Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Madison Academy

Private | PK-12 | 860 students

Our school is best known for championship athletics

 

Living in Madison

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $181,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, October 23, 2014

This is a wonderful school. The communication between parents, faculty, and administrative staff is second to none. If you're looking to make a solid investment in your kid's future, then I highly recommend Madison Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Worst decision I've ever made. Practically homeschooled my child the entire time. I feel that I and my child were poorly treated and sought better more cost effective alternatives. I personally feel that the school isn't worth the money we paid and spent. I'm extremely disappointed! Don't waste your time or resources!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2014

Too much politics not enough teaching. Basically had to homeschool what the teachers should have been teaching and didn't! It's all about how much money they squeeze out of you for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2014

This school is what you make of it. They offer an advanced degree with some AP classes. It is true that they do not offer as large of a selection as a Bob Jones. It is a much smaller environmnet and very clicish according to church affiliation. It is much easier to have a child in different grades because they are all on the same campus. Some kids graduate from here and do as well as from anywhere else. If you are willing to pay for the convenience and you need the before and after school care, you probably can not beat it. The lower sports class allows for a more average student to make the team and still be competitive. It makes for a good environment and for those who have the income, it is a smaller setting with more convenience for those with 2 working partents. If you are a stay at home parent you can have the same if not better opportunities at a larger school for free. MA is not a God send but it did find a niche that some are willing to pay for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

The school overall is okay. My son doesn't enjoy going and he seems behind his friends who attend public schools. Also, the tuition goes up every year, it has increased 20% just since we have been there. I don't feel it is worth it any longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

My husband and I love the school and so does our daughter. She will be returning for her third year in 2013. I do wish tuition wouldn't go up every year as it may become difficult to pay much more for education in a town that has great public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2013

As a parent, I found Madison Academy to be academically sound in preparing our children for college. After graduation from MA, my son received an academic scholarship to Birmingham-Southern, and his classmates received over 3 million dollars worth of academic scholarship offers based on their ACT and SAT scores. MA is recognized as an Apple Distinguished School, awarded for demonstrating excellence and leadership in academics. I would highly recommend it as a school with the right balance between academics, extra-curricular activities, and character building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

I am completely sold on Madison Academy. Fantastic faculty! Great athletic programs! Their Apple laptop program has been a big hit with the kids. As far as I know, they are the only area school with such a program. The only drawback is that there are waiting pools in most classes.


Posted February 25, 2010

If you are looking for acedemic excellence and high standards do NOT attend Madison Academy. It is not worth the 6000+ you pay to send your child here for the limited academic oppurtunities. They have very, very few of the AP classes offered in public schools. and the few they do have are taught very poorly. They care more for their sports teams than the academic achievement of their students. They rank ALL of their students the same, so the students that take easier classes can be on the same scale as those who dont. The kids there are not very motivated to achieve high success. Very few have gone through Madison Academy have acquired the ACT score and motivation to get into an out of state school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

We couldn't be happier with our decision to place our son in Madison Academy . We've been impressed with everyone from the teachers to the principals. More importantly, I feel the school strikes a good balance being not overly religious, but focused on good values and morals. I highly recommend MA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

My son has been going to MA for 3 years. We enjoy the small classroom environment. He is very happy and well adjusted. The standards are high and the children are motivated to achieve. I wanted to send my child to the local public school but it was too crowded. My son is treated special and he is not just a number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

After moving to Huntsville, we found Madison Academy and couldn't be happier. MA is all about the right things from academics to character building. It is small enough to provide a family-friendly atmosphere and big enough to offer an enriching experience to all. WE LOVE IT! Teachers are great and staff is superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

Our daughter has attended Little Madison Academy, and we would highly recommend this school to anyone. It is the best school that we could find. She is safe, secure, and the level of learning is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

Madison Academy is a very good private school. My daughter goes to this school and we have never been happier with the results in academics. My daughter has pulled up her GPA massivly and is still going. She loves the school and the close knit family that the school provides. all the faculty and students are on name basis. Its great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 58%
Black 7% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 10% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 90% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Auburn
UA Huntsville
Harding University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Apple Distinguished School (2012)
  • Apple Distinguished School (2013)
  • Apple Distinguished School (2014)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • City of Madison Service Award for special needs (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Marching band
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Robert Burton
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Church of Christ
Associations
  • ACTA
  • NCSA
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (256) 469-6408

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
125
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
200

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$6000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Auburn
UA Huntsville
Harding University
College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
SAT/ACT prep classes
Community college courses
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 10%
4 year college - 90%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

325 Slaughter Road
Madison, AL 35758
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 469-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Premier School
Madison, AL


Columbia High School
Huntsville, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT