Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stanhope Elmore High School 5

Posted August 14, 2015
- a community member
Stanhope Elmore has improved each year that I've been involved with them dating back to 2008. At times they have been underfunded as many County schools can be but the teachers worked hard to ensure the students were taking care of and did not lack for the important educational tools. For several years they did have administrative issues and administrator turnover. In 2015, I hope I can honestly say that is finally over. The rooms have technology that many private schools do not. Students can be involved with programs such as robotics, various sports, academic programs, and various after school programs. I do wish at times students themselves took a little more responsibility for their education. With that said, I am proud of the leaps forward that Stanhope Elmore has made.

Stanhope Elmore High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 14, 2015
- a community member
It is difficult to reach every student. It is difficult for every parent, teacher, and student to agree on the best way for them to proceed. I do feel the heart of every teacher is in the right place and overall I feel they are doing a great job.


Stanhope Elmore High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 14, 2015
- a community member
I can't really honestly give an opinion on this subject. It is true students have busy lives after school but it is even more true in education takes longer than seven hours in a classroom.

Stanhope Elmore High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a community member
I definitely believe they try but that is only successful when the student, the teacher, and the parents work together as a team. I have seen tremendous success of Stanhope teachers where the students go on to pursue their dreams and I have also seen where other students have given up.

Stanhope Elmore High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a community member
This is a tricky question. I absolutely feel each teacher and administrator works hard to develop respect in each student but sometimes the student has to put forth some effort as well. So I do believe they are trying but I must admit they are not always successful.


Stanhope Elmore High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a community member
Being a teacher does not mean at the end of the day when the bell rings that your job is over. The teachers at Stanhope are willing to work with any student that is willing to put forth an effort. I feel they go above and beyond to help each and every child not only excel academically but as a person.

Stanhope Elmore High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a community member
Students at Stanhope have the opportunity to be nurtured by some of the best and kindest teachers and administrators I have come across. I've worked with many different schools to include; private, city, and County and Stanhope ranks among the highest. In Alabama and for that matter the South teachers do not become teachers to become wealthy they do it because they care and find education important. Stanhope teachers truly care about the future of their students.

Stanhope Elmore High School 1

Posted May 02, 2015
- a parent
Tri county schools are bad in general and nobody cares that they are, get your child in a private school where they care more about academics instead of sports!!!!!


Stanhope Elmore High School 1

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
If you want your child to seam like an absolute genius, be sure to enroll them in this school. The shear stupidity of the students in this school will make your child look like an Ivy League caliber student in comparison. The mental capacity of every single person on that campus is comparable to that of the average alpaca. I can not begin to express just how intense my hatred for this school, and everyone in it, is.

Stanhope Elmore High School 5

Posted February 12, 2012
- a parent
Stanhope Elmore High School offers Honors, called pre-AP now, classes in math, science, history, and english. Classrooms all have digital smart boards which allow internet access, saving, or printing the board. One area of improvement would be a weekly email to parents, summarizing any notable accomplishments from that week and detailing out anything new (like iNow) or on the schedule for the next week. This email for those interested, would help versus trying to learn what has changed on the website though please note the website has decent information. Speaking of iNow -> InformationNow which provides students and parents with electronic access to current grades, school calendar, comprehensive progress (details all grades per class), and the report card for last completed 9 week grading period. For students and parents that care, this tool provides them all the information needed to control their outcomes. Having moved from out of state, it is very nice to see an administrative and education team wanting to enable students to succeed - because is that not the ultimate goal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stanhope Elmore High School
4300 Main St, Millbrook, AL  36054
(334) 285-4263
Last modified Stanhope Elmore High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stanhope Elmore High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top