Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Forest Hill Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 459 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2009

The faculty and many parents work incredibly hard to make this a great school for children. The cafeteria staff go the extra mile as well.It isn't easy in a state where funds for education have been cut to the point where it is heart-breaking.


Posted January 12, 2006

Well i must say that Forest hill has been a home away from home we lost our home to katrina and forest hill took us in with open arms and the quality of school is wonderful,the teachers are awesome i have two children in school grades 2nd and 3rd and both of them are in 'PACE' I can not express how i am proud to say that the staff and community as a whole is a very close nit wonderful place, I love the fact that my children are excited to learn about diffrent aspects and qualitys and behavious of diffrent children to me this is a key part of a great education 'TOLERANCE!' Good job Mrs kerns and all the hard working staff! May we all continue to strive and grow and Learn Learn Learn! The Khan Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2004

This is the first year of attendance for my kids at Forest Hill. So far I am satisfied with what the teachers are doing to help my children learn. I have noticed that they focus more on parent involvement than the last school they attended. About the traffic: The school has a good organized system working with the arrival and dismissal of the children. Sometimes the traffic can get heavy on Moffatt road, but once you're in there, there's no problem getting out because of the great crossing guard. It looks as though a street will be ran on the side of the school to help alleviate traffic. Overall, this school is working out pretty good for both me and my children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2004

This is the first year my grandson has attended Forest Hill Elem. So far I am very pleased with his kindergarten teacher Ms. Malone. She is very informative with homework, newsletters and things that are going on in the school. My only complaint about the school is the dismissal of students in the afternoon. I hope that the school will come up with a better system for picking up students. Overall I think Forest Hill is a great School. As long as my grandson is happy and safe in school as well as learning then I'm happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2004

I would like to responsd to a previous comment. The teachers at Forest Hill are some of the hardest working educators in the state. They arrive at work early and stay until sundown. In addition to this, they use most of their summer going to workshops and college to help every Forest Hill student become successful. Last, if a child does well in school, the parents should share the glory. On the other hand, if a child does poorly in school, the parents should share the blame. Every parent should ask themselves constantly, 'Am I doing enough to assist my child(ren)'s instructors?' The Forest Hill faculty is top notch and I support them 150 per cent. Keep performing your academic mircles. This parent appreciates all of your efforts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

in short, I do not like this school! 1. they make you supply everything just about for the school. 2. they say you can't do something then I see half the school braking the rules. 3. my child is assulted at school and racial slurs being told to him and myself and they do nothing to stop it. in my neighorhood my two kids are the only ones that go here, out of at least 20-24 kids in the neighborhood, all others go to private or are bused out,........gee I wonder why! I was warned by parents in the area and now I know why. I should have listened. My daughter was getting Cs and Ds, granted she was not a straight A student, but after moving here, and with the help of the school is now a straight F student,that's with tutering twice a wk thanks for nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2004

Mrs. Mangurm is an excellent third grade teacher and Mrs. Gibson is the best PACE teacher I know. Keep up the good work!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2004

I am glad I chose this school for my son. He's really reading alot. He loves his teacher. She works well with the kids in her class. Ms. Cherniak is a great 2nd grade teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female75%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant71%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female92%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female79%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female88%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female100%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female95%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students91%
Female98%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 34%
White 3% 58%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Sharon Diane Smith
Fax number
  • (251) 221-1271

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4501 Moffett Rd
Mobile, AL 36618
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 221-1270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Wilmer Hall
Mobile, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT