Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Horizon Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
We have had problems with this school system in the past and are waiting to see how this year goes.

Horizon Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
With all the problems we have had with the school System. We are waiting to see how this school year goes.


Horizon Elementary School 2

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
No communication between parents and school. No understanding of students special needs. No help from school system.

Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Horizon is a wonderful school for my granddaughter. She learned a great deal this year and that "light" appeared toward math and reading. I'm not 100% sure it was a light, but, I am sure that her teacher, Mrs. Coker, did a marvelous job, providing my granddaughter knowledge and skills to excel to the next grade. Thank you Mrs. Coker.

Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
My 2 oldest attend horizon and both havr IEP, s. The special ed department along with the amazing staff have worked so hard to help my children. Tesa hernandez is by far one of the best educators I have ever had the pleasure of working with. The school is top notch from the administration to the PTA. Thank you ALL for the selfless commitment you have to my children! !!


Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
Have the utmost respect for Horizon! They consistently hold the children to high standards while allowing them to function outside the box to assist in meeting their individual needs. The teachers and administrators are top notch. Mr Richardson has always been responsive to any issues. Special needs staff are phenomenal. Curriculum is appropriate and tailored to become more challenging as needed. Lots of energy and planning goes into preparing 5th and 6th graders for the middle school transition. My older son attended 6 years and my youngest son will have attended K-6. We have 1&1/3 year left there and this makes me sad. I can't say enough about our positive experience at Horizon Elementary!

Horizon Elementary School 3

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
My children assisted this school for 2 years until just 2 months in to the 2012-2013 school year. I have nothing, but praise for Mrs. Hern ndez! She is the best 4th grade teacher yourchild could have and Mrs. Segrest is another great example of what a really good teacher is all about. Unfortunately my son's second grade teacher Mrs. Chance ruined most of the good vision that I had of this school. Although, I will not generalize just because of one. Never had my son had ANY sort of problems in school, but for some reason she would portray him as the most awful student there was. My son always loved going to school, that is until he started second grade with this teacher. My family and I moved to another location not within the school zone, week later, she had already notified the prinicipal in order to have them removed from this school. But you know what? THANK YOU MRS. CHANCE! Because now thanks to you my kids are in an awesome school enviornment, with REALLY great teachers who have nothing but praises for both of them and have gained great friends. My son is back to loving to go to school :) If you are able to have your child assist any school, it should be Heritage Elementary!

Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2012
- a parent
My son and i love this school! They offer so many opportunities for the students. The staff are understanding of each childs needs. You can easily walk in and be greeted and and helped with accordingly. They have and offer higher standards than most schools in the area that I have looked into. The staff teaches the students valuable lifes lessons as well as following up with them after they leave school for the afternoon. The parental involvment with this school is tremendous! And it wouldnt be as great as it is without them! Thank you for a fine establishment as well as a benefit to the students overall needs!


Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted December 23, 2011
- a parent
My kids love it and so do we. I have three kids going there and we've loved each of the teachers they've had. The gifted teacher, Ms Bero, introduces the kids to lots of opportunities and subjects. I've never seen any discipline issues. All of the kids there seem to fit in and seem to be learning at the appropriate level if not higher.

Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2011
- a parent
My daughter just finished 6th grade at Horizon. We moved to Madison in 1991 and we saw Horizon built from ground up. We sticked around our house because we want to make sure when we have children, they will go to Horizon. It has been an excellent experience. My daughter is not the top, but she score 10th grade reading when she is only 3rd grade. When she finished 6th grade this year, I bought the 7th and 8th grade Math text book and she is able to answer the questions with little assistance. Parental involvement /support and PTA are great. Ms Johnson (parent), Ms. Green (parent), Ms. Rock (parent) help Ms. Vandagriff coach the Math team. The team won several awards. Ms. Bero does an excellent job for the ACE students. The Principals (all of them that is or were in office while my daughter is in Horizon) are great leaders. The teachers are all great. They all have different styles, but they are all well versed with their subject matter and enforce strict rules. Could not think of anything bad to say about the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horizon Elementary School
7855 Old Madison Pk, Madison, AL  35758
(256) 464-3614
Last modified Horizon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Horizon Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top