Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Locust Fork High School

Public | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2013

Worst school ever.They have the most unprofessional staff.It is like having children in -charge of the school.They are not people you can count on to be on top of things, and I don't know about anyone else,but when it comes to my kids,I want the job done right.You want get that from Locust Fork.DON,T SEND YOUR KIDS TO THAT SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

i went here for my 8th and half of my freshmen year and what could say about how much i loved it there.mr.smith is a great principal and mr.hughes was understanding.mr.morgan was funny i had fun going to school here because the teacher are very nice people.i meet several nice people from the school and still talk to them. i love this school i was an a-b honor roll student there.thanks to all the wonderful teachers there and mr.hughes


Posted July 14, 2012

I have attented Locust Fork for almost 13 years now. I hate to be rude, but most people who are unhappy with our school will be unhappy anywhere, because they just like to complain. The teachers I have met throughout the years have made a lasting impression on my life, and have not only gave me a sufficent education, but have helped me in any way they can outside of the classroom. This school is full of loving and caring individuals who won't nothing more than for us to succed. I am beyond proud of my community and my school; Locust Fork will forever hold a special place in my heart. People tend to be very judgemental and harsh on our school, but I can honestly say there is no other school that I would want my child to attend. I plan to reside here, and hopefully teach at Locust Fork Elementary one day soon. I feel that my teachers have given me a great education, just as well as those of other schools from different states. Any parent who has something bad to say about their childs education probably does not see the way their child attends in class. I would suggest Locust Fork High School to anyone who loves living in a small, tight knit town. I love LFHS! (:


Posted August 7, 2010

I have to "re-teach" my child a lot of material that is taught to him at school. I give my child most of the home work that he has because he comes home on most days without any. If you have a full time job and don't have the spare time to be a second teacher to your child, then please, do not send them here. Yes, there are a lot of well-meaning folks in the community; but niceness does not an education make. Sorry......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

I am a senior at Locust Fork and have been there since my 4th grade year. I feel we have a wonderful school, in a good environment. Yes, it is true that we may be some-what behind other schools, but all in all we do learn plenty. And as for Mr. Hughes being the only person who cares for us students, that is most definately not true. We have amazing teachers who care for us and treat us as their own. In fact, during my Sophmore year I had continuously had C's as well as D's, a new teacher named Ms. Matson took her planning period to tutor me, as well as other students. Since that year I have become a straight A student, and I owe it all to her. She isn't the only one either, our principals are incredible and so are all of the faculty at Locust Fork!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2009

I am a parent of three childreen one that currently attends the high school and two that are in the elementary. My opinion is that it is a great school and a wonderful community to be a part of. My children take great pride in their school. What some parents don't realize is the opportunity is there for all students. It is your job as a parent to help your child acheive to his or her full potential. I have never had an issue that was not resolved in a timely proffessional manner. I think the school has improved over the last 5 years and the assistant principle does a great job with disipline and keeping control of the school. I am very proud that my children are a part of this school and look forward to the remaining years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

In response to this parent's review of Locust Fork, I would like to disagree with how LF is 2 years below Tennessee. LF is a great school with good teachers. The state board of education and the Blount County Board of Eductaion don't adequately fund LF.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

Well i am astudent at locust fork high school and im a senior i wont say who i am. Yes it is true that the standards are a bit lower but not much. Ive been to other schools like well i wont say that will give me away but, lets just say it was another 1 in alabama and it was the same in the other state we were at the same place in every subject. The problem does not lie with the teachers they are all great except for lowery the problem is with the students./
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2007

There is one person who genuinely cares for the students at LFHS and that would be Mr.Hughes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

School lacks leadership by the staff and the quality of the education the students are receiving is far below average. Children are not taught they are babysat. I am very disappointed and know my child has not received an adequate education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2006

Not a good school. My student complained a lot about many aspects of the school. I told her to give it time to sink in, since she had just been enrolled. However, nothing improved. We moved to Locust Fork from Tennessee and my daughter is a sophomore. She told me that 10th grade standards here are the equivalent to 8th grade standards in TN. I got to see the school for myself, and I must say it doesn't seem very organized nor is it very attractive. Personally, I dislike this school. And to any parent reading this, my daughter would like to add the message; 'please don't let your kid suffer, don't make them go to LFHS!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2005

it is great school aready had two granduate one in the 5th the principal of the high school is his coach his wife is the pe coach we moved from the city to the country we love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female78%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Poverty62%
Non-poverty92%

Reading

All Students81%
Female86%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty69%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female63%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White69%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Poverty59%
Non-poverty78%

Reading

All Students73%
Female76%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White73%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Poverty67%
Non-poverty80%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2012.

78 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students74%
Female77%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Poverty63%
Non-poverty87%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

98 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

117 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education62%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty95%

Language

All Students77%
Female95%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education15%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Poverty67%
Non-poverty85%

Math

All Students69%
Female78%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White70%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education8%
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Poverty59%
Non-poverty77%

Reading

All Students81%
Female91%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education23%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty73%
Non-poverty87%

Social Studies

All Students55%
Female56%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White57%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education8%
General population61%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Poverty43%
Non-poverty65%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty96%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students90%
Female95%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty93%

Math

All Students92%
Female100%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students94%
Female98%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty97%

Social Studies

All Students90%
Female89%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty82%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 58%
Hispanic 7% 5%
Black 1% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Daniel Smith
Fax number
  • (205) 681-6175

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

77 School Rd
Locust Fork, AL 35097
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 681-7846

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Allgood Alt School
Oneonta, AL


Cleveland High School
Cleveland, AL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT