Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Elementary School

Public | K-7 | 690 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 30, 2008

I love this school and so do my children. We moved here this summer from another state with horrible school and very mean teachers and children. I feel blessed that we found Madison, Alabama and Heritage Elementary. My children are safe, they are treated well, they are getting a good education and the school is very welcoming and friendly. Our house just sold and we are in search of another. I hope and pray every day that something will come on the market in the Heritage district so that my children never have to go to another school. I understand everyone can have a different experience at the same school but if you knew what we have gone through in the past 2 years at the previous school you would be counting your blessing at Heritage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

This is a very 'political' school, meaning the families/students with the most money are treated superior to the other families/students who simply have a mediocre income. My child suffered injuries on two seperate occasions from a larger and much older child. The principal is a great leader and person, however, if there is any type of incident, it seems that both children are punished. Consequently, we have moved out of this school district and my child has not been in any type of altercation whatsoever. Also, unlike at Heritage, I have been called upon many times to volunteer. It seems at the new school it does not matter what economic status you hold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

Three out of my four children have attended Heritage Elementary. It is a wonderful school. The teachers are great and principal, Dr. Davenport is awesom! I have only one problem , the morning traffic. I know there has got to be a better solution! I know Madison is growing rapidly, but its ridiculous! Madison's poor planning is evident in this regard! To make matters only worse, sitting in a car line a mile long to drop my kids off at school, six Madison city police officers, weren't helping direct traffic, they were trying to catch people speeding! I mean really! What a senseless operation! Get it together Madison City!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

The extreme growth has degraded the school. It is currently loaded with portables. The school does a good job of teaching the requirements for state testing. If your child is a high performer, do not expect this school to challenge them. The curriculum is designed to bring children up to (or down to) the average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

The Principal is the backbone of any school. Dr. Davenport I have been paying her some attention she is a true Professional. I notice different situation that she had to handled and I must say I was impressed. Just keep in mind it's not easy dealing with highly rich educated People who think they know it all . Beside, Your Kids Education tells it all, she doing what she need to do. Just keep this in your mind your job description is parent. Dr. Davenport is the one that's keeping your little rich kids on track in that school. Now for all of the parents that don't have a 9 to 5 please find one. Dr. Davenport is very involved with the welfare of the children. Now let her continue to make are Kids Shine. Fifth Grade Mom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

Teachers go beyond the call of duty and the principal as well as the assistants put children first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

Excellent! I have two children and all of their teachers have been phenomenal and their test scores reiterate this. The principal is a dedicated, top-notch professional who knows the kids and definitely cares about the kids. She spends countless hours doing research to better the education provided by Heritage in addition to the rigorous schedule of day to day operations. Our family transferred from a good school out of state to find that Heritage was much more challenging. Parent involvement at Heritage is another great quality. Keep it up Heritage!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

This is our second year at Heritage and we are very pleased. We have only experienced one issue of a behavior/discipline problem, last year, and it was acted on by the staff and rectified immediately. From what I have noticed, Dr. Davenport seems to be quite involved with the welfare of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

Agree with the other posting about the principal. She appears to be polished and quite impressed with her principal status. Most parents wonder about her true academic/leadership ability, especially since she holds a Ph D.. Discipline problems at the school are usually handled by punishing the innocent along with the guilty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2007

I think this school is overrated! The principal is very busy trying to make everyone believe there are no problems here instead of addressing the problems. Some of the teachers are wonderful, but again a lot of the problems are just swept under the rug to maintain the 'Five star shcool of Excellence' reputation that they love to flash.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2006

Personally, I think the school is overrated. When it comes to actually teaching the children, I don't think the school is any better than the other schools in Madison County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

The school is generally well run and is the best in the HSV area---compare the scores and you'll see. Recommend you manage your expectations though. We came here from a great school district so we were a little skeptical about the quality of instruction. The principal is hands on, but is a 'look good, be good' type. She understands that test scores matter and shows the appropriate interest in making sure the kids are prepared. The teachers vary greatly in quality. Some are outstanding, others should have retired years ago. We struggle with newsletters that come home with misspelled words and incorrect word usage. Now for the good news---our kids are generally happy and well adjusted at the school. On balance it's a good school, but watch the teachers closely. Most parents are well educated and set high standards. Your kids will be happy, just keep an eye on their teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

This school is fine as long as you get a good teacher. If you find yourself with a teacher you are less than satisfied with then that is when you will have trouble. The principal will not allow you to change teachers at your request regardless of the situation if it involves the teacher. What happened to the days when children came first and doing what is write for them and their well being with out all the bureaucratic garbage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2006

The school has excellent 1st grade teachers, they are very professional and they do care about the progress and behaviour of each of kids. Face to face meetings with teachers are very informative and accurate, teachers do tell parents how the kids are doing and where the teachers see concerns. E.mail exchange with teachers has been a great tool for information exchange with our kid's teachers. My kids have improved since they joined Heritage Elementary and besides this they've liked it. The school sets a high standard in different areas such as discipline and cleanliness. School's website allows parents be aware of how kids are performing. Overall I am very satisfied with the school. Parents should support more the school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

My children love Heritage. They have learned alot.The Character Education Program is wonderful. They have the best administrators and teachers. They work well together to provide a very positive environment. The teachers do curriculum compacting to give everyone a challenge at their level. They use small group instruction in math and reading. My children are in 1st and 4th grade. They have really learned a lot from the hands on experiences in math and science. My daughter talks about the principal alot and how she smiles all day and give positive RAM tickets to them for good behavior in the hall. The assistant principal is also helpful along with everyone else and the office staff. I'm glad my children go to school where they are challenged and happy.It's nice going to work each day knowing their safe and learning at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

Great school, very involved and caring staff. My daughter started K and she loved it, felt very comfortable w/ her teachers and surroundings-very clean too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2005

My children loved Heritage Elementary. The curriculum was challenging and offered them a well rounded education. I was especially impressed with the leadership of the Principal. Discipline is enforced with lots of care and love. I wish my children could spend all of their 12 years at Heritage Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

The school has an outstanding set of teachers. However one big weakness is the School Administration. The leadership have a terrible relationship with the teachers. They come across as very disinterested in the kids as a whole, which is ironic since the business of elementary education IS the kids. If you are moving to Madison, avoid Heritage and attend either Madison Elementary or Horizon Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

We love this school! Being military we move and change schools quite often. I feel that we were lucky to get Heritage Elementary. My children have felt welcomed, the school has diversity, and I am happy with the academic programs they offer. My daughter is in 5th grade and she loves the science and the math...which was a bit challenging for her, but she has pulled an A in that class. My son is in the 2nd grade and is doing very well and actually looks forward to going to school. The school lunches are awesome and offer a healthy selection. The principal is A+ all the way. She addresses the issues and gets to the bottom of things. My husband is deployed to Afghanistan and the teachers are very supportive of my children. I am very pleased as a parent that my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2004

I had children in a local private school that was highly regarded. This school has exceeded my high expectations for a public school. The principal has done a terrific job bringing along and I think the children that have the benefit of 6 years will go on junior, senior high and excell. The school has a diverse population of students
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female89%
Male88%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education84%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Poverty83%
Not poverty89%

Reading

All Students95%
Female98%
Male93%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education84%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty83%
Not poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
Black60%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education75%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Poverty74%
Not poverty91%

Reading

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education92%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty87%
Not poverty99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White2%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty96%
Not poverty2%

Reading

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty85%
Not poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Poverty76%
Not poverty98%

Reading

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty76%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White2%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty89%
Not poverty3%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 58%
Black 25% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 1%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 am
School end time
  • 2:40 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Georgina Pipes Nelson
Fax number
  • (256) 772-6580

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11775 County Line Rd
Madison, AL 35758
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 772-2075

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT