Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
469 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St John The Baptist Catholic School 5

Posted May 05, 2015
- a community member
I am an eighth grader at this school, and I can tell you right now that my classmates are wrong. They all say the teachers are terrible. They say that because the teachers are trying to get them to LEARN. What a horrible objective. To me, this school is the best school ever. They only give us homework when it actually reinforces the learning rather than repeating it, and the curriculum is set over many areas of knowledge. The middle school math and science teachers especially are phenomenal. What my classmates say is not relevant. They just can't wait for high school, and they take out their frustration on their current school's reputation. Sending your children here is a guarantee for success in their future.

St John The Baptist Catholic School 1

Posted December 16, 2014
- a community member
This school is one of the worst. I am not pleased with the curriculum whatsoever. I have been wuth them for eight and a half years now, the decline of the standard has gone down immensely. 1/10 would not school again.


St John The Baptist Catholic School 5

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
St. Johns is an amazing school! Both of my children are thriving. Their teachers challenge them on a daily basis. They come home happy and are eager to learn. The principal and her staff are all extremely professional and love the children. I can not imagine my children anywhere else. I do not have to worry who their teacher will be the following grade because ALL of the teachers are well qualified, friendly and have a true joy for teaching!

St John The Baptist Catholic School 1

Posted September 20, 2014
- a community member
This school feels like we are in jail! We have uniforms, which I understand, and we have no freedom. Im an eighth grade and have gone to St. Johns since kindergarten. Elementary school was fine but middle school was horrible. If you are thinking about sending your kid to St. Johns please reconsider because your child will have no fun and will come home everyday depressed.

St John The Baptist Catholic School 5

Posted October 12, 2013
- a parent
We have been very pleased with St. John's! My son is thriving there, academically, spiritually, and socially. Every one of his teachers has simply been outstanding.


St John The Baptist Catholic School 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
St. John's is an amazing school. Students are taught on the level at which they are capable and teachers will challenge them if the student needs to be pushed based on what is shown in the classroom, not what a parent dictates. Students are taught high academics and also guided in their faith, attending a school Mass will show you that students are learning self discipline and respect. Technology is always expanding at the school. Teachers do not have tenure and must work at their best at all times. The principal makes her expectations known at all times and knows that most issues are black and white, but sometimes all lines are blurred and need a case by case decision. The Vice Principal does come across as cold and demanding, but she does help the curriculum stay consistent. The school is amazing, but as with all schools....students must be involved in the classroom and other activities and so must their parents. St. John's has created the environment for learning, but it is up to the students and parents to take advantage of all the opportunities. I can't imagine my children anywhere else.

St John The Baptist Catholic School 5

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
Moving my son to St. Johns last fall from one of the Madison City Schools was simply the best decision I have ever made for him! He is so happy. His reading and writing improved instantly. He is already asking me to stay there through 8th grade! The staff is friendly and professional and everything is super organized. I was given the chance to get involved almost instantly. If you are looking for an excellent private school in Madison St. Johns is top notch and well worth the money spent!

St John The Baptist Catholic School 5

Posted February 22, 2013
- a parent
My daughter began St. Johns last fall after attending a Madison City School. Her morale immediately changed. Her interest in learning and grades immediately improved. Communication is open. Emails are answered the same day. Parents are extremely involved. All of the teachers are prefessionals. The principal greeted us with open arms and is very friendly. My daughters favorite subject is religon. We feel like it is MONEY WELL SPENT and have nothing but a warm feeling about her upcoming years at St. Johns!!


St John The Baptist Catholic School 5

Posted February 22, 2013
- a parent
We transferred our daughter to St. Johns last fall after being in a Madison City School. Her morale improved instantly. Her enthusiam for learning and grades improved quickly. It was one of the best decisions we have ever made for her. She loves school, her peers and her teacher. Her favorite subject is religion. Mrs. Lewis the principal welcomed us with open arms and is very prefessional. She is no fluff, sets high standards, addresses problems head on but that is exactly how a principal needs to be. Her students are happy and you can tell she truely cares for them. As a result of her efforts they come out as winners. The teachers are all professional, the staff is friendly, the parents are super involved and I have nothing but a warm feeling inside when I drop my daughter off there and look forward to hopefully many more years at this school. It is WELL WORTH THE MONEY!!!

St John The Baptist Catholic School 5

Posted April 03, 2012
- a parent
We are sending our child back to St. John's after trying out the Madison public school system for a year. The academics at St. John's are solid and most of all, the school teaches self-discipline and respect which is severely lacking in the public school system. We feel the tuition spent at St. John's is a good value and an important investment in the personal and spiritual development of our child. Mrs. Lewis does a great job as principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St John The Baptist Catholic School
1057 Hughes Road, Madison, AL  35758
(256) 722-0772
Last modified St John The Baptist Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St John The Baptist Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top