Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public
Mccalla, AL
Students enrolled: 919

3 stars
Based on 54 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


62 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mcadory High School 5

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
Love this school! Thrilled to send my children to this school. Wish we had started here.

Mcadory High School 1

Posted November 17, 2013
- a community member
The display of a banner at a school sporting event using a reference to the "Trail of Tears..Round 2"" is indicative of the ignorance of racism, in addition to being intellectually insensitive. For educators to allow this kind of jocularity is an approval of racism regardless of the intent by students ...and is extremely unexceptable. If actions are not taken by way of a very public apology and an effort to have students understand the serverity of their actions this will be taken as an indication of institutional racism being an accepted mode of behavoir... parents beware.


Mcadory High School 1

Posted September 04, 2011
- a parent
What is Jefferson Co doing with all the funds to improve education I can't help but wonder? I have literally watched the rating of this school decline year after year. A three? A three out of a possible ten is simply pathetic folks. Both my husband and myself are EXTREMELY involved in our child's academics. When this school dropped down to a four, we started thinking private schools or the IB school in Irondale. We realize that the teachers cannot force education on their students, that parental involvement is a key element, however, to say that this "3" is al based on the students performance "alone" is a false statement. How low do these test scores have to go before something is done to turn things around? ( 2 or 1? ) I wonder how many parents even understand this rating? A 3 is basically stating that out out of a possible ten-which is the best- McAdory H.S. received only a 3 in comparison to other H.S. test scores in our state. I don't know about you, but this is VERY alarming! Sure, the county spent money on a new middle school-great-but what happens on the "inside" is what really matters most and so far we haven't been impressed.

Mcadory High School 1

Posted November 23, 2010
- a parent
McAdory is an "Out of Control School!" The class sizes are too large, the students are disrespectful and disruptive, teachers are unprofessional and rude, and administration is weak. It is one of the "wildest" schools I've ever been inside. Most of the teachers have given up hope of being able to control their classrooms, yet they try to control the students instead of teaching the content material. Administration will not discipline the students for their behaviors, so teachers think why even send them to the office. When they do send them to the office, It's more of a slap in the face to the teacher because nothing is done. When a student brings a gun to school, and administration "plays it off," I feel that there is a HUGE problem there. This is endangering the lives of students and teachers alike! From both an educator and a parent's perspective, I would hope that anyone new to the community would explore all school options available for their children before having to enroll them at McAdory. I would only use this school as an absolute last resort.

Mcadory High School 5

Posted August 11, 2010
- a community member
I am a graduate of McAdory and a published author. My observations have led me to the conclusion that the child you send to school is the one that comes out. And the success of the student is dependent on the parents and their values. I am not an educator, but I know in this age of entitlement it is not suprising to read the comments listed on the blog. What people do yo you is their karma, how you react to it is yours - education starts at home!


Mcadory High School 2

Posted July 19, 2010
- a parent
My children attended this school.They made a lot of friends but were unprepared in their classes when they move to a new school. Too much playing around, it's more like a social club and the class arrangements are too stressful for the students and teachers. I agree with the previous comments. I am glad my students moved on.

Mcadory High School 1

Posted May 11, 2010
- a student
This school is poor all around. They don't have enough copies to last the year, the students don't care about anything at all unless it directly involves them, and even then they will let opportunity walk itself out the door. Almost none of them care about their grades, classes are a joke, especially electives. Getting a diploma from there would mean nothing. With the no child left behind laws now taking its toll, the teachers are required to dumb everything down so everyone in the class understands it, but what happens when the person doing the worst doesn't do anything no matter how easy the work? It is absolutely rediculous and nothing would be better than to restaff most teachers the school and students.

Mcadory High School 1

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mcadory High School 4

Posted March 19, 2010
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Mcadory High School 1

Posted January 12, 2010
- a parent
Mcadory overall is a decent school for parents that want their kids to be playing all day instead of learning and getting a great education! Too many students in classes, average around 35 per room!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcadory High School
4800 McAdory School Rd, Mccalla, AL  35111
(205) 379-4700
Last modified Mcadory High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mcadory High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. Top