Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2013

Very good school. Had my youngest just finish the 5th grade - two daughters total went from Kindergarten thru 5th and highly recommend it. One of our daughters has severe physical/mental disabilities and this school system has been wonderful, which is quite rare. No school is perfect, but this one is very good - we're not considering a transfer opportunity until both girls finish their school careers in Lincoln.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

My grandson attends Lincoln Elementary School and I could not be happier. He loves LES and his teachers. The Principal is the most caring, professional I have ever seen. I am so proud my grandson had the opportunity to attend Lincoln Elementary School. He is so happy and is learning so much.


Posted July 30, 2010

LES is a wonderful school! My daughter was in Kindergarten last year and learned so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

I am not sure what school the last reviewer was in - but it's not the Lincoln Elementary School I know. The teachers are extremely caring and go out of their way to help ALL the students. Administration is wonderful and positive. This is the most wonderful school in the area!!! It has consistent principles that are the basis for the positive educational environment there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL!!! This school has several problems and no one seems to care. There are teachers who have paid students to give them a massage. Some of the people who help with activities come in on drugs and the school has allowed them in and not asked them to leave or not come back. Also there has been a time when I observed a parent helping grab a child by there arm and shake him. I brought it to the attention of a teacher and they just ignored it. I know it was not that parents child or even a relative. This school and is administration seem to only care about those who have the money and not the under dogs. Your children are not safe when they are at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I must say I love LES!!! My daughter is in first grade this year and she loves it. She has learned so much that I am truly amazed... We recently transfered from Talladega City schools and the change has been wonderful. LES teachers and administration have a true love for the well being of all of the students no matter gender, race or status. Thanks for all you do!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

LES is a fabulous school! I have never been to a school this nice! The teachers work around the clock to provide students with high quality education. Thank you LES! My 5th grader will miss all of you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

i love les it is a wounderful school with very caring teachers and staff they are very equal with all the students if there are problems your kid is having they inform you and you can stay informed everyday with your kids website of what is going on in the class my kids have had only the best so far LES is great thanks so much wendy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

Overall I think Lincoln Elementary is a wonderful enviroment for my children to receive an education. The teachers are up to date on the best techniques. The NASCAR theme throughout the school reflects the local culture and, in my opinion, is the most unique and eye-catching decor of any school that I have visited in Alabama. I would just like to say to the faculty, 'Keep up the great work!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2003

I have a child who failed last year. I tried to stay in touch with the school concerning this matter, but I did not get notified of this until 2 days from the end of school. Although his mother has custody of him, I maintain involved in his education due to his learning problems. The teacher, and the school in general, seems unconcerned with the children that fall behind and concentrate more so on the children who succeed. As a parent and as a Psychology major, I know that some children benefit from one-on-one guidance along with the normal learning curriculum. I feel that positive reinforcement in a behaviorally based program will help the struggling children succeed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female79%
Male85%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Poverty78%
Not poverty94%

Reading

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Poverty85%
Not poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female86%
Male71%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White80%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education42%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Poverty76%
Not poverty89%

Reading

All Students86%
Female95%
Male73%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligible79%
Special education50%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty83%
Not poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible99%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty98%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students92%
Female96%
Male88%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Poverty90%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students90%
Female95%
Male85%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Poverty87%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 58%
Black 23% 34%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Donna Hudson
Fax number
  • (256) 315-5275

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

79001 Alabama Hwy 77
Lincoln, AL 35096
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 315-5265

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Calhoun Co Alt School
Eastaboga, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT