Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Columbia Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
There are several amazing teachers; these are the ones you can just tell by how they interact with their students.

Columbia Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
Some are amazing; but the bad outnumber the good by a lot. The biggest qualifier for the teachers is if they went to the city's high school.


Columbia Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
It averages out; some teachers give no homework, while others give way too much. Homework is usually irrelevant to kids; bunch of test prep.

Columbia Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
It's the highly educated parents; not columbia that instill this. Kids are competitive; but is that always good?

Columbia Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
Once again, it's hard for kids to respect teachers and others when teachers don't respect them. Respect is a two-way street.


Columbia Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
Kids go wild in most settings; especially lunch. Some teachers are kind and their students reflect this.

Columbia Elementary School 1

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
This school has poor teacher/student, teacher/parent, & administration/parent relationships. There's a lot of negative teachers who don't like children or people in general. We have had a few good teachers; but the bad outweigh the good by a lot. Test scores are great because parents are highly educated & parents are forced to make kids do a lot of test prep homework. Principal thinks teachers can do no wrong. It's really sad that he respects my husband more than me & will respond to him simply because he's a man. We bought our home in this district because of previous good administration, and now we wish we were elsewhere. It's a shame that our kids' childhoods are spent at this school. One in particular killed my daughter's happy spirit. Other schools in area are much better!

Columbia Elementary School 1

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
Pros: some great experienced teachers. Assistant principal is wonderful. Lots of great extracurricular activities. Cons: A LOT of new teachers who don't like children & are unprofessional. Principal doesn't handle situations or care. Office staff is unfriendly.


Columbia Elementary School 1

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
There is a very small group of good, qualified teachers at this school. However, most of them are fresh out of college and inexperienced. They lack the basic knowledge and professionalism to do their jobs effectively. The teachers do not even appear to like children. The main qualifications for hiring teachers at this school and this system are that they attended the local high school and/or are the relative of someone in the system. Bob Jones grads and Madison County system admin apply only please. Nepotism and favoritism are rampant throughout Madison City! There are three pairs of mother/daughter teachers at this school alone! The communication from administration down is atrocious! Emails are not returned and requests for conferences are questioned. There have been four principals within the last five years. Our current principal is disingenuous at best. This is his first year as a principal and he does not have an elementary background. By far, this is the worst school and system that my children have attended. The belief MCS hires the best, most experienced teachers and administrators as well as is one of the top educational systems in our area is a myth!

Columbia Elementary School 1

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
The facility is nice, but I WOULD NOT recommend. My son's first grade teach, Kim Adams, was absolutely HORRIBLE! I went to the principal hoping to get a resolution with my problem, but he WAS NO help at all.

Nearby schools

Columbia Elementary School
667 Balch Rd, Madison, AL  35758
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (256) 430-2751
Last modified Columbia Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top