Poverty50%
Non-poverty67%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education85%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty98%
Non-poverty97%

Language

All Students83%
Female92%
Male76%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligible86%
Special education15%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty88%

Math

All Students83%
Female92%
Male76%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligible79%
Special education15%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty88%

Reading

All Students92%
Female95%
Male91%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education54%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty97%

Social Studies

All Students90%
Female87%
Male93%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education54%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 58%
Black 33% 34%
Hispanic 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Leeds Middle School
Colleges most students attend after graduation Jacksonville State
UAB
Jefferson State Community College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Andrew J Briskey
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (205) 699-4515

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • All new students enrolling at Leeds High School must call to set up an appoint with the school counselor. All new students must have the following information prior to registration: Birth Certificate Social Security Card Up To Date Blue Immunization Form Completed Registration Packet 2 - Proof of Residency (1-Lease/Deed with name and address shown & 1-current utility bill (water, power, or gas only with name and address shown)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Leeds Middle School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Jacksonville State University
University of Alabama and UAB
Jefferson State Community College
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8404 Greenwave Dr
Leeds, AL 35094
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 699-4510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Jefferson Co Ibs
Irondale, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT