Advertisement
Advertisement

Madison Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Madison

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $181,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2013

The school overall is okay. My son doesn't enjoy going and he seems behind his friends who attend public schools. Also, the tuition goes up every year, it has increased 20% just since we have been there. I don't feel it is worth it any longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

My husband and I love the school and so does our daughter. She will be returning for her third year in 2013. I do wish tuition wouldn't go up every year as it may become difficult to pay much more for education in a town that has great public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2013

As a parent, I found Madison Academy to be academically sound in preparing our children for college. After graduation from MA, my son received an academic scholarship to Birmingham-Southern, and his classmates received over 3 million dollars worth of academic scholarship offers based on their ACT and SAT scores. MA is recognized as an Apple Distinguished School, awarded for demonstrating excellence and leadership in academics. I would highly recommend it as a school with the right balance between academics, extra-curricular activities, and character building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

I am completely sold on Madison Academy. Fantastic faculty! Great athletic programs! Their Apple laptop program has been a big hit with the kids. As far as I know, they are the only area school with such a program. The only drawback is that there are waiting pools in most classes.


Posted February 25, 2010

If you are looking for acedemic excellence and high standards do NOT attend Madison Academy. It is not worth the 6000+ you pay to send your child here for the limited academic oppurtunities. They have very, very few of the AP classes offered in public schools. and the few they do have are taught very poorly. They care more for their sports teams than the academic achievement of their students. They rank ALL of their students the same, so the students that take easier classes can be on the same scale as those who dont. The kids there are not very motivated to achieve high success. Very few have gone through Madison Academy have acquired the ACT score and motivation to get into an out of state school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

We couldn't be happier with our decision to place our son in Madison Academy . We've been impressed with everyone from the teachers to the principals. More importantly, I feel the school strikes a good balance being not overly religious, but focused on good values and morals. I highly recommend MA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

My son has been going to MA for 3 years. We enjoy the small classroom environment. He is very happy and well adjusted. The standards are high and the children are motivated to achieve. I wanted to send my child to the local public school but it was too crowded. My son is treated special and he is not just a number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

After moving to Huntsville, we found Madison Academy and couldn't be happier. MA is all about the right things from academics to character building. It is small enough to provide a family-friendly atmosphere and big enough to offer an enriching experience to all. WE LOVE IT! Teachers are great and staff is superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

Our daughter has attended Little Madison Academy, and we would highly recommend this school to anyone. It is the best school that we could find. She is safe, secure, and the level of learning is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

Madison Academy is a very good private school. My daughter goes to this school and we have never been happier with the results in academics. My daughter has pulled up her GPA massivly and is still going. She loves the school and the close knit family that the school provides. all the faculty and students are on name basis. Its great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 56%
Black 13% 38%
Asian 5% N/A
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of christ
Associations
  • NCSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

325 Slaughter Rd
Madison, AL 35758
Phone: (256) 971-1632

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Columbia High School
Huntsville, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT