Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln High School

Public | 8-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2012

Lincoln Elementary, Drew Middle, and Lincoln High Schools are great schools! I would recommend these schools for anyone. Lincoln is a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

You can say what you want about the quality of the education at this school; but, I graduated from Lincoln with less than steller grades and went to College in Maryland. I completed a four-year degree in Aeronautics in just over two years and graduated with a 3.94 GPA. I am currently finishing up my Masters and have a 4.00 Graduate School GPA. Like most things in life, if you want a good education, you can get it. Lincoln is a small, close knit community and I love being here! They will offer it, whether or not you get it is up to you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2011

My son is a sophomore this year and I really wanna talk about the sophomore teachers. Some of them are nice, while the others are totally the OPPOSITE!!! My son told me that the teachers had bad attitudes towards him. I am not saying which teacher, but I think that teacher knows who I'm talking about. You are not treating my kids right, maybe others too. Different attitudes towards every students, not treating them the same! ( I believe my kids are not the only one) You should be regret for being a teacher cause being a teacher is such a waste for you! A teacher shouldn't be lazy for doing his work, not responsible, bad attitudes and bad teaching skills .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

My daughter went to this school last year.I was very disappointed so much we moved only after 6 weeks of school. I was not allowed to eat lunch with my child, the school requires uniforms for students, but the teachers get to wear what they want to.The staff are all very rude and disrespectful to parents.Parents are not allowed to speak to other students while on school property even if the other students make the first gesture of a hand shake or saying "Hey".When I was withdrawing my daughter, the staff was like "WHATEVER".This school doesn't welcome outsiders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

My daughter went to school ,I withdrew her from there after 6 weeks. This school is far below the schools in Georgia.My daughter was doing the same work in 12th here that she did in 10th grade in Ga.The staff and teachers are direspectful to parents.My daughter came home crying everyday because she was unhappy.I won't recommend this school to anyone. The town doesn't like outsiders either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

Im a senior at Lincoln High School that has been to many different schools in my time. I have to say Lincoln is my favorite school. Its a small school where the teachers know all their students by name and are willing to help in any way that they can. Even though they are small they still try to offer as many advanced classes as they can. I am currently taking AP Calculus and AP Biology. The food at Lincoln is also much better than any of my previous schools. Lincoln also has phenomenal athletics. We made to the third round in the football playoffs, our boys track team won state last year, and we have a two time state champion wrestler(four other boys qualified for state as well). Over all Lincoln is a great that I would recommend for anybody.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2009

I feel very fortunate to live in a community that offers such great leadership in the school system. The staff at Lincoln Elem., Drew Middle, and Lincoln High School are outstanding & are genuinely concerned with the education of the children in their care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I have two children who graduated from Lincoln High School. They both turned out fine. One is in college and the other is working. I think that parents blame school administration for entirely to much. If you feel that race, gender, or any other things are prohibiting your child from getting the best education, just think about what they will have to deal with on jobs, and college. Life will deal you obstacles, but the parent has to let the child know that the most important thing in life is your education. I gave that knowlege to my kids. Lincoln High School is not the problem.... parents must be held accountable...!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

The teachers at this school are very unfair and I have realized that they favor race. The school doesn't offer very many classes and the teachers are irresponsible. I can't move away from this school so I think I should atleast be able to get the best I can while I'm here. The students either don't get in as much trouble as they should or get punished for something they didn't do. There is no happy medium. The football team is really good, I will give them that but there really isn't much of anything else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2006

I am an graduate of lincoln high school class of 1999. My experience at lincoln was very fulfilling to my I gained alot of friends and alot of knowledge from teachers and fellow students. I am dissapointed in the comments made by some of the people saying lincoln was a bad school, the teachers there teached us everything that we where suppose to learn, dont blame lincoln blame the board of eduaction a teacher can only teach us what they learn and what they are allowed to teach us.I am applauded all teachers for there hard work and dedication to all students at talladega county. My child is a student there now, and i wouldnt send him anywhere else but to lincoln high school. So for all you people talking about the education was poor I am fine and so are everybody else who graduated from lincoln. Thanks Ms. Rivers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 1, 2005

I graduated in 2005. I believe that although the education wasn't the best, the teachers still wanted you to become the best I cuould be. Thanks to all the teachers that made my high school expierence great. Powder
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 21, 2005

as a former graduate of Lincoln High I feel as though I should share my experience. The time spent at LHS was four of the best years of my life due to the friendly 'family' environment. Although the quality of education isn't the highest in the state of Alabama,the dedicated staff strive to enhance each student academically and instill a sense of moral value to prepare them for their future. I would also like to thank coach Tyree, coach Jay, Mrs.Rivers, coach Howard, and Mrs.Phillips for the best senior year(2005,that is!) anyone could ask for!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 21, 2005

Why was it that the non-tenured teachers were fired from this school. When Lincoln was a good place for our children to recieve an education, the students were treated as 'family' now it seems there are too many chiefs and not enough indians, no discipline because the students seem to have the popular vote on policy and the teachers cannot govern the classes because of intimidation. Sure the new school built with my tax dollar is nice, but where is the education, not sex ed, lie, cheat and steal classes, sell and introduce my child drugs, alcohol, and smoking classes. This is not the education I grew up with. There was order in our classes, we learned what our books held information about, not assignments on the web, so what if my kid doesn't have a computer, online service or can get to the library by 3:30. Teachers taught, not students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2005

I graduated in 1992 and went into the Air Force. After entering a highly competitive career field in communications, I have had to use everything I learned in school at some point. I have also completed my Associates degree and working on my masters. I feel that the education that I received from Lincoln helped me more than I would have ever believed. I think that if the students in the later classes would buckle down and actually study that they would find this to also be the truth. Proudly serving SSgt Kevin L. Dulaney, USAF
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 3, 2005

I am former student (1996) and a parent, who has moved to shelby County and I have to say that after going to college, I found that I was poorly educated. I was not offered the things that other people were. I feel as if I was not fully prepared for college. Therefor it made it difficult for me in the first year to adjust. I hope things have improved since my time there, but I have chosen not send my children there to find out. Tonya
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 27, 2005

i'm not a parent but i'm a student. i have gone to lincoln schools for all of my education. i'm hurt by the ex-students bad comments. lincoln is a really good school, with very experienced staff. and this year we have a really great new principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2005

I graudated in 2004, and I am happy to say It was from lincoln. Lincoln was a 3A school so we didn't get much like 4A or 5A schools did. The Faculty are very nice, and the students are too. Lincoln is a great school to attend.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 12, 2004

This school is an okay place to finish high school.It is relatively easy and most graduates just go to JSU anyways.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2004

I would have graduated from Lincoln High in '99 but I moved away to California which I can honestly say was the best thing I have ever done. This high school is subpar in every aspect sans agriculture and their pale in insignificance to most other schools in an agricultural based region of the country. The only saving grace for the entire school was the open minded math teacher Mr. Murrell. He made the largest impact in my high school experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 29, 2003

I am actually a graduated student from the class of 1999. I have ventured out into the world and found that Lincoln High is a very poorly educated school with hardly any advanced acheivement classes. I have an advanced diploma and I find that compared to most schools that my friends have went to, Lincoln is way behind. I am disappointed to learn what I missed out on going to Lincoln High.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education82%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty97%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students84%
Female93%
Male76%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education18%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant84%
Poverty81%
Not poverty91%

Math

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black98%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education55%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty95%
Not poverty95%

Reading

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education27%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant90%
Poverty88%
Not poverty93%

Social Studies

All Students81%
Female81%
Male81%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education27%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant81%
Poverty77%
Not poverty89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students96%
Female94%
Male98%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant96%
Poverty94%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students88%
Female90%
Male85%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant88%
Poverty82%
Not poverty0%

Math

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%
Poverty93%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black0%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant96%
Poverty94%
Not poverty100%

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female86%
Male85%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant86%
Poverty81%
Not poverty95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 58%
Black 37% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

78989 Al Hwy 77
Lincoln, AL 35096
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 315-5295

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Calhoun Co Alt School
Eastaboga, AL





Pell City High School
Pell City, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT