Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
860 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Madison Academy 2

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
It is my opinion that the new Elementary Principal, School President and leadership personnel have sent MA into a tailspin. The school seems to have lost its way since changes are being made for the sake of distancing the new leadership from the old. Sometimes new/different is not better. Academics have suffered greatly...most of this school year, my child has simply reviewed content learned in the previous grade. It appears that the teachers are trying to keep up with all the changes made by MA school leaders...including major curriculum changes. In fairness, some of the curriculum seems promising. Unfortunately, there were so many changes made in a short period (not just curriculum changes), the teachers appear to be overwhelmed. Also, there does seem to be a discipline issue that goes unchecked since attention is focused elsewhere. The current leadership seems to be mainly focused on efforts that would enhance recruitment (how things look from the outside) not focusing on current student needs...MA needs to return to what made the school so great (core values including strong academics, character building and accountability).

Madison Academy 5

Posted February 23, 2016
- a student
I went to school at Madison Academy from kindergarten through 12th grade. I am now in college, and I can honestly say that I am thankful that I was able to go to Madison Academy. Now that I am in college, I miss the Christian environment and the teachers who actually cared about me. As a junior in college with a 4.0 GPA, I know that Madison Academy gave me what I needed to be succeussful in college. Not only am I able to handle the academics in college, but I have also been able to stay strong in my faith.


Madison Academy 1

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
I transferred my three children into this school from another private school in this area thinking it would be a safe and academic environment seeing this is a Christian School. The academics are not up to par to National standards - this was our first disappointment, I have had to enroll my children in outside extra curricular math just to keep them learning and moving forward verses staying stagnant. The biggest disappointment is how this school allows bullying to occur. We have learned this school offers scholarships to kids based on their athletic ability, thus if these children are bullies they receive no discipline and rather are very protected. My son has been bullied by one child since we have been their this year, I have had multiple documented meetings with his teacher as well as the lower school principle and each time the outcome is the bully has been protected. I do not recommend this school to anyone searching for high academics nor a truly Christian environment in which bullying is not tolerated. We will not return next year - it is not worth the money.

Madison Academy 1

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
They have no discipline set up for school bullies. The new principle is not effective. She has added common core math that has everyone confused and wondering why we are paying for this private school when it's the equivalent of public school.

Madison Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 18, 2015
- a student
This school is a waste of time and money. All they do is load you up with homework, and don't even teach it. My dad has to teach me everything when I get home, as if I am home schooled. I used to be a A's and B's student. Now it is a real struggle, I am borderline B's and I get C's/D's simetimes. First day of school I was about 1 minute late, and all they did was complain about me being late. This school was the worst decision of my life. PLEASE DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL


Madison Academy 5

Posted July 16, 2015
- a student
Great teachers and students. DE and AP classes are available. Great facilities. Also great athletics with awesome coaches

Madison Academy 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a student
I absolutely love Madison Academy! As a student, I can tell you that the school challenges me academically as well as spiritually. Some people think that because the school is Church of Christ affiliated, their child might not be treated the same way as all the other children, but that simply is not true. I am not Church of Christ, but I find that it does not hinder me in anyway. A student's experience here is what they make of it, not what others make of it for them. My favorite thing about this school is its love of Christ. We are really just one big family who can join together and worship him not only in chapel, but also in the classroom. Many teachers and coaches desire a personal relationship with each student, and they strive to help their students reach their academic and spiritual goals everyday. If you want your child to be challenged academically, athletically, and spiritually, than Madison Academy is by far the best place for your child. The price may be steep, but I truly think it is worth it.

Madison Academy 5

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The communication between parents, faculty, and administrative staff is second to none. If you're looking to make a solid investment in your kid's future, then I highly recommend Madison Academy.


Madison Academy 1

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
Worst decision I've ever made. Practically homeschooled my child the entire time. I feel that I and my child were poorly treated and sought better more cost effective alternatives. I personally feel that the school isn't worth the money we paid and spent. I'm extremely disappointed! Don't waste your time or resources!

Madison Academy 1

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Too much politics not enough teaching. Basically had to homeschool what the teachers should have been teaching and didn't! It's all about how much money they squeeze out of you for everything.

Nearby schools

Madison Academy
325 Slaughter Road, Madison, AL  35758
(256) 469-6400
Last modified Madison Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top