Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Millbrook Middle Jr High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
There are a couple of staff members that seem to care and are just trying to navigate through each day. The assistant principle seems to actively want to make things better for his students. There is about two teachers who are pretty good. They seem to be almost out of place with the culture of the school.

Millbrook Middle Jr High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
I have lived all over the United States and my children have always had wonderful experiences with school. This school's teachers are egregiously bad. I wouldn't expect this behavior from an adult much less a teacher.


Millbrook Middle Jr High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
My child has homework every night, which is about what I would expect. It's the teacher follow-up that is lacking. If you as a parent have a question and email the teacher. You will not get a response.

Millbrook Middle Jr High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
No, I think the grades reflect exactly how the teachers treat the children. The material is probably a couple levels below what is being taught in other districts. Even with the easier material it's a difficult learning environment, due to mostly teacher attitude.

Millbrook Middle Jr High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
The teacher will openly mock the students. This behavior does encourage students to act in kind. They do not create a safe compassionate environment to learn.


Millbrook Middle Jr High School 1

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
The entire staff needs retraining! The teachers are very aggressive towards the students, bordering on abusive. Even the substitute teachers are nasty to the kids. the students seem to be typical middle schoolers, in which the staff seems ill equipped to handle. There is a culture rampant among these teachers where they will berate, yell, and insult the children. The material is easy enough, but due to the attitude of the teachers your child will be behind the power curve. The teachers lack passion and empathy for their students. They will not return email and have no vested interest in your child's success. Avoid this school! I was warned by several people about the teachers, but I always reserve judgement until I see it myself. Well, I've seen it myself and I am thoroughly disgusted. Just find a neighboring private school, it's not worth the stress and heartache your child will endure.

Millbrook Middle Jr High School 3

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
There is a new principal, some new staff members, and a new curriculum for the 2013-2014 school year. I will wait and see to pass judgment. Two weeks into the year and my son does not have any complaints. The only complaint I have is that teachers do not update their blogs or assignments weekly so I do not know what he has to be studying.

Millbrook Middle Jr High School 1

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
Do NOT send your child here! THEY CANNOT TEACH AND DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOUR CHILD. The teachers make comments about the child if they are a little slow or have a learning disability & that gives fodder for students to use to bully. My child even had teachers in 7th grade that bullied almost as much as the other children. He was failing by Christmas & didn't even catch it by April. The teachers were always calling me to either get him to mind or do his school work. Well, if they had discipline, they shouldn't need me to hold his hand to be sure he doesn't retaliate against the bullying or if the teachers could work with him at his level I wouldn't have to come sit on top of him to get him to do the work. He wasn't doing it because he didn't understand it!


Millbrook Middle Jr High School 1

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
Do NOT send your child here! THEY CANNOT TEACH AND DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOUR CHILD. MY KIDS ARE 3 YEARS BEHIND IN SKILLS BECAUSE OF HAVING GONE HERE. Everything that can be wrong with the administration, teachers all teachers, cafeteria food, Acadmics, Bullying, the ability to learn is all in one place. Millbrook Middle Junior High School. My children suffer daily. It puts so much stress on me. They serve rotten fruit, raw chicken, a cheese sandwich. This is the worst school ever.

Millbrook Middle Jr High School
no rating

Posted September 05, 2009
- a student
This school is great! The teavhers care and have discipline . I have been going to this school system through out my life. Thay offer many after school activities such as drama, robotics and art. And they also have an after school tutoring program!:)

Nearby schools

Millbrook Middle Jr High School
4228 Chapman Rd, Millbrook, AL  36054
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (334) 285-2100
Last modified Millbrook Middle Jr High School is a Public school that serves grades 5-7, 9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top