Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
54 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mcadory High School 5

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
Love this school! Thrilled to send my children to this school. Wish we had started here.

Mcadory High School 1

Posted November 17, 2013
- a community member
The display of a banner at a school sporting event using a reference to the "Trail of Tears..Round 2"" is indicative of the ignorance of racism, in addition to being intellectually insensitive. For educators to allow this kind of jocularity is an approval of racism regardless of the intent by students ...and is extremely unexceptable. If actions are not taken by way of a very public apology and an effort to have students understand the serverity of their actions this will be taken as an indication of institutional racism being an accepted mode of behavoir... parents beware.


Mcadory High School 1

Posted September 04, 2011
- a parent
What is Jefferson Co doing with all the funds to improve education I can't help but wonder? I have literally watched the rating of this school decline year after year. A three? A three out of a possible ten is simply pathetic folks. Both my husband and myself are EXTREMELY involved in our child's academics. When this school dropped down to a four, we started thinking private schools or the IB school in Irondale. We realize that the teachers cannot force education on their students, that parental involvement is a key element, however, to say that this "3" is al based on the students performance "alone" is a false statement. How low do these test scores have to go before something is done to turn things around? ( 2 or 1? ) I wonder how many parents even understand this rating? A 3 is basically stating that out out of a possible ten-which is the best- McAdory H.S. received only a 3 in comparison to other H.S. test scores in our state. I don't know about you, but this is VERY alarming! Sure, the county spent money on a new middle school-great-but what happens on the "inside" is what really matters most and so far we haven't been impressed.

Mcadory High School 1

Posted November 23, 2010
- a parent
McAdory is an "Out of Control School!" The class sizes are too large, the students are disrespectful and disruptive, teachers are unprofessional and rude, and administration is weak. It is one of the "wildest" schools I've ever been inside. Most of the teachers have given up hope of being able to control their classrooms, yet they try to control the students instead of teaching the content material. Administration will not discipline the students for their behaviors, so teachers think why even send them to the office. When they do send them to the office, It's more of a slap in the face to the teacher because nothing is done. When a student brings a gun to school, and administration "plays it off," I feel that there is a HUGE problem there. This is endangering the lives of students and teachers alike! From both an educator and a parent's perspective, I would hope that anyone new to the community would explore all school options available for their children before having to enroll them at McAdory. I would only use this school as an absolute last resort.

Mcadory High School 5

Posted August 11, 2010
- a community member
I am a graduate of McAdory and a published author. My observations have led me to the conclusion that the child you send to school is the one that comes out. And the success of the student is dependent on the parents and their values. I am not an educator, but I know in this age of entitlement it is not suprising to read the comments listed on the blog. What people do yo you is their karma, how you react to it is yours - education starts at home!


Mcadory High School 2

Posted July 19, 2010
- a parent
My children attended this school.They made a lot of friends but were unprepared in their classes when they move to a new school. Too much playing around, it's more like a social club and the class arrangements are too stressful for the students and teachers. I agree with the previous comments. I am glad my students moved on.

Mcadory High School 1

Posted May 11, 2010
- a student
This school is poor all around. They don't have enough copies to last the year, the students don't care about anything at all unless it directly involves them, and even then they will let opportunity walk itself out the door. Almost none of them care about their grades, classes are a joke, especially electives. Getting a diploma from there would mean nothing. With the no child left behind laws now taking its toll, the teachers are required to dumb everything down so everyone in the class understands it, but what happens when the person doing the worst doesn't do anything no matter how easy the work? It is absolutely rediculous and nothing would be better than to restaff most teachers the school and students.

Mcadory High School 1

Posted January 12, 2010
- a parent
Mcadory overall is a decent school for parents that want their kids to be playing all day instead of learning and getting a great education! Too many students in classes, average around 35 per room!


Mcadory High School 5

Posted September 05, 2009
- a parent
it is a awsome school and i think the way they put the grades together is great

Mcadory High School
no rating

Posted July 08, 2009
- a parent
McAdory can be a great school. Discipline of students is a real troublesome area. There are disruptive students in the AP/Honors classes now that my daughter is taking trying to escape some of the mishaps in the regular classes. Dress policy and lack of respect for anyone is a real problem. Students rule the roost and some of the teachers have given up on asking for assistance with problem kids because no one steps in to assist. Some teachers are better than others in controlling the classroom and hallways. However, normal activity shouldn't be students running and screaming as they leave a classroom. Most quieten down when asked, but some keep doing their own thing having no regard for anyone but themselves. The Band of Gold is picking up in numbers. The FFA regularly wins district competitions and places at the state level. Good school, could improve!

Nearby schools

Mcadory High School
4800 McAdory School Rd, Mccalla, AL  35111
(205) 379-4700
Last modified Mcadory High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top