Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
860 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Madison Academy 1

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
I transferred my three children into this school from another private school in this area thinking it would be a safe and academic environment seeing this is a Christian School. The academics are not up to par to National standards - this was our first disappointment, I have had to enroll my children in outside extra curricular math just to keep them learning and moving forward verses staying stagnant. The biggest disappointment is how this school allows bullying to occur. We have learned this school offers scholarships to kids based on their athletic ability, thus if these children are bullies they receive no discipline and rather are very protected. My son has been bullied by one child since we have been their this year, I have had multiple documented meetings with his teacher as well as the lower school principle and each time the outcome is the bully has been protected. I do not recommend this school to anyone searching for high academics nor a truly Christian environment in which bullying is not tolerated. We will not return next year - it is not worth the money.

Madison Academy 1

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
They have no discipline set up for school bullies. The new principle is not effective. She has added common core math that has everyone confused and wondering why we are paying for this private school when it's the equivalent of public school.


Madison Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 18, 2015
- a student
This school is a waste of time and money. All they do is load you up with homework, and don't even teach it. My dad has to teach me everything when I get home, as if I am home schooled. I used to be a A's and B's student. Now it is a real struggle, I am borderline B's and I get C's/D's simetimes. First day of school I was about 1 minute late, and all they did was complain about me being late. This school was the worst decision of my life. PLEASE DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL

Madison Academy 5

Posted July 16, 2015
- a student
Great teachers and students. DE and AP classes are available. Great facilities. Also great athletics with awesome coaches

Madison Academy 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a student
I absolutely love Madison Academy! As a student, I can tell you that the school challenges me academically as well as spiritually. Some people think that because the school is Church of Christ affiliated, their child might not be treated the same way as all the other children, but that simply is not true. I am not Church of Christ, but I find that it does not hinder me in anyway. A student's experience here is what they make of it, not what others make of it for them. My favorite thing about this school is its love of Christ. We are really just one big family who can join together and worship him not only in chapel, but also in the classroom. Many teachers and coaches desire a personal relationship with each student, and they strive to help their students reach their academic and spiritual goals everyday. If you want your child to be challenged academically, athletically, and spiritually, than Madison Academy is by far the best place for your child. The price may be steep, but I truly think it is worth it.


Madison Academy 5

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The communication between parents, faculty, and administrative staff is second to none. If you're looking to make a solid investment in your kid's future, then I highly recommend Madison Academy.

Madison Academy 1

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
Worst decision I've ever made. Practically homeschooled my child the entire time. I feel that I and my child were poorly treated and sought better more cost effective alternatives. I personally feel that the school isn't worth the money we paid and spent. I'm extremely disappointed! Don't waste your time or resources!

Madison Academy 1

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Too much politics not enough teaching. Basically had to homeschool what the teachers should have been teaching and didn't! It's all about how much money they squeeze out of you for everything.


Madison Academy 4

Posted August 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is what you make of it. They offer an advanced degree with some AP classes. It is true that they do not offer as large of a selection as a Bob Jones. It is a much smaller environmnet and very clicish according to church affiliation. It is much easier to have a child in different grades because they are all on the same campus. Some kids graduate from here and do as well as from anywhere else. If you are willing to pay for the convenience and you need the before and after school care, you probably can not beat it. The lower sports class allows for a more average student to make the team and still be competitive. It makes for a good environment and for those who have the income, it is a smaller setting with more convenience for those with 2 working partents. If you are a stay at home parent you can have the same if not better opportunities at a larger school for free. MA is not a God send but it did find a niche that some are willing to pay for.

Madison Academy 2

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
The school overall is okay. My son doesn't enjoy going and he seems behind his friends who attend public schools. Also, the tuition goes up every year, it has increased 20% just since we have been there. I don't feel it is worth it any longer.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Madison Academy
325 Slaughter Road, Madison, AL  35758
(256) 469-6400
Last modified Madison Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Madison Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top