Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Millbrook Middle Jr High School

Public | 5-7, 9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2013

There is a new principal, some new staff members, and a new curriculum for the 2013-2014 school year. I will wait and see to pass judgment. Two weeks into the year and my son does not have any complaints. The only complaint I have is that teachers do not update their blogs or assignments weekly so I do not know what he has to be studying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

Do NOT send your child here! THEY CANNOT TEACH AND DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOUR CHILD. The teachers make comments about the child if they are a little slow or have a learning disability & that gives fodder for students to use to bully. My child even had teachers in 7th grade that bullied almost as much as the other children. He was failing by Christmas & didn't even catch it by April. The teachers were always calling me to either get him to mind or do his school work. Well, if they had discipline, they shouldn't need me to hold his hand to be sure he doesn't retaliate against the bullying or if the teachers could work with him at his level I wouldn't have to come sit on top of him to get him to do the work. He wasn't doing it because he didn't understand it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

Do NOT send your child here! THEY CANNOT TEACH AND DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOUR CHILD. MY KIDS ARE 3 YEARS BEHIND IN SKILLS BECAUSE OF HAVING GONE HERE. Everything that can be wrong with the administration, teachers all teachers, cafeteria food, Acadmics, Bullying, the ability to learn is all in one place. Millbrook Middle Junior High School. My children suffer daily. It puts so much stress on me. They serve rotten fruit, raw chicken, a cheese sandwich. This is the worst school ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

This school is great! The teavhers care and have discipline . I have been going to this school system through out my life. Thay offer many after school activities such as drama, robotics and art. And they also have an after school tutoring program!:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2008

We have been nothing but satisfied with the quality of education our children have received in the Millbrook school systme. Our children have attended both Prattville and Millbrook schools. We actually left the Prattville school system because it has gotten so over-crowded is suffering because of it. We feel our kids are learning just as much and actually enjoy school more, especially our 5th grader. Maybe 5 or 10 years ago there was a difference in Prattville and Millbrook schools, but today that difference just doesn't exist. Definatley a misconception! We would recommend Millbrook schools to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

The junior high side of millbrook has a lack of cleanliness & books.to many kids picking on each other & making other kids feel left out. Only half the teachers there care about the kids in their class but , the rest is only there just to write up your child & get their paycheck and their gone. Sometimes i wish i never would of moved to millbrook
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2008

I think overall this is a good school. My son likes his teachers as much as any kid would. I do agree that the lack of locker space is crazy. He carries a huge backpack too and from school everyday. The teachers all seem to have web pages where you can check homework assignments and your kid can go for help. Sure the school lacks in some ways but the teachers make up for the books/building etc. They really seem to care about my son's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

Our family moved to Millbrook, AL from North Carolina. We had a choice of moving to Prattville or Millbrook. We made the wrong choice. The school is overcrowded and the teachers are there for only a paycheck. They do not offer any classes such as drama,keyboarding,art etc. Money for the schools are not spent towards the education of your child. Parents are not made to feel welcome. It is very hard to get a teacher to respond to any emails regarding your child. Air conditioner never works. Do not recommend! Go to private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2007

We are from Louisiana and went through hurricane Katrina the school system here seems to be more challenging than back home overall MMJH & SEHS are good schools and my kids enjoy being there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2007

These schools (Coosada, Robinson Springs, Millbrook Middle/Junior and SEHS) are NOT extremely impressive. I have three kids that have been a part of this school system, therefore, I have dealt with these schools and their administrations for 11-years...I am not extremely impressed. What the principles and office staff lack in personality they do NOT make up for in intelligence. They will hire anybody with a teaching degree! A majority of the teachers are terrific, but there are also TOO MANY who are HORRIBLE teachers. They don't speak ENGLISH, they speak REDNECK! Books are old; the Schools themselves are old; AND they charge $20.00 for a parking space! These schools nickle and dime parents to death! Beta/Golden Key clubs are a joke! the kids sit around playing cards and chess all day! These schools are boring! and they are POOR! one of the poorest school systems in Alabama!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

I find that this school is very lacking. The principal is not productive or caring in the interest of the school or students. This school is very unresponsive to parent involvement. They are very lacking in the textbook area. The students are made to carry over 50lb backpacks rather than be able to use a locker. I would really like to learn more about home schooling. I am a single mother of three boys, two of which are in school and I cannot afford private school. I truly wish I could, I have been very unpleased with our experience at Millbrook Middle Junior High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

this school system is sadly lacking in academics, arts, sports, and other activities. parental involvement is also lacking but it is encouraged and supported only on a superficial level by the school administration. the problems seem to begin at county and city government levels and much of the public appears unaware. my spouse and i grew up within strong school systems, we know what other school systems in other cities and counties have to offer, and we know what we should reasonably expect for our children. we have not seen any real progress over several years, and we are seriously considering moving to another community so that our kids will have access to those things that should be commonly available in any healthy school system. this is not a healthy and thriving school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2005

I think this is the best school I have ever been to in my whole entire life! There are so many activities I could participate in. I'm only in 6th grade and have been here since 3rd grade. There are clubs you would want to be involved in, like beta club, and there are even sports that are really cool like cheerleading or dance team. Also, there is band in 7th grade. I think that parents should lighten up on the school comments because there are so many things we kids could do here at millbrook middle/junior high. I love it here, and it is AWESOME! Go mustangs!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2005

My wife and I found this school to be unresponsive to parental involvement. The Administration seems hostile and unconcerned with the student's needs. I have two daughters currently in this school and I am seriously considering home schooling them due to the unprofessional actions of the staff and the students extremely low scores on national tests. This school is recognized in our community and by our state as being in severe trouble academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

The lack of textbooks is deplorable. How can you expect a student to study or do homework without being able to take the text home? The reason for the lack of text is the lack of money. The bottom line is that you get what you pay for here. My job requires me to move so my five kids have been to numerous schools all over the country (and in a few other countries). The teachers here are among the best but the resources are undoubtedly the absolute worst. If you really want your child to get a good education in Elmore County I have two words for you: 'private school'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

There are some great teachers here, but the quality of books is unacceptable. Not alot of things to do after school, and usually you have the same 4 or 5 parents helping with everything. My children kept an A or A, B average, but I did not feel they were challenged enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2005

After having our child at MMJHS for the past two years, we are having to really bite into the family budget and put him into private school. I can honestly say he had one teacher who truly cared. I felt that the others and the guidance staff could have cared less. My child used to carry A and Bs before coming here. He only struggled with one subject before but he was making strides. Now it is everything. I wish everyday we had never moved here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

My twins were in the 8th grade at the 'Junior High' half of MMJHS last year.I never had any complaints about this section.The kids did well and the teachers were good.My youngest is in the 'Middle School' section.His 5th grade teachers were awesome.Not too enamoured w/ his 6th grade teachers. His grades are good and he's learning,though.I am disappointed about the quality of schools here.We are a military family and have been all over the country,only to bring our family back to my home--&what I feel are substandard schools.We moved to Millbrook rather than back to Montgomery when my husband got stationed here again because everyone warned us of Montgomery's schools,which I grew up and excelled in.(We had art and music then.)The PTSO at MMJHS is also a disappointment.I think your experience of this school will be whatever your child manages to make of it. I neither love nor hate it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2005

This school is great. I'm in seventh grade an di've been here since 2nd grade. They have lockers in the 5,6,7,and 8 grades. The 4th grade has cubbies. They have great activities such as dance team or cheerleading. I'm on dance team and that makes the expeirence a whole lot better. This school is absolutly AWESOME! Any one who see that, isn't looking hard enough. My teacher, Mr. Platt, taught me to look outside the box. I don't think anyone really knows how far that can really get someone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2005

I attended MMS. There wasn't a teacher I didn't like. I'm an educator now and often think of what my former teachers would do in situations. I find myself relating to my students' parents the way my teachers related to my mother- with respect and concern. I know Mrs. Hicks, Mrs. Steele, Mrs. Kyser, Mrs. Pierce, and others still teach there. I've had a sister in the school recently and I know she loved it too. TEACHERS need parental support and encouragement. People are quick to criticize. Unless you are in education, you have no idea what teachers are 'served on their plates!' Our plates are full! Go to the Board of Education if you want more activities. I'm sure the teachers wish they were able to offer music, art, and other activities. If you are unhappy with the leadership- go to the BOE. Support the good teachers. They are GOLD!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female87%
Male81%
Black69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligible94%
Special education29%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Poverty79%
Not poverty92%

Reading

All Students86%
Female89%
Male83%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Special education28%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty80%
Not poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female66%
Male64%
Black48%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White76%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Special education20%
General population69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant65%
Poverty57%
Not poverty77%

Reading

All Students88%
Female91%
Male85%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Special education40%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Poverty83%
Not poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female63%
Male61%
Black49%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White70%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligible76%
Special education19%
General population68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant62%
Poverty53%
Not poverty74%

Reading

All Students85%
Female88%
Male80%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligible97%
Special education56%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Poverty81%
Not poverty90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students73%
Female78%
Male69%
Black55%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligible82%
Special education24%
General population78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%
Poverty65%
Not poverty85%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students61%
Female60%
Male63%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White69%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligible79%
Special education26%
General population65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant61%
Poverty51%
Not poverty74%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 58%
Black 37% 34%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Stephen Paul Mckenzie
Fax number
  • (334) 285-2102

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4228 Chapman Rd
Millbrook, AL 36054
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 285-2100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT