Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bob Jones High School

Public | 9-12 | 2162 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2013

My high school was Bob Jones High School, and I absolutely loved it! The principal is an amazing guy, you would never hear a negative word about him. I am proud to be a Bob Jones Patriot!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2013

Bob Jones High School is just great. I have a brother who got a half-time scholarship from track just after one year and he is now a senior in a college in KY. I was at Bob Jones for my freshman year then transferred to another school in Harvest (will not state) and Bob Jones had twice the amount of AP and advanced classes then the other school. I had transferred late at the school in Harvest and the teachers did not help at all when I asked for help. I did unexceptionally horrible there. So I think I had made the best choice of my teen years and went back to Bob Jones. I'm not just saying this because it seems like everyone does and as if I wanna quack like a duck too but I HIGHLY recommend this school to ANYONE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2012

I'm both a Bob Jones teacher and a parent of two current students and a BJHS graduate. This is, hands down, the absolute best school I've ever seen. The students are well behaved and conscientious, the academics are top notch, and the teachers truly care about student well being and the quality of instruction that they bring to the table. We ask a lot of our students and they deliver.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 3, 2012

Hey! I graduated from Bob Jones in 2009, I went to three different high schools and Bob Jones was my favorite. Mr. Parker is always involved and always walking the halls. The teachers are beyond awesome. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2011

I moved to Madison, Alabama during my junior year because of my father's job. When I moved to Bob Jones High School, I was really impressed with what they had done. A lot of parents complain about how the school is too small, their children not being able to get proper help from teachers, their children not fitting in with other students, and finally transferring them to a different school. However, I came from Lawrenceville, GA. The schools I have transferred to in Georgia had just as many, if not more students and there was still absolutely no problem for a student to get help from their teachers. While attending Bob Jones, I also noticed that those who complained about getting horrible grades were the ones that simply would not ask questions during, after, or even before class. Now the bit with the parents who moved their children because they cannot fit in. That is just plain asinine and horse hockey. Within the first week of moving to Bob Jones High School area, I managed to become friends with almost the whole school. Bob Jones is an absolutely great school, and the parents that complain need to actually attend the school first instead of simply listening to their children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2011

Bob Jones is a remarkable school. I graduated with a scholarship, simply because I found my niche. This is open to all students, and none are neglected. I have spoken with students complaining about F's, but they never once sought help from the teacher. It is not the teacher's job(as they are preparing you for college) to offer assistance. I have also witnessed a new student be rejected by the crowd that "looks like them", but refuse to even try to talk to the rest of us. The techies wore black in preparation of a show, but we were overlooked by new students, almost as if they were afraid of us. I even made efforts to befriend a new student, who took one look at the stage paint on my pants and decided I wasn't good enough for her time. I offered her a glimpse into one of the many "families" at BJ and she turned up her nose. A week or so later, I found out that she had switched schools, claiming that no one would speak to her. So, knowing this, parents should experience life at BJ for themselves before making irrational claims on behalf of their children, when, in fact, those students refused to put forth an effort in "fitting in" or excelling in their studies.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2011

Moving to area because of BRAC. A counselor was 20 min late for appointment. During the meeting, counselor told my wife that if people like you guys would quit moving to Madison, we would not have the problems that we are having.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

Two of my sons have graduated from BJHS. It truly is a fantastic school. The principal, Mr. Parker, is exceptional and a number of teachers (chemistry, drama, german, spanish, landscape design, counseling) were personally involved in their lives, not just for academics. BJHS excels in band, drama, foreign langauge, athletics and core academics. My experience has found 12+ graduates per year were awarded National Merit Scholar. Every school has areas to improve, but BJHS was everything I wanted in a high school for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2010

I attended bob jones all 3 years and had an excellent experience.There are a few places that need improvement. It is easy to get looked over by the administration if you're not normally in the office but most people don't get further in life by knowing the principal by first name. The school is crowded but THAT IS NOT THE SCHOOL'S FAULT. That has to do with the school system.The teachers are top notch for the most part . I felt that sending me to BJHS was one of the smartest things my parents ever did. Bob Jones does have clicks, JUST LIKE EVERY OTHER HIGH SCHOOL IN AMERICA! The school is so well off because the parents in madison work hard and there is one HS. BJ deserves the great reputation it has.


Posted June 15, 2010

As a graduate of the school, I feel like I was excluded from the purpose of instruction. The teachers were concerned about their favorites and the smart kids. Kids that struggled and begged for help never got it. I wish I had attended another, less consumed institution.


Posted April 1, 2010

An excellent school with great staff and amazing activities such as drama band and chorus.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2010

I graduated 3 years ago from Bob Jones High School. While I was there, I did not know how lucky I was to attend a school like BJHS. I am in my third year of college, and there are still people who say, 'You went to Bob Jones? Wow you're lucky!' There were so many opportunities at BJHS and it was nearly impossible to not find your 'niche.' I would not trade my education at BJHS for anything, and am forever grateful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2010

The school is over crowded and given to much credit. The only reason it performs is because it has money and a million kids. I sent my child to this school for her sophomore year and I transferred her to Buckhorn to finish out high school. Bob Jones is a GREAT school don't get me wrong, but there is just too many kids and the commounity is very closed minded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

The school excels in most areas, education, athletics and takes a lot of honors. Originally to have been named for James Record, former Alabama State Senator and Madison County Commission Chairman, Record suggested that it be named after U.S. Representative Robert. B. Jones. Bob Jones is now the largest school in Alabama it is widely reported and a second school in Madison will be built to ease the over crowding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Voted in the Newsweek Magazine for the 3rd. year in a row in the top 10% of the schools in the nation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

I think the school is way over crowded. My daughter hated going every morning, because she said there were too many clicks at the school. I eventually moved her to a new school were she loves going and the kids and staff are more friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

I graduated from BJHS in 2007 and feel that I had a very well-rounded high school experience. I was able to take advantage of honors classes and AP courses that paved the way for my success in college As some other reviews have mentioned, most students do choose to take advantage of advanced college-prep courses. I did feel obligated to take AP classes. However, if it were not for the expectation to do so, and the high standard of excellence, I would never have known my potential. After taking academically demanding classes at BJHS, transitioning to college level classes was no big deal. The teachers are amazing and most have master s degrees. Bob Jones has very highly qualified teaching staff, and National Board Certified teachers in all departments. . BJHS has a variety of electives to choose from, so that students can explore their interests. The after school activities for clubs and sports are almost overwhelming in the number of things a student can get involved in. There enough things to get involved in at BJHS, that there is a niche somewhere for every students to fit in! Madison City does need to build another high school because of overcrowding, and I believe that plans are in the works. When I attended we had approximately 1,500 students and now the numbers are closer to 2,000. (At one point there was an attempt to make staircases either up-only or down-only to control the traffic.) My favorite classes at BJHS were Physics with Mr. Duvall (former engineer turned educator), Choir with Mr. Fields, AP English with Mrs. Boggs, and Calculus with Ms. Tartar(she could probably make a pet rock be able to understand the material because she was so good at teaching)!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2009

School excels in all areas. In the Academic field, in the arts and in athletics. All areas are nationally recognized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

The school has great teachers, exept for a select few, and an excellent office staff. The student's all have high GPA's which makes it hard to get a good class ranking. The majority of the kids are snobby and close minded, it's not easy to make friends due to everyone belonging to a clique. The halls are literally jam packed with kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2008

I currently go to this school and overall it's pretty good. Every single teacher I've had at BJHS, with the exception of one I had last year, have been great! Mr. Parker is a great principal and does a great job at running the school. The only complaint I have is that it's so overcrowded! We have a little over 2,000 kids now- way too many! So please, people of Madison, I beg you to pay the taxes they keep asking you to pay so we'll have money to build more schools that you keep refusing to pay, because you're killing all of us students! We have no room in the hallways! (I once had a near-death experience trying to get up a stairwell in a traffic jam- and believe me, we have traffic jams all the time!).
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

734 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

733 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

732 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

734 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

652 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

735 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

751 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

752 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

751 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

752 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

678 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

752 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanic97%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education90%
General population98%
English language learners58%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty98%

Language

All Students88%
Female91%
Male85%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic83%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligible70%
Special education33%
General population91%
English language learners42%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty71%
Non-poverty92%

Math

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible91%
Special education66%
General population97%
English language learners83%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty87%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black87%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic90%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible87%
Special education49%
General population96%
English language learners42%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty95%

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female81%
Male90%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic72%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligible61%
Special education41%
General population88%
English language learners42%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty65%
Non-poverty90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students99%
Female100%
Male99%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education94%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty98%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students96%
Female98%
Male95%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islander98%
Hispanic94%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education69%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty98%

Math

All Students97%
Female99%
Male96%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Special education73%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty99%

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male97%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islander98%
Hispanic94%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education73%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty99%

Social Studies

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic89%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligible84%
Special education69%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 58%
Black 21% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
Hispanic 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

650 Hughes Rd
Madison, AL 35758
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 772-2547

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Madison Academy
Madison, AL



Columbia High School
Huntsville, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT