Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stanhope Elmore High School

Public | 8-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2012

Stanhope Elmore High School offers Honors, called pre-AP now, classes in math, science, history, and english. Classrooms all have digital smart boards which allow internet access, saving, or printing the board. One area of improvement would be a weekly email to parents, summarizing any notable accomplishments from that week and detailing out anything new (like iNow) or on the schedule for the next week. This email for those interested, would help versus trying to learn what has changed on the website though please note the website has decent information. Speaking of iNow -> InformationNow which provides students and parents with electronic access to current grades, school calendar, comprehensive progress (details all grades per class), and the report card for last completed 9 week grading period. For students and parents that care, this tool provides them all the information needed to control their outcomes. Having moved from out of state, it is very nice to see an administrative and education team wanting to enable students to succeed - because is that not the ultimate goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

avoid at all costs you will be better off never setting foot on the campus


Posted August 2, 2010

I also want to point out a rather suspect practice that SEHS began with this past years graduating class: I paid $95 for my sons cap and gown which included a 2010 tassel; he had to turn the gown over in order to receive his diploma! so I basically paid $95 for a cap and cheap tassel? that is BS! If someone had communicated that to me I might not have felt ripped off but this is not the way you make improvements; there is ZERO communication between the administration of this school and the parents and they do underhanded practies to make money. I didn't get to order my sons cap & gown pictures either because that was so poorly organized that I was told they ran out of order forms?!?!?!? Pathetic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

Stanhope Elmore is a great school. I previously worked there and found the staff and faculty to be a great, caring group of people. True, they need a more permanent adminstrator but hopefully that will be this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

Stanhope is such a great school. Their new library is incredible. The laptops allow students to acces the web from anywhere on campus. The librarians are helpful with finding books. The English teachers provide helpful feedback on essays for college, as well as assignments for other classes.


Posted January 14, 2009

i am an attending student of sehs, and i think it is a great school, besides the dress code rules. I am proud to be a mustang c/o 2011
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

I am a parent,and i am very please with sehs!it is a great school.My sons went there and i am very please with the changes keep up the great work.I give sehs five stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2007

I'm a parent and this year the school seems better than in previous years. The administrators all seem to be doing a good job and although I've heard lots of complaints about the changes they've made, I appreciate them because I know they're putting the students first. Keep up the good work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

I graduated from sehs in 2006, I enjoyed my time there. True they lack a good leader. I think they should place mrs.Earl as the leader she will get things done around there. And you can make it places once you graduate from there, look at me im in the united states air force the hardest branch to get into!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 7, 2007

I am a current student of Stanhope. Some of the other reviews of this school has been a bit harsh. Yes , kids have dropped out, but that is not the school's fault. Its either the students themselves or the parents. Honors classes & AP classes are available to students, Its the student's choice to challenge themselves. The parking problem has been solved. Traffic could be better, but its more of a safety thing. One way in & One way out , easier for security. There is rarely ever parent involvment. The teachers here at SE are great [most of them]. In my Sophomore all of my teachers helped us out greatly in passing the High School Graduation Exams. There are many new electives this year, & the arts program is getting better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2007

This is a very friendly school with lots of possibilities for students to participate in extra-curricular activities. Whether a student thinks the classes are easy or hard depends on how challenging the classes are that the student selects! AP classes are available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2006

I am a former student of sehs and while i attended there i felt unsafe. Some of the teachers are dedicated in helping others learn, other just dont care if you pass of fail. The classes are not challenging at all! if students that attend there are not up for the challenge then they should be kicked out, go back to elementry school or invest and build a school for people who are not up to speed as they should be. I would personally like a challenge in learning, not just re-learning stuff i learned in third grade. Discipline is in vast need of boundaries. If you punish one student for something all students should receive the same punishment as well, not favortism!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 11, 2006

My son is graduating this year and he has been in the band since the beginning and has excelled. I think if the kids find something that they really love they will do fine. I think my son's music has kept him grounded. As far as kids quitting school, i don't think that has anything to do with the teachers or staff. My daughter just plain hates school. She doesn't want to be there. But she does not complain about the teachers, its mostly the drama of the teenage girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2006

I,ve graduated from Stanhope In December of 2004, Even though the majority of the teachers and staff were absolutely wonderful, but let's face it,when it comes to some areas; Stanhope needs some Improvement. Take for Instance, I believe that Stanhope needs to educate the students more about Issues like Bullying,Teen Pregnancy and even though I live In Nevada now, they need to make their policy on Bullying others a lot more strict.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 3, 2006

I would say the academic programs are where they should be, but the teacher per student ratio is off, Pulled my child out this year and put into a local private school that I feel is more structured academically to the needs and increased individual attention of my child. All the hype about what the school system needs and who to blame for the shortcomings is a fiasco in itself that needs to be dealt with from the top down, would I recommend the school? NO! What would it take to change my opinion, like I said total restructuring from the top down? I will however recommend this site and other topic forums so that people can get a feel for what others in the community already know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2005

I graduated from Stanhope Elmore High in 2005. I enjoyed my high school experience. I was pleased with the teachers (most anyway). And yeah being a small town we do appreciate our football team. It's one of the few things we can all look forward to. Stanhope is a good school to attend. And I appreciate the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 18, 2005

I am a current student here at S.E.H.S and I must admit I got a better education in my 'small town' private school thats right I said better education in private school. Being that I am from Lowndes Academy,moving to this school was a culture shock to me because you see a lack of order. we are suppost to have a strict dress code yeah right please.... If you are a football player or cheerleader then you have no problems of passing your classes except w/some teachers... We do have a counselor problem whom she thinks she runs the school she show favrotism toward the black kids rather treating everyone with equality... Go to Prattvile or Edgewood Academy
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2005

I used to attend Stanhope as a student last year and I'm glad I dont have to go there anymore. At some points I felt unsafe and im the kind of person who gets along with everybody but with all the fights and gang stuff I just didnt feel safe. Just last month a boy brought a gun to school thats how out of control the violence is. Most of it is from people moving up from montgomery and bringing all their BS with them.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 26, 2005

My child has enjoyed her freshman year at SEHS and the high school experience. She enjoys her teachers. She is in the advanced diploma program. As a parent I do see a lot of room for improvement. Parking and traffic flow could be much better and safer than what it is. Academics need to be improved. Having children in 9th grade reading at 4th grade levels and having the work 'dummied down' is not fair for anyone. Raise the academic bar and they will hurdle it. There is also a severe lack of communication. Having the PA system inoperable is also a serious safety issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

My kids attend Stanhope and are doing well.The teachers are knowledgeable and care about the students.There are plenty of extracurricular activities and sports for the kids.I don't have a problem with any of that.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

201 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

201 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

200 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

200 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

15 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

201 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
75%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

263 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

263 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

262 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

262 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

230 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

263 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty98%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students88%
Female95%
Male82%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Special educationn/a
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty90%

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male93%
Black87%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible94%
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty98%

Reading

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty97%

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female84%
Male87%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Special educationn/a
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty81%
Non-poverty89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students99%
Female99%
Male98%
Black98%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education86%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students88%
Female93%
Male84%
Black76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible82%
Special education48%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty77%
Non-poverty96%

Math

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligible91%
Special education62%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty98%

Reading

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education67%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty98%

Social Studies

All Students87%
Female87%
Male88%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligible91%
Special education43%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty76%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 58%
Black 36% 34%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4300 Main St
Millbrook, AL 36054
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 285-4263

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT